We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, comfy bed, disliked the wetroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Domina Home Ca' Zusto to your Saves list
Domina Home Ca' Zusto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice staff, comfy bed, disliked the wetroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night before our flight the next day, so I wanted a hotel within easy walking distance of the bus station. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, even though it was 1.30 in the afternoon, but the lady behind the desk said we could leave our luggage while we went for something to eat. When we returned our bags had been taken to our rooms. The room itself was very nice. The air conditioning worked, it was spacious enough, spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy. There were fluffy towels and plenty of toiletries on offer. However, what I really didn't like was the wetroom. We appeared to have been assigned a disabled room as there was an emergency cord, hand rails etc in the bathroom and because it was a wetroom the floor was constantly awash. Our grown-up children had a twin room next door and they had a shower cubicle - much better. Better still would have been a bath. I assumed that all rooms just had showers but since coming back I have read on tripadvisor that some people actually had jacuzzi baths - the unfairness of it all!! I would have been happy with an ordinary bath! Breakfast was fine if a little uninspiring. Be aware that if you ask for tea you get a pot of boiling water so pick up the tea bag and milk yourself. Staff were friendly and free wi-fi is available. Expensive, but then so are all of the hotels in Venice.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room without a wetroom if you don't like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    174
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
320
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We just returned from Europe after a couple of weeks. In Venice we stayed at the Domina Home Ca' Zusto Hotel. It was amazing from start to finish. We took a boat from the airport with Viator and they dropped us off at the wharf Riva de Basio which ended up being about 75 meters from the hotel. Upon entry we were greeted by the manager who was charming and very helpful explaining everything - from restaurants to getting around.

In very polite terms he told us to get lost - that's the way you find Venice. And he was completely correct. After a day we didn't even use the map. If you look on the buildings as you walk along there are yellow signs indicating in what direction you are travelling.

Back to the hotel, it is a very old building and they have done some amazing renovations inside without spoiling things. It took 8 years to get approval. The colours are not what we would have at home but they work. They are colours and fun. Rooms are a reasonable size, breakfast is very good. Any other questions we needed to ask where answered by the staff. And the place was very quiet at night as it was out of the main drag.

So I suppose the main features are - well located without having noisy crowds too close, very comfortable, good amenities, good breakfast, handy to restaurants and supermarket. good value for money.

Highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Having arrived to Venice by train we were very hot and needed a rest. You can only imagine our happiness in being lead to a beautiful, green themed, room in this stunning little hotel. The most comfy bed we slept in during our whole Italian vacation, a breakfast fit for a king and all set in a beautiful area. We were worried after reading the tour guides that Venice was going to be like 'Disneyland with Canals' but the Domina is situated in a lovely quiet area, surrounded by local restaurants and shops. A far cry from the hustle and bustle of the Rialto Bridge, that's for sure!

We will shall be returning to Venice and when we do we shall defiantly be returning to the Domina Home Ca'Zusto!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just stayed for 4 nights with my wife. On check-in Georgia at the front desk was a huge help in identifying places we could eat that were celiac friendly. The best of which is the Alba Nova Restaurant right around the corner.
The hotel is easy to walk to from the S. Lucia Train Station. But if you have large bags recommend you take the water taxi. The hotel is set away from all the tourist area which means it is very peaceful at night. But claw enough to walk to everything. The rooms are smOldering but well furnished. Overall a great place to stay. We will definitely be returning to Venice and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

nice little hotel 10 mins walk from main train station. checkin was easy and we were given city map and lots of tips. staff helful and friendly for our entire visit. the room itself was rather small and quite dark. cleanliness was an issue - lots of dust and dirt on the floor and behind curtains and under the bed. rest of the room was clean. free internet provided also but only on level 1 in the breakfast room. wifi is valid for 2 hours only then you need another ticket. this breakfast/internet room really needed tea and coffee making facilities or a vending machine. the breakfast itself was simple but of good quality and included everything required. hotel is overall of good quality and i would recommend this hotel to anybody - room size isnt a major issue because venice has so much to offer you spend most of the time outdoors. hotel is close to restaurants and 10 mins walk to rialto and easy 25 mins walk to the main square.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked this hotel having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was located to the north of the island, a two minute walk from River de Biaso Water bus stop. The train station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We recommend coming into Venice by AVTO airport coach to Piazza Roma! You can then take the Water bus and get off after two stops or walk for a further 20 minutes - have you maps ready folks!
The Hotel was spotless and the Breakfast buffet was not bad. The air conditioner worked, rooms were beautifully decorated and the bathroom was small but well equipped.
High speed internet is available on the first floor only and you must get a password to log in every two hours. This was a little inconvenient
The Hotel staff were very helpful, especially Lana who even recommended places to eat and shop!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel is good value in a good location. The room was modern, bright and large (for Venice). The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was lovely.
Our room was on the ground floor so we kept the curtains closed so that passers by couldn't see in! We were in a wheelchair accessible room (not requested) so the bathroom was large but it was a wet room and it lived up to it's name! The floor was wet constantly.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for a trip to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domina Home Ca' Zusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Home Ca' Zusto

Address: Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Home Ca' Zusto 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Domina Home Ca' Zusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Ca` Zusto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domina Home Ca' Zusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.