We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Centrale

Caffe Centrale
S.Marco, 1659/b, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 041 887 6642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Marco
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. We walked in with no reservation and were lucky enough to be put on the waterside table. It was very romantic and the service was very attentive. We had the lobster followed by the chateaubriand which was perfect. Then a fabulous desert of cocktail ice lollies which was brilliant.

It was a perfect end to our brilliant trip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    82
    21
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unusual fare in Venice; excellent choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled into this gem while searching Venice for a decent restaurant. The hotel concierge recommended another place around the corner from this one, but that really didn't appeal. We checked out the menu and saw the crowd inside and decided to give it a shot. It was our first night in Venice and we were looking for something special.

Greeted by a very friendly host who was able to accommodate us without a reservation. The menu was quite interesting with the option of many of the dishes in three portion sizes. Very interesting for Venice, as well as Italy in general. The menu was also full of things like 'foams', 'airs' and other gastro techniques. Everything we had was great.

I had the beef fillet bites with potato foam - a bit hesitant to order, but the waiter insisted and I am glad he did. Every bite was amazing. My nephew had the octopus carpaccio and the tuna tartare. Both were extremely fresh and well prepared and presented. The octopus had a foam of some sort, as well as pearls of balsamico. Visually, very appealing. Taste was equally satisfying.

For dessert we ordered the tri chocolate crepes. The waiter had suggested the tiramisu, but I not typically a fan. After we finished our crepes, he brought us a tiramisu on the house to sample. Wow - have they changed my view on that dessert. It was a deconstructed presentation with each layer expertly crafted. The flavor was amazing!

Highly recommend if in Venice and looking or something not Typical Venetian.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab u lous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to this restaurant on Friday night without a reservation with two friends, and it was my birthday
They were absolutely charming, the food was to die for and the ambience was great.
Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant, but perhaps not for older people who don't like loudish music all the time.
I even got a candle on my profiterole!!!
Brill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Didn't quite deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We sought out this little gem tucked away fairly close to St Marks Square. Décor is very stylish – a lovely mix of modern in an old building. We received a warm welcome and enjoyed a glass of Prosecco (3.5 euros – a good price in a restaurant of this calibre).

The breads/pastries were gorgeous and we selected tuna tartare starters and then Chateaubriand. The Tuna was super and we loved our main but it would have been nice to see it carved in front of us (as it always has been elsewhere), the food also needed to be much warmer. We asked for a 5 minute gap before ordering dessert but I think we then slipped their minds as it was at least 25 minutes before a waiter returned (the restaurant was not busy).

When we paid the waiter took our card and had forgotten about our bill as he was dealing with another guest for 10 minutes. He walked towards us and then you could see that he had forgotten as he dashed back to the desk to retrieve our card.

In summary, a nice meal, but our rating reflects the slip-ups with service here

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Me and my boyfriend decided to eat here after walking past and seeing the table which sits out overlooking the canal, and then reading the nice reviews on here. We went about 7.30pm and managed to get the table we wanted out next to the canal, little bit cold as it is november, but worth it. The waiter was very helpful and keen to explain any dish on the menu that we didnt understand or wanted to know what it came with. We both had a couple of glasses of wine and they brought out a selection of 'nibbles', some nuts, a cheese lollypop (sounds weird, tastes lovely) and some really thin pizza like things with tomato sprinkles.

We shared a started which was more than enough and the waiter was kind enough to bring it out on two seperate plates, we cant remember what it was called but it was like a thin wrapped up pizza with parma ham on and mushrooms and cheese inside, absolutely beautiful.

I had the salmon hamburger, which was salmon cooked into the shape of a burger on rosti potato and veg, really really nice and my partner had two bits of potato that were very thinly sliced and cooked so they were crispy with ham and mushrooms and cheese inside, he also enjoyed his.

We didnt have room for dessert after this as the started and the main were big enough. We then took our drinks into the bar area and asked for the bill, the waited sorted this out and brought us a selection of chocolates, which were also very tasty.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. Its quite pricey but definately worth every penny!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Centrale also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Caffe Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.