We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal relaxing by the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera

Riviera
Dorsoduro 1473 | Zattere - San Basilio, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
+39 041 522 7621
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,208 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $40 - $119
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro
Description: NOT FOR FAST FOODERS!!! From July 29th until August 28th Kitchen open from 7PM to 11.00PM Closed on Monday.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal relaxing by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I were having a lovely 2 day break in Venice away from it all, and we had a delicious meal here sitting in warm sunshine. Really tasty courses, with unusual combinations, I had Duck and Lavender with my Pasta dish, really lovely. The Scallop starter was gorgeous. My husband had a wonderful tasting plate of 8 different fishes for his starter, all with delicious flavoured toppings/oils. My dessert plate was wonderful, a plate with about 8 different mini desserts, great for those of us who dither over deciding which dessert to have - try them all! They were all scrumptious! The main courses were lovely too, I had veal liver, my husband had lamb, both beautifully cooked and served. Great attention by the staff and good advice given about the wine choice. DO book to go here, it was first class, expensive, but worth it for special treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    531
    141
    37
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were in Venice for 2 days for my girlfriend's 30th birthday. Looking for a restaurant to take her out, I am very happy I choose Riviera. Situated in a quiet promenade of Venice, overlooking the canal. If the weather allows, dinning outside is must! We had dinner indoors, and it was also very cosy! Nice, simple and classy decor. Good distance in-between tables, gives you some privacy.
The menu is fish dominated. And they make it good! Yes its expensive, but I can see why! You don’t pay for Venice. You actually pay for the combination of good quality ingredients, cooked 'la perfection', and professional service!
As there are no prices at the on line menu of the restaurant I bet most people would wonder how expensive actually is. Well, you can eat from 120€ for a three course meal and a glass of wine for two people. If you want to try the specials (i.e. whole fish baked in salt), maybe you need about 200€ for two. I can’t help mentioning the desserts are to die for. We had Tiramisu and crème brule(the best I ever had, and I consider myself a fun of both).
The other big plus was that the owner comes round and makes sure you are happy. He also replied to my emails, and he put an effort to satisfy my request about my girlfriend's birthday.
Overall, if you are not on a budget, go there and have fish. You will love it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“How could fish be so good?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A member of Save Venice had recommended this restaurant - what a recommendation! I had reserved via email before leaving the US and that worked well. The owner was our waiter - the only waiter - and he had a wonderful spiel as he showed us the fish available that evening. He recommended having it bake in salt, a great recommendation. Wonderful fish! We also followed his recommendation on the wine and had a fine meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Specials are expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our third dinner out on our trip and whilst the bill was rather a lot, the food was definitely worth it.

It started with a rather odd experience, as I was given a "menu for ladies" which didn't have any prices on it, for me that was the first time I'd ever been given a metaphorical pat on the head and told not to worry my pretty little head about such things as money... Luckily I saw the humour in it and just got on with choosing my meal but the out-of-date attitude was a bit breathtaking!

The manager of the restaurant was very friendly and helpful, and suggested a very good wine to have with the meal, and when the other reviewers mentioned that this restaurant is good for food they really weren't kidding. This was the best fish on our trip.

We had a primo course which was 8 different types of sashimi with various different dressings and accompaniments. I think my favourite one involved fresh mint. Then we had a whole salt-roasted Turbot as the Secondi and that was wonderful too. There were some innovative desserts, including a movie one that had a cola-flavoured mousse.

Overall, if you want amazing fish, a bit of quirky flamboyance from the staff, and you're not on a budget, this is the restaurant for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Modern Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Delicious and innovative takes on classic Venetian dishes with an emphasis on seafood matched with a good wine list and excellent service from our helpful and knowledgeable
English-speaking waiter/sommelier, who just happened to have visited Kangaroo Island, Australia, and loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.