We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palanca

La Palanca
448 Giudecca, Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
39 041 528 7719
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,209 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro
Kettering
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived at 12.30 and got the last table outside. Fabulous panoramic view and all the tables outside are in the shade so it was very comfortable on a very hot day. We ate far too much because each course was really excellent. Delicious fish and pasta .....brilliant quality and very reasonable bill...60 Euros for two and we had the works. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    188
    82
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent nearly every morning for the last two weeks here for my morning coffee and chocolate brioche.

The owner is very friendly and there's a really nice buzz.

(Closed on 2nd and 3rd week of August)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good honest local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited here for lunch on a wet day so sat inside.
Small busy restaurant with lots of locals eating.
Excellent quality unpretentious food - mostly seafood and pasta.
Service fine and price reasonable.
Worth visiting for good honest local food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“When you are tired of the crowds ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

... take yourself over to La Palanca on Giudecca, as you might imagine its just near the Palanca Vaporetto (one stop from Zatere or three from San Marco). I never did quite make out whether they take bookings but make yourself known and you will get an outside table within a few minutes or an inside table right away.

Sitting outside right by the Giudecca Canal is pure magic - no rush just watch the world go by and have another drink (by the glass, carafe or bottle and reasonably priced).

The staff are super helpful and the owner speaks good English. Ask him about the specials - we went there several times and there were no failures. We mainly had fish so I cannot speak for the meat - the desserts are worth saving a bit of space for though.

We also went early in the morning for breakfast - fresh orange juice, pastries and strong black coffee. Good if you are planning a day sightseeing.

La Palanca is very clean and has super toilets. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant/bar popular with locals and regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I think this was the only place we ate in Venice with the menu just in Italian. It is located on Giudecca near the vaporetto stop of the same name, not far from Palladio's Redentore church nor the Hilton Stucky Hotel, but a world away from the tourist traps around San Marco. It was busy and noisy with Italian workers and families enjoying their lunch, and not a word of English around. A lot of the customers seemed to be regulars addressed by name. The menu depended on what was available at that day's market. We shared a mixed seafood starter (including Venetian classics like sarde in saor and baccala) which was excellent and I followed with another Venetian classic of fried sole. The service was friendly and welcoming to us tourists and they made an effort to explain what they had and how they prepared it. And finally it was great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palanca also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Palanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.