We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Buccari 10, 30132 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 382 hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. They had everything and the rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable. The employees were very helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable. It was not in the main area and we had to walk a little bit to get to the tourist area but it wasn't that far and it was a nice walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    329
    65
    18
    4
See reviews for
166
514
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paonia, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a two week trip through Italy we spent two nights at the Sant Elena and found it to be a very good experience. The hotel was clean - spotlessly so. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was typical Italian but very good. The location was okay, not in the city center where all the action is - but only a couple hundred yards through a park from a vaporetto stop. The rooms were large, good beds, and BEST OF ALL THE ONLY HOTEL ON OUR STAY WITH IN ROOM COFFEE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best Western Premier Hotel Sant' Elena is a very nice hotel with excellent service and commodities. If you both prefer short way to the Venice attractions and quiet and peaceful surroundings, this hotel is perfect. You may walk 25 minutes to the Piazza San Marco, or take the water ferry few minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: I can recommend a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights at the end of February. Lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms and staff who cannot do enough for you. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard.
The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts that I have had. All the usual cooked breakfast items with cold items too.
There is a lovely pizza restaurant and bar about 2 minutes from the hotel that seems to be where the locals go. It is very very cheap for Venice prices too!
Very good value for money as we went off season and got a significantly cheaper price as a result.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself is quite clean and and modern.
My partner and I stayed here for three nights and found our stay to be quite relaxing, with a nice range for breakfast.
Its about 20 minutes walk to get to the heart of venice, the walk during the day is beautiful with with wonderful views and parks.
The only downside would be walking back at night, as the area around the hotel is not well illuminated and seem too quite when leaving the busy st marco square.
However if you are catching a water taxi back to the hotel this wouldn't really be a problem as the stop is only a two/three minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Sant Elena was part of a BA package and this previous convent was certainly 'converted' into a rather pleasant hotel, however, although probably much quieter than those in central Venice it is rather out on a limb. There are varying times given to the centre with the hotel literature mentioning a 'stone's throw' and others a 15 minute walk - I think that would need to be a pretty big catapult and some extremely serious power walking! We didn't get to do the walk (the weather was atrocious) but would estimate at least 40 - 50 minutes at a fairly brisk pace and the 5 minute vaporetto ride somewhat nearer 10 - 15 minutes - so much for actual location.

The room was very nice, judging from the notice in the room we were in a Junior Suite with a very comfortable large bed, perfectly adequate bed covers and some seriously comfortable (polyester!) pillows. The room had everything required, with leather sofa, coffee table, controlable air-con TV and free Wi-fi. The only surprising let down was that whoever serviced the room seemed to forget to top up the tea/coffee/sugar for the two days we were there necessitating a trip to Reception to collect. UK tea drinkers beware, you will need to ask for milk jiggers as none provided in the room.

Reception staff were all very helpful as were the waiters in the Valentine's Restaurant. Because the weather was so poor for the time we were in Venice this time we opted to 'eat in' for two of our three nights. We were told that it got very busy and we were advised to book but on the two nights we ate there were no more than ten people and that included the two of us - maybe the rain kept people away! The food, seriously good but like many other Venice 'eateries' not cheap - we calculated that our two nights in cost us with a very reasonably priced bottle of wine and not three courses close on £75.00 each night - that said our third meal at a not overly 'posh' restaurant in Venice away from the touristy bits was close on £65.00 and that was with just a half litre carafe of house wine.

One other point the hotel brochure says that the rooms 'look out over unusual and evocative views' - sadly there appears to be rather high degree of poetic licence here, our's looked out on a rather scruffy building next door and even craning one's neck, there was only a rather run down looking basketball (?) court and a sliver of canal and our room had 3 windows! We couldn't quite work out where the unusual and evocative views could be from any of the hotel windows as it just wasn't in that sort of location.

Would we stay there again - yes, certainly from the quiet location and comfort point of view but in terms of easy access to central Venice not quite so sure.

Room Tip: Pretty quiet, mostly residential area so probably most rooms are fairly quiet - certainly no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our 4th trip to Venice and 3rd stay at Sant Elena. The staff are very polite and helpful as always. Room overlooked the garden as per our previous stays and was clean, tidy and comfortable.
The breakfast is outstanding and sets you up for the day.
We will always stay here as it is so peaceful and a very comfortable stay.
Well done to Sant Elena and all the staff you passed with honours again and we will be back.

Room Tip: Always ask for a garden view and be woken by the Italian national anthem at the military base behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Address: Calle Buccari 10, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#49 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.