We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine enough...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Methis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Methis Hotel to your Saves list
Methis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riviera Paleocapa 70 | Padova, 35141 Padua, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Padua
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fine enough...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for a two days of business and tourism (my 4 dots is really a rounded up 3.5). The staff was professional and helpful, and the wifi worked (and for my reservation, at least, was free). The location was a bit further from the center of town than I would have liked, but Padua is a beautiful and walkable city, so can't really complain.

Pros:
-Liked the modern design, clean.
-Nice, professional, helpful staff (fluent in English, which is great, since my Italian is poor).

Cons:
-Pillows were a bit hard for my taste.
-On the pricy side for what it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    35
    16
    2
See reviews for
11
51
12
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

i spent a weekend at this really nice hotel. staff is very friendly and helpful. the hotel is located on a very quiet area so is very good if you want to relax while you are on holiday. the city centre is in walking distance so I would say that is the best thing. i would recommend this hotel to anyone. had a great time here. thank you for all the staff as well for their help.

Room Tip: good location, walking distance about 15 mins, helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East of England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Methis is located near the city centre, yet this is still a good 15 minutes walking distance from the historic buildings. The hotel sits in the broad category of boutique/design, with colour themes for each floor. However, the furbishing, at least in our room, was rather unimpressive. The bathroom suffered most from this attempt at giving a 'fire' (the colour theme for the floor) atmosphere, giving the impression of awaiting a second layer of paint on those walls to even out the surface and colour. The shower area was ill-conceived with the glass panel still letting water flow onto the floor. Short supply of towels did not help either. There is free in-room wi-fi: unfortunately it was down on the last morning, right when you want to check-in online, and calling the front desk had apparently no effect on this.
Did not explore much of the service, but check-in and check-out were reasonably friendly, and it was easy to get a taxi at check-out. Small glitch at check-in with the reservation, not necessarily to be blamed on the hotel, although, once again, it would have been nice not to explain me the policy (I'll soon be able to write a textbook with all these lectures on hotel policies - beware that my policy may be not to come back for another lecture).
Overall, despite the spacious room (superior), I was not convinced by the overall atmosphere and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurentides, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A stayed at this cute property, during a business trip in summer 2013. The hotel is a minimalist structure, located on a very quiet area of this delightful Northern Italian city. Still very close to the magnificent piazzas and famous monuments, to allow very good Italian quality of life. I recommend it as hidden gem, also for the charming hospitality of the owner and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grootlo, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice colour themes for each floor of the hotel. Good rooms with shower - no bathtub. Good breakfast as well and you can park your car in a closed off parking at the back of the building. The city center is at walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed only one night in a junior suite. The room was very very nice :) I love the modern furnishing, all solid white, and the jacuzzi bathtube. Service was excellent, location was great but I feel it is a bit overpriced (300euro/night).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewellis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My son and I stayed here for two nights in late June. The hotel was fairly nice, though a bit strange. My room -- a junior suite decorated in solid white -- was very pretty, restful and comfortable. The enormous terrace and the splendid view of the river and Galileo's specola were unexpected but grand surprises. My son's room, however, was a little shabby. A standard room on the "blue floor," it was pretty small and had few of the amenities that I enjoyed in my suite. More importantly, the carpet, paint and furniture showed their age, as did the upholstery in the lobby and breakfast room.

The front desk staff was unfailingly helpful with directions and recommendations. They couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. Breakfast was generous and lovely, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Methis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methis Hotel

Address: Riviera Paleocapa 70 | Padova, 35141 Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Padua
#4 Business Hotel in Padua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Padua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Methis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methis Hotel situato lungo le rive del Naviglio, nelle vicinanze della "Specola" Osservatorio Astronomico di Galilei, a pochi passi dal centro storico di Padova. Le 48 stanze distribuite in 4 piani, si differenziano nei colori avorio e marrone, rosso, azzurro e blu fino al quarto piano, Aria, con 7 Junior Suite in bianco e argento, con Jacuzzi e terrazzo. La palestra, la sala congressi fino a 55 posti ed il parcheggio completano i servizi a disposizione dei nostri ospiti.Per una completa descrizione del nostro hotel ed i suoi servizi Vi invitiamo a visitare il nostro sito. Methis Hotel is located in the historical centre of Padua, one of the most important art centre of the Veneto . The 59 rooms (52 double/twin and 7 Junior Suite) are distributed on the 4 floors, each one distinguished by one of the 4 elements which leads the guest, floor by floor, according to a definite way made by the senses. On first floor we have a versatile fitness centre at your disposal, where you can find the essential equipment for keeping fit. A meeting room for 60 people and a Parking behind the hotel are at disposal of our guests.For a complete description of our hotel and its services, we suggest to visit our web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Methis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methis Hotel Padua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Methis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.