We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if you like pasta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Al Pantalon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Antica Osteria Al Pantalon
Dorsoduro, 3958, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
041-710849
Update restaurant details
Ranked #804 of 1,174 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good if you like pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A word to the wise after the event: if a menu reads like an encyclopedia with hundreds of dishes on display, its going to be bad. But with a hungry child, who wanted just a simple pasta dish, there was little choice but to take the plunge. To be fair, the pasta was good, but if you cant get that right well, there's no hope. However, the fish course was dire: overcooked,looked as though it had come out of the freezer with no seasoning and absolutely tasteless. The grilled vegetables, weren't that much better either. On the other hand, the white wine was good, which made everything a little more palatable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    12
    8
    3
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Risk of food poisoning - STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

First if all,I'd like to point out that in general Venice is a magic city but not really for the food...It's very difficult to find places where to eat well at a reasonable prices,the restaurants take too much advantage of being in a very touristic place.But as a couple if Italians from Liguria (so we're quite strict on the quality of seafood) we were particularly outraged by the poor quality of food and service of this restaurant!!!My partner ordered a dish of pasta with lobster ("astice") greasy and with the lobster not being fresh (so he did not eat the flesh in the shell,which should be the best part of such a plate).My pasta "bigoli with salsa" was ok but without visible anchovies.But the greatest scandal was the mix fried seafood:the shrimps tasted of MOULD and when my partner tasted it,he immediately felt sick and was close to puke!The owners would have deserved to have him throwing out on their floor indeed:when my partner politely said he didn't like at all the dish (he left almost all if the food there) the waiter didn't care at all and they charged us the full price!They should be ashamed and I recommend anyone to avoid this place if they don't want to end up in a hospital!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Almost intoxicated ..and no apologies at all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We were very disapponted about the seafood quality in general but when i had "frittura mista alla veneziana" i noticed that wasn't fresh at all with a bad taste of mold ("muffa" in italian) . I can recognize a good quality seafood , i'm from Genova in Italy. After the meal i was a bit sick and fortunately i left the dish almost untouched..the owner (or the waiter) saw it but when i told him that the dish wasn't good at all just didnt pay any attention and asked if we wanted something else...well..i think they dont deserve to stay open.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shropshire UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing compared to their other restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had eaten several times at Osteria Al Ponte, La Patatina, which serves excellent food and has a great ambience. This was just OK. But La Patatina is quite close and much better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bresso, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality family restautrant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very simple reaturant with a good menu and many typical venetian dishes located in a small street half way from Accademia to train station.
The food quality is good and the service very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Al Pantalon also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Osteria Al Pantalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Al Pantalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.