We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Enoteca Giorgione

Osteria Enoteca Giorgione
Via Cannaregio 4582/A, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041 5221725
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Osteria Enoteca Giorgione is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $41 - $82
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Description: Small romantic restaurant tucked behind a church on a small street where the chef is known to put a creative twist on classic Venetian dishes.
Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, but it turned out to be a big disappointment. Located in a small backstreet with a few tables outside, and as is often the case in Venice, there was a distinct smell of sewage. We ordered a starter that took quite some time to get, but for the main course, we had to wait an hour. When we were finally served, our mixed seafood dish tasted mostly salt and not very good. The waiter told us that the chef had had an accident with the knife, and that was the reason it had taken such a long time. However, tables with people arriving after us got their food before we did. Not a place we would like to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    215
    38
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good quality and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Based on the michelin's and tripadvisor's ratings I came here with my wife on her 40th birthday. Lovely food - very good ingridients and cusine - and a very reasonable price (92? with a good bottle of wine).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This isn't on any obvious thouroughfare, so you need to track it down, but it's worth a visit.
Frequented by lots of Italians, who I suspect may be locals, this is a nice friendly place. We don't know enough about Italian wines to make use of their extensive selection, but ate and drank very well here. The seafood specials were delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First time chosen because it was the closest to the hotel after a sprained ankle. Turned out to be a find. Very good local seafood dishes, local style liver and some excellent house-made deserts. Went back on our last night and it is just as well we booked -local people were getting turned away, even out of high season. Well worth a visit - but make sure you get a table in the restaurant, the annexe doesn't have the same appeal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While this was our favorite meal, I must say that in general we found the culinary experience in Venice disappointing.

We chose this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews, and were happy we did. The service was nice and friendly (we were able to get a table without a reservation) and the food and wine were very good.

It is off the beaten path/not a tourist trap, which is nice, but it also is a little difficult to find. Get specific directions if you can, or be willing to wander around a bit to find it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Enoteca Giorgione also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Enoteca Giorgione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Enoteca Giorgione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.