We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Domina Home Ca' Zusto to your Saves list
Domina Home Ca' Zusto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful place in a quiet, mostly residential area of Venice (read: far enough from the hordes of tourists that fill the city daily from cruise ships and day tours). The staff was very accommodating, they made our restaurant reservations and were very helpful with directions. We had a beautiful and comfortable room. Breakfast every morning was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    174
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
320
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel north in Venice. We got a room on the ground floor, which was very pretty and clean. The receptionist was very nice, she gave us a map and explained about the main views. In addition, she ordered a restaurant table for us for one of the evenings. There are a few things that keeps it from getting the top rating, the beds were quite hard so we had trouble sleeping properly, and there were no duvet. The door out to the hallway was not exactly sound proof, and we could hear everyone going past very loudly. Also, the wifi was only accessible on the first floor, and not in our room. Apart from this, it is a nice hotel in walking distance from the bus station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights during a recent trip to Italy and we loved this place. The hotel has great rooms with wonderful character! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was good for us as we explored Venice because it was a little off the beaten path and allowed us to get a better feel for everyday life in Venice as we explored. The touristic focal points were all easily accessible by a nearby vaporetto stop, but we preferred to wind our way around the streets and canals by foot and enjoy the experience to the fullest. Our fondest memories were produced by the restaurants and shops we happened on while walking and exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pros:
- The art deco & design of the overall hotel, furniture & beddings, are very "Venetian" style.
- Colourful themes provides a great, fun, dynamic living experience for travel.
- Very friendly staff, esp Monica at the reception, who was polite, extremely kind and helpful for travel advice. We felt very welcomed
- We travelled to celebrate our anniversary and was lucky enough to be upgraded to Deluxe Double Room on 3rd floor with in-room jacuzzi (which is definitely a BONUS after a long day walking around the beautiful city), also love the purple-themed design
- Buffet breakfast is tasty and sufficient, maid was very polite!
- Free wifi at common room is very fast and easy to access
- Very conveniently located if you're arriving/ leaving Venice at S Lucia train station, you can walk there within 10mins, or simply take ACTV (water bus) at Riva-De -Biasio stop (just one stop from S.L. Station) which was just 2 mins walking from hotel, a very good base to travel
- very reasonably-priced, well-worth the budget we spent (so we're not benchmarking 5-stars hotel here, as we aren't spending that at all)
- very safe & quite district of Santa Croce, good to stay away from the huzz & buzz
Cons:
- no in-room wifi connection (as expected)
- no "prominent hotel sign" outside the building, easy to be missed out
- very small reception area where you've no way to sit / rest while waiting for check-in / out
- if'll be great if we can have a glimpse of the "Grand Canal" view from the hotel, now city rooftop only

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Home Ca' Zusto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
it's a pleasure for us to receive your comment! We feel happy and satisfied for having provided you with good service!
As far as your criticisms are concerned we are sorry that some details disturbed your comfortable stay. Nevertheless we'd like to specify as follows:
"- no in-room wifi connection (as expected)" - as you surely noticed the hotel is an ancient buiding of the XIV century and has very very thick walls that don't permit the wifi connection arrive into the rooms. We are perfectly agree it's a lack nowadays but unfortunately we are not able to resolve the problem at the moment.
"- no "prominent hotel sign" outside the building, easy to be missed out" - a descreet sign is the architect's stylistic choice made to preserve the elegance of this ancient construction.
"- very small reception area where you've no way to sit / rest while waiting for check-in / out" - Venice is a unique city with very little space on dry land with the consequence of very tiny accomodations.
Thank you again for your kind opinion.
We'll be very happy to welcome you again at Domina Home Ca' Zusto.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an amazing trip to Venice and stay at the Domina Home. It is located a 5 minute walk from the nearest vaporetto stop (a huge plus!) and easy to find with the instructions provided.

Pros:
Friendly staff and reception
Nice, colorful room
Breakfast included
Modern, totally renovated, but located in a historic building with lots of character
Staff were helpful arranging water taxi to airport
Less crowded outside than most other parts of Venice

Cons:
Small shower (barely enough room for one person to stand)
Bed could have been more comfortably, but still OK
Not too much natural light in our room (but we didn't spend much time there)

We would def stay there again. Good value for your money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Home Ca' Zusto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
please, let us thank you for your kind opinion, we really hope it's going to be useful for other travellers!
We are sorry the shower wasn't enough comfortable for you but we are sure you understand the reason - tiny spaces everywhere on dry land in Venice. We hope we managed to repay it with our cortesy, hospitality, attention and the wish to make you feel at home in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Domina Home Ca Zusto.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has great service, great staff and cool decor but it's all let down by a failure to pay attention to the basics. At nearly 200 quid a night I expect a comfortable bed not two rock hard singles pushed together in a money saving exercise. All of the 'boutique' experience is also entirely let down by the lack of privacy - you are literally on top of everyone else staying there and, notably, the cleaning staff who you can expect to hear outside your door from the crack of dawn. Such a shame as the staff are so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Home Ca' Zusto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry and upset you haven't enjoyed your stay with us.
As you know, the peculiarity of Venice is lack of space, everything is small and quite intimate here so it is rather difficult to preserve and guarantee the privacy of each client. We yet guarantee we tried to do our best to make you stay comfortable and cosy.
We are grateful to you for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to prove our professionalism and hospitality.
Kind regards,
Domina Home Ca'Zusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short North/Columbus
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This great old Venitain hotel has been updated recently. It has good "bones" to begin with, marble floors, great large lounge and breakfast area. The updating included a great bathroom in our Room 301 loft(new hydrojet tub and standup shower), and some seriously bright colors, shades of purple and magenta in some places, peach, lemon in others. Not your dated dull and frayed establishment, but some (not I) would find it a bit over the top.

Free WiFi connections in the rooms are not good, but the first floor lounge was comfortable and had a good free connection.

At 245 Euros per night (late Priceline get we found through TA), this is the most we spent on accommodations in a 5 city tour, but everything is high in Venice, even shoulder season, and it was worth the premium in this case because of location, location, location, and the service and high level of the premises.

The staff was exceptional, especially Georgia, who put us onto a great local restaurant for a late lunch. We went back for dinner the next night. They also helped us make an informed and inexpensive decision about how to get to the airport, foregoing the 100 Euro water taxis, for a two stop vaporetto ride to Piazza Roma and a E6 bus ride.

The included Breakfast had pretty good scrambled eggs and some actual American style bacon, but plenty of typical Euro breakfast options.

Room Tip: The third floor loft rooms are beamed, but high cielings, pretty quiet. A ground level room might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Home Ca' Zusto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest!
We are very grateful to you for such a nice opinion!
We are doing our best to make you feel at home away from home and we are really happy we succeeded in it!
Thank you and hope to see you soon again to share the beauty of this unique city.

Domina Home Ca' Zusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domina Home Ca' Zusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Address: Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Home Ca' Zusto 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Domina Home Ca' Zusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Ca` Zusto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domina Home Ca' Zusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.