We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Trattoria Poste Vecie

Antica Trattoria Poste Vecie
San Polo 1608 | Mercato del pesce di Rialto, Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 721822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 1,196 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Cucina tipica Veneziana,piatti di pesce e discreta selezione di carne e piatti vegetariani.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

In the Rialto Mercato, there is this charming restaurant. Tipical Venetian meal, Fish expecially. Wine are excellent too. I suggest, baccala' mantecato as appetizer, Spaghetti Vongole as main course or coda di Rospo (is a fish) if available, and Tortino cioccolato e pere as dessert. Enjoy !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    257
    77
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a lovely restaurant! We used their Voucher for a Saturday lunch and we definitely weren’t disappointed! We could choose from a special menu- 4 courses, including water, wine and coffee and everything was very good. Waiters were really professional and pleasant, they spoke English and were ready to explain everything and help you with your choice. I would recommend this restaurant even for its beauty- nice, cosy rooms, a wonderful fireplace. And yes, I would visit it again when I’m in Venice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food! Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted a nice restaurant to celebrate a birthday and were recommended this restaurant by the hotel we were staying at. Despite us having no booking and turning up on spec fairly late, the staff were very welcoming and hospitable. The restaurant is very cosy and the tables are not too close together. The staff were very friendly and helpful and suggested various dishes from the menu. The wine list was also very reasonable. The fillet steak was delicious and melt in the mouth. Despite it being late and us, by that time, being the only customers, the staff never once made us feel awkward or 'tidied' around us. Instead they surprised me with a wonderful tiramisu 'cake' complete with sparklers and candles to celebrate my birthday! Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“pricey but enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Cosy and picturesque little restaurant, which claims to date from 1500. Good starter, enough to share. Main courses were OK but not spectacular. Bill came to €36 each, which for Venice isn't too bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great restaurant! Delicious food! Wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had dinner at Poste Vecie on our last night in Venice, January 3rd. And we now regret that we did not eat at this wonderful restaurant before. The Venetian decor gives Poste Vecie a very cozy feel. We were greeted at the door by the staff, who were very welcoming and friendly. We had the Antipasto of the chef, then the bigoli pasta with onions and anchovies for our first course. Last we had sea bass and a potatoe bake for our second. All were absolutely delicious we (almost) could not stop ourselves from having more. We will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Poste Vecie also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Poste Vecie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Trattoria Poste Vecie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.