We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near La Fenice Theatre..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria ai Assassini

Osteria ai Assassini
San Marco, 3695, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
0039 041 5287986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #513 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Cayey, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Nice place near La Fenice Theatre..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved it. Good service and excelent food try the cheese ravioli and the homemade pasta with cheese sauce, this dish had walnuts, yum yum and tasty. Dessert awesome.. They treat us really good, and for ambiance, when they noticed we were tourist,we told them we are puertorrican's, they manage to play a Ricky Martin' s song, ayyy Puerto Rico!! To remind us of our tiny homeland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    84
    40
    18
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad food, bad services, don't like tourist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything is in the title...
The restaurant was recomended by a venitian friend. But actually the treatment reserved between tourists and italian people is not the same. Good bread for locals, dry one for us. The simple pasta con pomodoro were made with pizza sauce and bad taste. The waiter and the owner were both very unpleasant. The worst osteria we did in 3 days. You better go to the small osteria behind the Rialto called Sacro il Profano.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had 2 good meals at this restauraunt tucked away in San Marco. The veal ragout was amazing and the salt fish tasters were interesting. I didn't like them that much as I don't like cold fish but my husband did and we both like to try out local foods

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We dined here on our last night in Italy on the recommendation of our local tour guide. Our hotel concierge made a reservation for us. We arrived half an hour early but they seated us immediately and served us an exquisite meal. The staff were pleasant and attentive. Our waiter recommended a wonderful local wine that went well with our meal and suited our preferences very well. The food was well-prepared and full of flavour. This restaurant participates in the 0km program, so everything was locally-sourced. The menu changes daily. They usually have an extensive selection of fish dishes - but not on Mondays, as they only serve fresh fish. We dined on a Monday and chose from a selection of meats (including guinea fowl and rabbit). We thoroughly enjoyed this meal, the service and the atmosphere. We would defitely go back and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate here on the recomendation of our hotel owner. It was great. We both enjoyed our food. It was not a fine dining experience. But, it appeared to be a true venicean dining experience. That was what we liked the most. If you do not like seafood, you may want to check the menu before you sit because the night we went there was only one pasta dish without fish. The prices were extremely reasonable and we had wine for only 15 Euro a bottle that we really enjoyed.

Bottom line, if you want traditional Venitian food at reasonable prices, we found this place to be perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria ai Assassini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria ai Assassini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria ai Assassini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.