We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ruzzini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 382 hotels in Venice
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I flew into Venice for just two days and booked this hotel on a recommendation from a colleague and we were not disappointed. The hotel was a little difficult to find if anything although once you know where you are you quickly ascertain it's not far from anywhere.
We took a Water bus, cost EURO15 per journey and just a 7 minute walk from the airport, into Rialta and made our way to the hotel, approx 10 minute away. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the reception staff and shown to our room, 303.
The decor was fabulous as it was throughout the hotel and the view of the square perfect. We ventured out for a walk all day but the hotel had offered a number of water boat rides which we declined.
The room was modern and chic and contained everything required. My only problem was they didn't allow Iron's in the room but offered a press service...at a fee.
The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely buffet breafkast in the morning, with various choices.
All in all a wonderful stay at a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we are pleased hearing that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and the upgrade you had (upon availability, we do with pleasure). In fact the Junior Suite 303 is one of our best accommodations. About ironing in the rooms, we always kinfly ask to all our Guest to avoid this practice for safety reason; anyhow, as you said, we do provide the service by the Hotel maid. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    160
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
124
590
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ruzzini Palace for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon tour of Italy. We'd pre-booked a private water taxi from the airport but due to the low water in the canals we couldn't be dropped off at the hotel due to the height of the steps. The walk from the drop off point to the hotel was difficult with 2 large suitcases in 40+ degree heat but it was worth it when we arrived at Ruzzini Palace!

The guys on reception were very friendly, recommended places to eat and even booked tables for us as we don't speak Italian. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions (St Marks Square, Rialto Bridge etc) but is still enough out of the way so is fairly quiet.

Our room overlooked the square, was large with wooden beams on the ceilings, a walk-through wardrobe, a big bathroom and most importantly air con!

The hotel does serve breakfast in the bar area but unfortunately there is no restaurant. This may be a problem for some people but as Venice has so many restaurants, we had no problem finding somewhere to eat.

We fell in love with Venice so will definitely be back and Ruzzini Palace will be top of our list for a place to stay!

Other recommendations:
- Gondola ride - Pretty expensive (120 euros for 40 mins - 2 people) but worth it!
- Buy a Vaporetto pass (online or at kiosk), it'll save you loads if you want to explore Venice by boat and you can hop on/off at any stop. The pass also covers boat to Murano and Burano
- Visit Burano. The pretty brightly coloured houses on this small island are amazing! Take a camera.
- Pre-book St Mark's Basilica to avoid the huge queues
- Book a table at Ai Mercante restaurant. It's not got a Michelin star yet but they are going for it and should have at least one in my opinion. One of the best meals I've EVER had!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your very kind review and are happy that your stay has been so nice. We would like just to inform our readers that the transportation you booked on arrival wasn’t arranged from the Hotel. When our concierge arrange transfer services, they’re all meant to reach the final destination (Airport/Hotel and opposite) and we never had problems with low water tide...? About Restaurants nearby, we always make suggestions and arrange for reservation too. We perfectly agree your opinion of BURANO (fisherman and lace makers island) especially for a perfect sea-food lunch! Wishing you’ll be back....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here early December after look up on Trip Advisor for a hotel. This hotel is in an ideal location! Although we always got lost when we tried getting back from exploring Venice - you definitely need a good map in Venice. The palace has been beautifully restored and yet it has a modern touch to it! The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and very clean. The only down side for us as we stayed for 5 nights was the breakfast! Although there was plenty to choose from the quality of cold meats and cheese was not the best. We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time posting your review on this site, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel so much. About the breakfast, we are taking good note of your suggestion and wishing you’ll be back for another special stay...don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise trip away for my boyfriend for his 30th and it was absolutely amazing! I had pre-arranged for a private water taxi to pick us up from the airport and take us to the hotel (cost of 120 euros) and the trip took about 20 minutes. The hotel has its own dock and so we felt so glamorous when we arrived straight to the hotel and were greeted by the concierge...DEFINITELY better then trecking around Venice with our suitcase trying to find the hotel.

The hotel itself is lovely and in a really good location. Whilst we got a little lost the first day we were there, it's actually only about a 5 minute walk from San Marco but really quiet. Our room was sumptuous and cosy and very nice, although not huge. We overlooked the canal. The bathroom was really lovely as well although the shower head kept falling down when in use! Not a massive problem though as we were happy to make the most of the large bath tub! Sadly we weren't offered a room upgrade for the occasion but I had arranged prosecco to be in the room on arrival which was a nice touch and only 20 euros.

The staff were very helpful in general, although I have one comment re the temperature of the room; it was roasting!! Far, far too warm and the air conditioning can only be controlled by the reception which I thought was strange. Because it was mid December they said that they keep the room at 24 degrees, but the temp gauge in our room said 29 degrees! When I spoke to reception, they offered to turn off the heating and open the windows for us, which wasn't ideal but it is only a small thing.

All in all, a wonderful trip. I would definitely go back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Madam,
Many thanks for your very kind and mostly positive comment about your recent stay in our Hotel. We definitely agree that the transfer service remain the best solution to reach us, especially on arrival. We regret for the high temperature of your accommodation. Right after your notification we turned off the heating of your room in order to cool the temperature. Wishing you’ll come back!....don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Hotel is Fantastic, im so glad i stayed there. Me and my husband went for my birthday 10th dec 2012 for 5 days. The location is great, between Rialto Bridge shops resturants and st.marks square. Has a lovely square outside the hotel and we had a room over looking this. The hotel upgraded us to the Juniour suite on arrival, it was beautiful. We were treated like royalty by the staff and the hotel was so clean and lovely. I enjoyed my trip to Venice so much and the hotel was the icing on the cake with so much comfort when we would get back from long walks around the city. Any questions we asked we were given helpful information. If you want to stay in an excellent hotel in an excellent location then this hotel is the one. I will definatly be staying here again when i make another Visit.

Room Tip: The juniour suite with front view rooms are the best, complete luxury. Are more expensive, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Madam,
We are so happy that the free room upgrade (when possible, we always do our best to do so) has been so appreciated. Wishing you’ll back for another “special” occasion...Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ruzzini Palace for three nights for her 40th birthday. What can I say as soon as we walked in the door the staff on reception made us extremely welcome, very informative, provided us with maps of venice and some excellent advice. The hotel itself is spotless, has a lovely atmosphere, our room was on the top floor with fantastic views and was really really lovely. The breakfast was advertised to us as a continental, it is much better than that and was absolutely lovely.
The location of the hotel is perfect, five minutes walk to st marks square, close to the grand canal and rialto bridge and all the lovely shops.
All in all I couldn't recommend this hotel enough and can't really imagine a nicer one in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very glad that you loved the Hotel position and the Staff so much. Don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was somewhat worried before this holiday, surely this hotel was not as good as the excellent reviews it receives. No need to worry it was a wonderful experience. Prosseco on the house started it off and it just got better.

Good location for exploring. Room was excellent. Breakfast first class. And best of all the staff, very professional and helpful.

I have travelled extensively through Europe, and have never stayed at a better hotel than the Ruzzini.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top floor room overlooking the Square, it was quiet and had a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your outstanding review and your nice words for our Staff. Wishing all the best...don’t forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruzzini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.