We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiramisu to die for - but the rest, not sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino

Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino
Salizada Zorzi | Castello, 4928 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 0415285332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 1,197 restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Castello
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“tiramisu to die for - but the rest, not sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly, I hope I've got the right restaurant as there are several in the area with similar names .... so fingers crossed ......

We were pointed to this place on a bank holiday Monday night by our concierge who said he often ate there.
It's certainly not the most pre-possessing place from the outside, and had we not been advised, I'm sure we would have walked on. Nevertheless, having poked our heads round the door, we noted what looked to be a very nice courtyard garden, but it was far too chilly for us, so we contented ourselves with an inside table in a room that was not for the romantically inclined.

Our somewhat Falstaffian waiter lived up to his appearance, so that was a good start.
The food wasn't anything to get particularly excited about, though my 1970s escalope milanese brought back happy memories, and of its type was very good indeed.

The highlight of the meal was the tiramisu. This is not something I would normally choose, but I'm very glad to have done so, for it was light and alcoholic without being overpowering - and frankly almost worth the visit on its own.

Overall, I suspect it is a much more convivial and thus satisfying place when it is warm enough to sit outside, so I'm very undecided as to how well to recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    110
    133
    45
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good days and bad days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the desk staff at our hotel. So went early in the day to book and asked to be seated outside. We were disappointed on our arrival later that evening to find we were plonked in a corner in the restaurant.
We had to make our unhappiness known more than once before we could be reseated outside.
The food was delightful the chef really had his work cut out dealing with over two hundred covers that evening.
Shame the had no Verve Clique champagne as we were celebrating a special occasion, although it was on the wine list, however my biggest disappointment was our waiters very obvious dissatisfaction with our €15 tip in cash!!!
Lovely food though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent an inordinate amount of time trying to avoid tourist trap restaurants while we were in Italy, so we were pleasantly surprised when we wandered into this place. It was a real Italian menu with fresh items befitting a restaurant in a seaside town like Venice.
We ordered the house Cabarnet, which was a local Treviso red. It was an excellent choice and went well with our meals.
We sat in the open air garden in the back and had a great atmosphere. Our server spoke English well enough for us to communicate, but it was not a tourist trap. No upselling, nothing that wasn't authentic and fresh.
We both ordered largely based upon our server's recommendations and we were very pleased with everything. The monkfish was very good and the ravioli (for the first course) was great.
The gnocchi was obviously homemade, fresh, and delicious.
The service was fantastic and you won't be disappointed by this place. If you are there during peak season, you may want to stop by earlier in the day and grab a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Buonissimo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful interior, attentive and professional service, and tasty dishes made me like this place right away. One of the ways to judge a good restaurant is by its rizzotto. I had a fantastic one with asparagus, cooked perfectly.

I recommend Il Giardinetto!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of Venice's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The menu's full of lagoon specialties, such as a granceola (crab) starter, served simply with olive oil and lemon. The squid ink tagliatelle with a bright lobster sauce is a wow of a look as well as taste. And my spaghetti alle vongole had more meaty clams than any I've ever had, in a garlicky sauce that was perfection. A meaty branzino for our main course - excellent. So impressed with this kitchen.... Venice is one Italian city where we're NOT always sure of finding a great meal.The service was warm and friendly, and the decor really lovely in the second room - delicately painted vaulted ceilings and a fireplace. Took a peek at the spacious garden which would be lovely in season (too cold on this March day). A tableful of gondoliers was beside us - so you know the locals like Al Giardinetto too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.