We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye popping colorful, but great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Save Saved
You added Domina Home Ca' Zusto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Domina Home Ca' Zusto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 382 hotels in Venice
Short North/Columbus
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eye popping colorful, but great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This great old Venitain hotel has been updated recently. It has good "bones" to begin with, marble floors, great large lounge and breakfast area. The updating included a great bathroom in our Room 301 loft(new hydrojet tub and standup shower), and some seriously bright colors, shades of purple and magenta in some places, peach, lemon in others. Not your dated dull and frayed establishment, but some (not I) would find it a bit over the top.

Free WiFi connections in the rooms are not good, but the first floor lounge was comfortable and had a good free connection.

At 245 Euros per night (late Priceline get we found through TA), this is the most we spent on accommodations in a 5 city tour, but everything is high in Venice, even shoulder season, and it was worth the premium in this case because of location, location, location, and the service and high level of the premises.

The staff was exceptional, especially Georgia, who put us onto a great local restaurant for a late lunch. We went back for dinner the next night. They also helped us make an informed and inexpensive decision about how to get to the airport, foregoing the 100 Euro water taxis, for a two stop vaporetto ride to Piazza Roma and a E6 bus ride.

The included Breakfast had pretty good scrambled eggs and some actual American style bacon, but plenty of typical Euro breakfast options.

Room Tip: The third floor loft rooms are beamed, but high cielings, pretty quiet. A ground level room might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Home Ca' Zusto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest!
We are very grateful to you for such a nice opinion!
We are doing our best to make you feel at home away from home and we are really happy we succeeded in it!
Thank you and hope to see you soon again to share the beauty of this unique city.

Domina Home Ca' Zusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    139
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
245
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in total. One night before a cruise and 2 nights after. The first day we arrived we were upgraded to a Superior Room which was lovely, it was spacious and immaculately clean, the bathroom was quite large with plenty of space to put toiletries and the room itself was also larger than we had expected. On the 2 nights following our cruise we stayed in a standard room which was also very nice, the only difference being it was slightly smaller but still much larger than we expected, the room was again immaculate and very comfortable.

The staff were exceptionally helpful on both visits, they helped us with our luggage on both occasions and offered suggestions on where to go for lunch, they also gave us a map showing us where the hotel was and where the other attractions were.

Some of the other reviews have mentioned that they found the hotel hard to find, which I can understand as Venice is a maze of small alleys. We were lucky as we found an easy way to get there when we arrived.

We landed at Marco Polo Airport and got the ATVO bus to Piazzale Roma, the bus runs every 30 minutes (10 to and 20 past the hour) from outside the arrivals terminal and takes about 20 minutes. It stops at Piazzale Roma which is the last point that buses can go. We then took a number 1 Water Bus (going to Lido) 2 stops to Riva de Biasio (approx. 8 minutes), this stop is on the same side as Piazzale Roma, when you leave the bus turn left and walk to the end of the road then turn right, the Hotel is about 400 yards up on the right hand side, its easy to miss so watch out for the entrance. We got our Water Bus tickets from the stalls at the bus station where the bus stopped, this was much quieter than the main ticket office. The bus cost 6 euros for a single and the water bus 7 euros also for a single, although you can buy 12, 24 and 48 hour tickets.

Overall we had a fantastic time both in Venice and at this hotel, we found we walked a lot but could have used the water buses but wanted to see as much as possible. The Hotel and the Staff were excellent, if we were back in Venice we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We felt that we had found a little gem of an hotel, tucked away in the alleys of Venice. After walking through the maze of streets to get there we discovered that the simplest way to get there is the by vaporetto, getting off at Riva de Biasio and walking about 100 m.
The hotel was well appointed and smart, feeling reasonably luxurious. The breakfast buffet was generous with a great variety of fare on offer, through English to every combination of continental.
Air conditioning was effective, when the receptionist turned it on in our room.
There was free Wifi in the public area, though connections were not entirely reliable and a bit frustrating at times.
I would have given the hotel a much higher rating except for the bathroom. We had been placed in a disabled room as it was the only one available. It had a wet room which was smart, clean and looked efficient. Unfortunately a 'clever' plumber had glued a barrier round the drain to try to keep the water in the shower area. Water falling outside the barrier then flooded the entire bathroom and could not drain away, threatening to flood the whole suite. The receptionist was not unduly concerned and promised us extra towels, which did not appear, saying that there was nothing more that he could do and that they were aware of the problem. He blamed the Italian government for requiring hotels to have disabled accessible rooms.
We ended up on our hands and knees mopping up all of the water just so that we could use the bathroom. We would go back to this hotel again but would request a standard room.

Room Tip: Beware of the bathroom in disabled rooms. Be prepared to take towels out of the stores if you get fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 4 nights here from 1st Sept - 5th and we were very pleased with our choice. We had read many good reports on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The location was ideal for us, near local amenities and Rive De Biaso waterbus stop if required but, far enough away from the main tourist areas to enjoy leisurely strolls without encountering the masses of day trippers that descend on Venice (we felt the back streets were the best part of Venice, quiet and just as beautiful). The breakfast was more than adequate for a days exploring. The staff were also very helpful and their English was very good. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a beautiful property, with very modern, brightly decorated rooms and open areas. The breakfast is a nice buffet, with eggs, warm croissants, fresh juices, fruit, good coffee ! The service is excellent ... they are so extremely helpful and nice!!! The front desk clerk walked with us to a restaurant near the area to ask the owner if she could feed us since it was 2:30, too late for lunch in Venice. Amazing experience. Two nights in Venice is too much, one night is too little ... so you choose!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

An unassuming property from the outside in a convenient location for transport and Venice attractions. Upon entering the hotel the ambience was outstanding with beautiful decor, attentive staff, well appointed and tastefully decorated. Comfortable and spacious beds offered a good night sleep and breakfast was served fresh in a perfect setting by polite and friendly staff; the buffet continuously topped up with fresh cheese, bread, meats, fruit, juices accompanied with piping hot fresh coffee... An outstanding hotel.. An outstanding City

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

After researching for hotels and seeing average reviews, I stumbled on this hotel and seeing many positive reviews, I decided to book it for our first Venice trip. I am really happy with the choice. The hotel is to me up there with NH hotels. The place has some of the Venice style decor but marriaged with modern styling. I would recommend this hotel for couples and companions. Rooms are standard European size. We don't expect a large room. The staff is very friendly. And of course the city is great! We will return and most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domina Home Ca' Zusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Address: Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#71 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Home Ca' Zusto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Domina Home Ca' Zusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Ca` Zusto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domina Home Ca' Zusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.