We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect choice for a relaxing trip in Venice and the bienale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Buccari 10, 30132 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 382 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The perfect choice for a relaxing trip in Venice and the bienale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed already 9 times in the Sant Elena hotel and we highly recommend it. It really starts to feel as our second home, as we don't even have to mention our names anymore at the check in ;-). The staff is very helpful (also at your first stay) and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast has a lot of variety (fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cheese, lots of cakes, ...). There now also seems to be - free - wifi in the rooms (although I'm not sure if that's in all the rooms or if we were lucky that we were close to the router). We usually have dinner in the city center or in one of the 2 restaurants closeby (mainly locals, no tourists), but have now finally tried the hotel restaurant and we liked it a lot. The pasta was excellent and the main dishes were also very good. We'll certainly eat there again in the future.

The hotel is in a quiet area of Venice, so you are away of all the crowds of tourists. We always walk everywhere in Venice and almost never take a vaporetto, so the walk to the hotel from the center doesn't bother us (it's approx 20-30 minutes next to canal grande). However, if you're tired or don't like to walk too much, you can easily take the vaporetto. It is only a few stops from the hotel to San Marco. If you plan to go to the Bienale, than the hotel is perfectly located as it is next to Giardini.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    335
    67
    18
    4
See reviews for
172
520
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, GB
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Once again - Five Stars for this Four Star Hotel.

Our SEVENTH year at the Hotel Sant’Elena was just as enjoyable as our previous six consecutive years there. Once again, we upgraded to a Junior Suite at very reasonable cost and enjoyed our 7-night stay even more. Exceptionally good value and service as always.

We enjoyed all of the same things we enjoyed during our previous 6 trips - the food is fine and plentiful, the rooms very comfortable and beautifully air conditioned, the beds and bed linen are superb, the cleanliness is impeccable, and, being in the only green area of the island, it's fresh, clean and very peaceful. A former convent, the hotel has a large enclosed lawned garden which is ideal for peaceful relaxation, sunbathing and breakfast.

The hotel is literally only 200 metres from the vaporetto (waterbus) stop on the edge of the Venice lagoon – absolutely ideal when arriving and departing. You’ll see plenty of distressed travellers during your visit trying to cope with lugging their heavy baggage around for an hour or two on foot at the start and end of their holiday in the heat of the mid-day sun....

The vaporetto runs every ten minutes, and will take you to St. Mark's Square in just 10 minutes (*don't forget to buy your multi-day pass for the vaporetto at the airport on arrival - unlimited walk on / walk off trips. A great way to end the day is to go to the vaporetto terminal and enjoy a 40-minute vaporetto trip the whole length of the Grand Canal*). Or, if you feel like stretching your legs, St. Mark's is only a 20 minute leisurely stroll away along the lagoon edge, passing the Bienniale Gardens and the Arsenale / Maritime Museum (both extremely worthwhile attractions) – a beautiful stroll at sunset. In the opposite direction, the vaporetto will take you from Sant’Elena to the Lido in just one stop for a day lounging on the beach.

We are seasoned travellers (I'm an artist / photographer) and we’re quite demanding when it comes to service and value for money. We also believe that good service should be rewarded by recommendation, and a number of our friends have taken our advice and stayed at the Sant'Elena. All have been delighted that the hotel was as good as we said it would be. Great hotel, great location, great service and very good value.

We saw a mosquito there in 2007 – the only bad thing we can say about this hotel.

We’ll be there again in 2013 for our 8th. stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had seven young adults stay here in early January. We had three different rooms. They let us check in before 10:00 AM in the morning at no extra charge. All were clean and comfy. The concierge was very helpful with all aspects of our stay. The FULL European breakfast was outstanding. Highly recommended. Please note, I gave this hotel an "Excellent" because it is far away from the tourist scene - which gets old very quickly in Venice.

If you're arriving by airport with a group, I would highly recommend getting a water taxi at the airport. You should be able to negotiate the price down. Tell them the hotel and they'll drop you off so that you only have a one minute walk to the front door. On the way back to the airport, we had the concierge schedule a pick up for us and paid €120 for the seven of us. If you use the train station, you have about a 1 hour 25 minute walk through crowded streets and over bridges. This might be fine for a young couple, but not for a medium to large group.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at different Best Western in Rome, Florence, Mestre,Venice within a 2 week period and the best stay was at Sant Elena, Venice.
A modern and luxurious hotel.
In a quiet location and a nice 3mins walk across a small park to the Vaporetto station. After walking around in Venice for the day, its is nice to be back in a quiet location without the crowd.
Breakfast spread was good and nice.

The best was the friendly hotel staff service. Staff provided good information around Venice and competent. Best Western membership status are recognised in this property. Also had some issues with a purchase at Murano and the hotel reception gladly assisted to call and talk to the shop owner in italian. Again, friendly and helpful hotel reception.

Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Sant Elena is one of the least touristy neighborhoods in Venice, but close enough that a 15 minute stroll along the lagoon or down some of the avenues quickly put you right in the middle of the tourist areas. It's nice to actually see locals hanging out in the park, having a coffee at the cafes, at a much slower pace than the crowds at st. Mark's. The hotel itself is surprisingly modern, almost spartan, but comfortable and well staffed. it was often the stopping spot for large tour groups who occasionally dominated the breakfast area to make their departures on time, but if you're patient they quickly dissipate. Also very convenient to the vaporetto stops for the times when you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed with family for 3 days in triple room. Loved it. Location is perfect: very quite, at the same time it only takes a 20 minutes walk to St.Marco Square. Vaporetto station very close too. Friendly and competent service. Greaf breakfast buffet. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is on the far south end of the island of Venice. The area where the hotel is feels like a different place, much more quaint, filled with local residences. Getting to all of the venetian sites was pretty easy due to the water taxi stop mere steps from the hotel. The water taxi stop was also the last stop before lido island, so it made it easy to check that out as well.

The accommodations were very modern and luxurious. We really enjoyed the hotel's breakfast every day, everything was nice and fresh. The absolute best part was how quiet the hotel was when it was time to relax or sleep.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Address: Calle Buccari 10, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.