We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Del Doge

Caffe Del Doge
Calle dei Cinque 609 San Polo, Venice, Italy (San Polo)
041 522 77 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,191 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: San Polo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Welcome break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a lovely sharing plate and glass of beer after our visit. Not too expensive for Venice! Good service as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best coffee in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I discovered Caffe Del Doge while watching "The Great Italian Cafe - Episode 1 - VENICE": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJ_w2z64Z9o The video stated that the place is especially famous for its cappuccino. I was not disappointed - it turned out to be the best I’ve tried in Italy during my two-week trip. The caffe is located just a few minute walk from the Rialto Bridge. The hours are from 7a.m. to 7p.m. Wonderful Venetian experience!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quite the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was pouring with rain and I was desperately in need of a decent coffee. We stumbled upon this place quite by chance. The menu for coffees and chocolates as well as teas is extensive. I had a simple latte and my friend a huge pot of tea. The latte was just superb and I can recommend the little Venetian cakes we also had as a treat. Prices very reasonable indeed and if in Venice I would suggest you give this coffee house a visit as you will not better it. As others suggest it is used by locals as well as tourists

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Following a recommendation, we tried this place for breakfast. Good coffee (their own brand/roast), yummy orange juice, tasty and fresh sandwiches, and my daughter fell in love with the little chocolate croissants. Reassuring to see that even the locals come here, drink their coffee at the bar or sit down to have a coffee and a bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This place does really great coffee. Whether it's single origin espresso or a frillier blend of espresso and milk with other flavours (chocolate, vanilla, nuts), there's something here to tempt every coffee lover. The hot chocolate menu is pretty extensive too. The food, which we didn't try, looked pretty impressive too. And all in a very friendly environment. Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Del Doge also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Caffe Del Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Del Doge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.