We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This boutique hotel felt like a palace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruzzini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 382 hotels in Venice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This boutique hotel felt like a palace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and it would be our go-to place when we return. The hotel was super clean and has air conditioning Americans would appreciate. The ambience was very Venice and the location, far enough away from the insanity, but close enough to everything you could ever want. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, we are happy hearing that you appreciated the position of our Hotel and in particular our A/C. Wishing to welcome you again...Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    159
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
123
586
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here after ending our 10 day cruise. Venice was excellent and this hotel definitely made the stay much better. This hotel was previous owned by a wealthy man before it was transformed into a hotel. Hence when you stay you will notice that the each room has a living room, bed room and bath. Floor to ceiling curtains hide a spectacular balcony overlooking the water.
If you have the chance, take the personal water taxi tour of Venice, note it does cost 140 Euro that you pay the hotel which then pays the driver. If you do it have an early dinner and take it around 8pm before/ during the sunset.
There is also a breakfast in the morning. Nothing special but it does save you some money before you head out.

It is also located in a nice square a little further away from all the tourist, however, still close enough to not take a long trek to get back.
If you have more than two, you may be able to request a cot. We had 5 so we got 3 cots.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your kind review and are very happy that you enjoyed one of our Suites, which remain our top class category. We are glad that you appreciate our concierge suggestions and wish to have the pleasure to see you again...thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 25 th wedding anniversary first night there we were attacked in the reception area by two known drunkards from the area my wife was hit around her head as the night manager did nothing to assist I suffered 7 stitches to a wound on my hand as the attacker struck with a vase on display in the lobby no assistance was given during Or after the incident and it was apparent they were more concerned about the hotels reputation before the water ambulance or police turned up they had put a new vase and flowers back on display so as to give the appearance nothing had happened we came home the following morning and even then no assistance was given to get cases on water taxi and not even an apology was given my verdict hotel crap staff crap Venice poor not impressed

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
This report is completely INCORRECT. The Guest got in trouble with a drunk person outside the hotel, in the square. The hotel staff gave full assistance to the Guests calling immediately the policy and an ambulance, offering a first aid medication and a glass of water to the lady. We spent lot of time to find them a flight to go home with no thanks! We are not in the position to apologyze as the bad situation was caused by the guest with a drunk person. The hotel is completely alien to the situation giving the full assistance anyway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful stay at the Ruzzini Palace Hotel. It is very central for Rialto bridge and St Marks Square and stands in its own square, which is very pretty with a few gift shops and eateries. We had a standard room, which was more than adequate for our 2 night stay. Breakfast was of a good standard and the waitress was very efficient and polite. Our room, 407, overlooked a canal and bridge, and, although the decor was a bit dark, it did make it very atmospheric. The bath was deep and filled quickly with lovely hot water, ideal after a day of pacing the island . The whole place was immaculate. The staff were polite and helpful and our room was tidied whilst we were out. Unfortunately, on our last night another couple of hotel guests had an incident with a local couple who had clearly been drinking heavily, and this resulted in them following them into the hotel foyer and assaulting the hotel guests without provocation. The man had a cut to his hand, the police and ambulance arrived, by water of course! It was all very unfortunate and quite frightening for guests and hotel staff. This being said, I would readily recommend this hotel in a heart beat. Thank you for making our first wedding anniversary and Venice trip a memorable time.
Mandy and Phil Harris xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We wish to thank you for your signed review, for all the nice words for our Hotel staff which made your stay so unforgettable. We thank you also for the comprehension you had for the bad experience another couple had with some drunk locals, which ended in our Hotel lobby. Wishing you’ll be back for another special occasion...don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ruzzini Palace is an amazing place to stay. Although Venice is an expensive city and this may cause you to question the value for money when staying here, it is overall a great hotel. The concierge were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They offer private water taxis to and from the airport which is professionaly and efficienty run, private gondola rides, they make bookings at restaurants for you. They organised us an emergency taxi to the airport at 4:30am. They packed us little breakfast bags when they found out we'd be leaving before breakfast.

The rooms are small but classy and clean, we had an amazing view of the square. Very royal feel. Beds are a bit hard and not very big/soft duvets. Excellent location as well, about 5 mins walk from San Marco square.

Overall I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for your kind words for our concierge who helped you during your stay with us. You’ll be always the most welcomed...hoping to see you once! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What an excellent hotel. We stayed end the of June weather was perfect. Water taxi took us to the back door so no dragging your bags through the streets, staff very friendly and extremely helpful they will tell you what's best to do and what restaurants are the better ones to eat at and which shops to buy your leather from. Our room that we were sharing with our 15yr old son was large overlooking the square and traditionally decorated. Hotel was far enough away from the hussle and bustle but close enough to walk everywhere. Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are glad that you really enjoyed your stay in our Ruzzini Palace and especially its position, which is definitly very central. As you said (expecially on arrival), the best options to reach us are by water taxi or transfer service. You can always ask assistance for this to our concierge concierge@ruzzinipalace.com Hoping to have once the pleasure of seeing you again....best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had 3 deluxe rooms. Two of them were excellent, but our room (405) was below the two others standard. More over airco was not ok and TV broke down twice. On the 4th floor rooms are different from the other floors, so avoid this floor.
All the rest is of excellent quality: situation (very central) breakfast and the reception ( always friendly and helpful)
Without the room it would have received an extra star.

Room Tip: Avois standard rooms and the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your time to write your experience in our Ruzzini Palace, we regret that you didn’t like our room 405 (DeLuxe double) compared to the other accommodations your friends had, because different.
In fact the rooms on the last floor (mansard) are mostly modern furnished, while the others on lower floor are modern & classic. Probably you didn’t like that style. But, in the meantime, we wish to draw your attention to the kind of view you had from that room, which is something spectacular. In fact you can see the San Marco Cathedral and the Tower bell and all the roofs...
Many thanks for your kind words for our staff that you found very helpful and kind. Wishing to have the pleasure of welcome you once....kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#20 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruzzini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.