We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino

Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino
Salizada Zorzi | Castello, 4928 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 0415285332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Whatever we had ordered was very good and very reasonable prices in a very touristic venice. I recommend pasta with lobster sauce, however if you rder. Different thing you wont be disapointed. Service was very good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    168
    61
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food Bored Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is good, the outdoor seating is pleasant, but the wait staff and owner don't seem to like their jobs. I have eaten there several times over the years. Nothing special

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Most restaurants don't open before 7pm however we were so cold this evening so much so that we had to knock on their door half an hour before opening time. They were very understanding and welcoming. Waiters appear to be a bit formal but very attentive and helpful. We had 2 proseccos, 2 set menus @ €20 each, 2 puddings and a small bottle of wine for €70 in total which is extremely reasonable.
Set menu was extremely good and pasta was served first like a starter but there was so much of it, I would say it was like a very generous serving of a main meal. My first course was spaghetti carbonara which was quite ordinary or nothing special but wife's penne al arrabiata was simply amazing. We both had sole for second course and OMG! It was just extraordinary. It was the tastiest bit if fish we've ever had - even though it was a fairly small bit of fillet you could not eat much after the first course anyway. Part of the set menu we chose chips and salad and they were both very yummy.
Starters are around €9-11 and mains are €15-18.
Overall we would highly recommend this beautiful place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we had walked past it the night before and had seen many, many people inside and going into the restaurant. We went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. The waiters are not overly friendly but you are in Italy so the service is just fine.

My husband had one of the best plates of spaghetti vongole he says he has ever had - so much so that he wanted to go back for lunch the next day but we had to leave Venice. I had a divine plate of gnocchi gorgonzola. The serving was just the right size given the richness of the dish.

With starter, main and dessert each plus a bottle of wine and the usual bottle of water you get in Italy the bill was 101 Euro. An absolute bargain for what we got.

Make sure you go through the front part of the restaurant to the back part of the restaurant. Here you are 'outdoors' (covered area) under a beautiful roof covered with vines. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The waiters look right through you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Now I'm not sure if this was just an off night for them or what but we visited venice in December. We did not make reservations and ended up waiting about 45 minutes to get a table. They seated several other walk-ins before us as well who had come in after us. We were put in the corner of the restaurant and I can count how many times the waiter came to our table on one hand. Our waiter was very short with us and clearly did not care for our business at all. They food was extremely average if not poor depending on what we got. We only ordered pastas and their white sauces were dismal. Seriously avoid this place if you can.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.