We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put....a hidden gem of authentic Venetian cuisine. Bacaro at it's best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Portego

Osteria Al Portego
Calle della Malvasia Castello 6014, Venice, Italy (Castello)
041-522-9038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $15 - $51
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar, Chowder, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply put....a hidden gem of authentic Venetian cuisine. Bacaro at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On a recent trip to Venice we were trying to find some of the classic bacari, Venetian wine bars, and based on a book we had it was one of the top 10. After getting caught in a downpour we were glad to find this little gem. We immediately loved the cozy feel of the restaurant. The selection of food at the bar was almost too much to chose from. Everything I picked was fantastic, from the grilled calamari to the different types of bruschetta. My wife ordered the sea food pasta and it was simply to die for. Even our 10 year old dug right into it.

The waitress spoke great English and was really helpful. The prices were also good considering that it is Venice.

One thing - when you try to have a late lunch make sure you get there before 3 PM....they close at 3:30 PM and re-open late.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    190
    29
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This restaurant was wonderful!! The antipasti platter was to die for! The waitress knew we couldn't decide what we wanted so she gave us a sampler of everything. The fresh seafood pasta dishes were off the charts! Portions were large so we shared several things and had plenty! House wine was delish. There is no English menu but waitress knew enough to help us out. Highly recommend! It's a very small place, maybe 6 tables but the feel is truly Italian. Off the beaten tourist path, but well worth finding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat like a Veneziano...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fresh products, nice staff, cosy place. Not too many tourists, feeling of authentic place. Really worth trying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“went two nights in a row...nuff' said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

(NB: Tripadvisor have the wrong map location, google the restaurant website, it is hard to find without the exact location.)

Usually we never visit the same restaurant twice when on holiday, but this place was one of the best I've eaten at while on holiday over the last few years.

The owner is really friendly and can translate anything they have on the chalkboard menu in the seating area, or in the tapas selection by the bar.

We ate A LOT both nights, its about £30 a head for a normal meal, £40 for an excessive meal.

For a starter, I heavily recommend selecting some tapas or small plates from the bar. The tapas include octopus and other seafood items, grilled artichokes, and interesting flavour combinations served on a slice of baguette (e.g. smoked salmon and blueberry). The baked aubergine was also a very good starter.

I assume the menu changes regularly, but over the two days when we were there, we tried the ricotta and spinach ravioli, the grilled prawns, and seafood linguine which are all main dishes. All the seafood is fresh and perfectly cooked.

It's a must go if you're in Venice, although it is hard to find, hopefully it won't become too touristy with all these good reviews because it is in a hidden location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most delicious bamboo clam spaghetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Food portion is generous but we finished everything because the bamboo clam spaghetti is so delicious. The open sandwiches with chopped olive and sardine was good too. Unfortunately they don't provide English menu so we were not able to order any main dishes at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Portego also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Al Portego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.