We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruzzini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 381 hotels in Venice
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful five days in Venice staying at Ruzzini Palace. Arrived after dark all the way from the airport to the hotel door by boat. Very James Bond!
Excellent location. We could and did walk everywhere albeit not always directly as Venice is a bit of a warren. We were in room 402 which was at the very top with a lovely view of the square. We found the room too hot and slept with the window open which was fine but could be noisy. The breakfast in the hotel was ok, nothing spectacular but not bad at all and plenty of it as it was buffet which ran from 7.30 to 10.30 every day. All was clean and tidy as was the whole of Venice. Top marks of this hotel must go to the staff. There was always a willing and helpful concierge or two on the desk who liked nothing better than to give you an idea of where you may wish to go on any given day taking into account the weather forecast etc. They would always help with bookings if required and with recommendations for restaurants of which there are plenty. Also thanks to Michael who was running the bar in the evening but back again to serve breakfast with a smile. We would certainly come to this hotel again. The only thing missing for me was a fluffy bath robe but I got over it!

Room Tip: Not sure if our room (402) was hot because it was effectively in the roof but it was too warm. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your nice words for our Hotel and the staff, especially from Michael! We wish you’ll be back for another special stay....about bath robes, they are usually provided on Junior Suite and Suites accommodations (your was a Deluxe); in any case, next time you need just to ask at the front desk...we NEVER say no...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    148
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
550
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here 2-7th Feb for my 50th birthday, along with my husband and sister and brother-in-law. We had lovely rooms at the very top of the hotel with fantastic views over the city. Rooms were very well equipped and very comfortable. My sisters room had a problem with the shower but this was sorted as soon as we reported it. Staff were really helpful with advice and recommendations. Breakfast was really good with loads to choose from and the men really enjoyed the prosecco with breakfast! The hotel itself is really stunning - make sure you use the stairs to see the beautiful seating areas and painted walls. Really close to everything, five minute walk to St Marks Square and Rialto Bridge, lots of lovely places to eat nearby. Thank you for making our stay so special and we would love to return one day soon! Really fell in love with Venice :)

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet, had amazing views, looking over towards St Marks Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy that our efforts and efficiency have been really appreciated and that everything has been so good, as per your expectations. Wishing you’ll be back!....Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here 9-12 March. Fantastic location within walking distance of the main Venetian attractions i.e. St. Marks square, Rialto bridge, Doges palace. In a quiet square with lots of local restaurants nearby. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Our first room was on the top floor and very warm (24oC)! But we asked to be moved and were upgraded the second night to a larger room on 4th floor- room 306. Good buffet breakfast, lots of choice. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Room 306 a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your nice words; we are happy that our efforts have been appreciated, moving to another accommodation (less warm). Waiting for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here 4-7 March excellent hotel, given a room upgrade to room 402, had amazing views from top floor, overlooking the rooftops of Venice. Great location close to Rialto Bridge and San Marco square. Loads of great places to eat.
Had a fabulous time thanks to all the amazing staff in the hotel.
A big thankyou to you all. We will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your kind review. We are happy that you appreciate the free upgrade we have been able to give you...wishing you’ll be back, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

In a great location, not far to walk to all the main tourist attractions. Staff always very happy and helpful, even remembered our room number. Free trip to the glass blowing factory! Breakfast was lovely. Room nice size, clean, great views, everything you would want. Cleaned everyday. The only one thing I could mention is that there was very few plug sockets! Take an extension lead if you have a few things that need to be plugged in! But overall helped to make a brilliant trip to Venice and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you enjoyed the staff efficiency and kindness. Next time ask for multiplug at the desk...don’t forget us! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What can we say - this hotel was amazing. We booked a standard room for 3 nights and were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. Well where to begin - the room was beautiful! Large bed, armchairs, spotlessly clean, beautiful bathroom and a wonderful view overlooking the square. All of the staff were very attentive and friendly. Breakfast had huge choice and was plentiful with fresh coffee, refilled on request. Location was spot on, central to walk everywhere. This really is a palace and took our breath away. We hope to return to Venice and would absolutely love to stay at the Ruzzini Palace again. Many thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room overlooking square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad that all our efforts have been really appreciated. Wishing you’ll be back....thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent 3 days there in mid February. Upgraded to suite upon arrival. Desk staff very courteous and helpful. Hotel was very clean and in good repair. Location was good. Easy to get to most attractions by walking just a few minutes. [ We are middle aged. If you are elderly I don't think Venice would be a wise choice because you have to walk everywhere, climb steps and walk along narrow, crowded walkways.] Free internet computer located in lobby w/printer. Breakfast was well stocked and offered a reasonable continental layout (cheese, fruit, cold cuts, bread, coffee - terrible BTW, etc.) Had a very small full service bar but no restaurant, however, there are dozens of them located in a few minutes walk. Finding the hotel could be problematic. It is about a 6-8 minute walk from the Rialto water bus stop on the airport orange route. Cost 15 euro. I contacted the concierge and they sent a very detailed map which helped. The only English speaking TV channels are BBC news, Bloomberg, CNN, and Eurosport. Gets old quick when you have making the time change adjustments trying to get some sleep. Other than the price being just a bit overpriced (about 15%) I was completely satisfied and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay so much and that you appreciate our efforts giving you a free room upgrade to one of our Suites (when possible....we do it with great pleasure). About costs many of our readers find them in line with the Hotel category. Thanking you for your suggestions and wishing you’ll be back....don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace
Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruzzini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.