We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruzzini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 382 hotels in Venice
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have just got back from a stay of 5 days in this lovely hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and enabled us to get the most out of our first visit to their wonderful city. We in fact found all of the staff very pleasant. Room in the roof gave us a lovely view over the square and the air conditioning was effective. The breakfast set us up for the day's sightseeing - a good choice of food and drinks. The square was nicely bustling without being too touristy or noisy and well situated for walking to most of the main attractions. Until reading another posting on our return, we were unaware of the existence of a lounge on the first floor - perhaps guests should be made more aware of it. However we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really happy to hear that your recent stay has been so pleasant. As per your kind words, when you stay with us, you have to have a look at our hall/salon upstairs on the 1st noble floor. That’s a common area where our Guest can have a drink or just enjoy the atmosphere of our Palazzo! Wishing you’ll be back....kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    161
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
125
590
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is itself is literally palatial. We had a large, luxurious suite overlooking a quiet canal. The lounge above the lobby has a great balcony over looking the piazza and has to be checked out, we had it to ourselves. The fading original frescoes and sensitive restoration gives this hotel an added charm.

The location is perfect, quiet but within easy reach as most of the main draws. The breakfast was good, but to be picky, fresh orange juice would have been appreciated.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your review, we are happy that you appreciate the style and originality of our Palace. As far as fresh squeezed orange juice, it’s listed on the breakfast menu at extra/cost; while the regular juice it’s included on the breakfast and available at the automatic dispenser. Wishing you’ll be back....kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the Ruzzini palace hotel" it was beautiful, good location, helpful staff, although late at night they did not have staff who spoke English. But. To a major issue.wonderful breakfast, with a few extras that other places didn't have, like tomatoe and mozzarella, scrambled eggs etc. they will bring you an espresso or cappuccino if you like. We also go a free cocktail one night which was fun and generous and welcoming. There were umbrellas available which we used on the one day it rained there. Front dest staff were always accommodating. We also took the water taxi from the train station to the hotel and it was a fantastic way to enter the city. I know that would NEVER have found the hotel at first and while carrying a weekend bag it would have been annoying! Def recommend taking the water taxi THERE, for 60 euros. I have to say we struggled with getting around Venice, it that has nothing to do with the hotel. It is about a6 minut walk to the Rialto bridge where everything is happening, if you don't get lost. We finally got the hang of it when we were about to leave. San Marco square is about 10 min walk if you don't get lost! Two negatives, and they would not. Be a reason not to return: they give you a different code for each wifi device you use and if you are not using your device for 15 minutes it shuts off and you have to keep entering it. Second- the bathrooms are great, however the shower in the bathtub does not have an adequate plastic wall on the aside and consequently when you take a shower, the floor of your bathroom gets really really wet. They just ned to extend the plastic at least halfway not 1/3 way down the tub! It is a beautiful hotel, in a great location, with helpful staff and lots of amenities and a reasonable price for what you are receiving! I would recommend staying there!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad that your recent stay in our Hotel has been so pleasant and that you appreciate our efforts to make your holiday so nice. We are taking good care of your suggestions. Wishing you’ll be back sometime...don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my 40th birthday as a surprise, we had a 3 night stay in March 2013.
It was the most fantastic surprise I've had starting off with a private taxi picking us up from the airport and then on to a private water taxi to the hotel, all arranged through the hotel, wow, what a fantastic start to the break.
The hotel was fantastic, stunning decor, very friendly and helpful staff.
We were booked into a junior suite but when we got there we were upgraded to the formoza suite, wow! It is beautiful, huge and very grand, our suite was the only one that had a balcony onto the square. We felt like royalty.
Breakfast was really nice too and there was always plenty to choose from, again the staff were very friendly and attentive.
The hotel is in easy walking distance to St Marc's and the Rialto bridge, in fact not far from anywhere once you get your bearings.
We would definatetly recommend this hotel and hopefully we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your very kind words for our Hotel and our Staff. As far as room upgrade, when possible, they’re made with great pleasure. Hoping to have once the pleasure of seeing you...Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

1st week of March 2013. We arrived by watertaxi from the airport direct ...a must. our 20th anniversary, booked a junior suite and upgraded to the Royal suite. Fabulous room, bottle of prosecco on ice after returning from our evening out. Reception staff were first class and very helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and good food.

thank you, we enjoyed our time in Venice immensely and would thoroughly recommend The Ruzzini Palace.

Peter... Brighton UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review; the satisfaction of our Guests helps to understand us the way we are operating. Our staff and expecially our bar tender thank you for the lovely words.
We do hope to have you here in the future and may be get a chance to upgrade you!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This room lacked the basic necessities with bad ventilation, very hot and too much noise and not to mention a rude manager. There was a special stating a $500 room at a special price so I got excited and decided to book it as we wanted to stay an extra day in Venice. This was the start of the false advertising. When we arrived we were given a room on the ground floor right next to the reception and it certainly was not a $500 room that was stipulated in the booking or the pictures. We noticed the room was really hot and very noisy. There were boats honking every few minutes. I tried to lower the temp but the cooling system did not work. I went out to speak with the Manager and asked if they could lower the temperature but he said it was not working. No can do attitude to make the situation better. Ventilation, cooling/heating system, silence/peacefulness is a basic requirement for any hotel that wants to be a 4 or 5 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We regret that your recent and too short stay (one night only) has not been so pleasant and that you find some gripes with our service. When you checked in at 11,00 a.m. the room was ready, but after 6 hours, in the middle of the afternoon, when all the arrivals were already made, you asked for a room change, which was not possible because no other rooms were available at that late time. After explaining you this matter, the only possible solution was to offer you a room refund (please, consider you booked a “not-refundable last minute offer”), that you refuse. May be with a longer stay, we could had a chance to change your opinion about our Hotel....may be!
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great welcome at reception on arrival, very friendly.

Standards are excellent both in the room and throughout the hotel.

We had one room for 2 adults and a teenager but the room was large and spacious with views over the square. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice served in a small but modern dining room. The dining room is only used for breakfast as the hotel does not have a restaurant but did offer snacks in the evening in the bar. We would visit the bar before going to bed for a coffee and hot chocolate which was served with a selection of delicious biscuits and the service from the bar man was very attentive and friendly.

Good location very close to the Rialto bridge

Worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your kind words, we are excited that your stay has been to pleasant...wishing you’ll be back! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#21 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruzzini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.