We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path - beat a path to get there!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria La Romana

Gelateria La Romana
Corso Milano, 83 | Ang. Via Del Livello, 7, 35139 Padua, Italy
+39 049 799 5625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Ice Cream in Padua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Italian, Creperie, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Romana gelato parlour was born in the heart of the historic centre of Rimini in 1947, receiving the name of the founder's daughter. A few years later Vito Zucchi, progenitor of the family, took over the enterprise. Thanks to his fervent creativity and the use of a few ingredients then available, he created a wide range of high-quality flavours which are still made in our stores today. For this reason, we offer traditional flavours made exclusively with selected products, following old recipes of the past.
Portimao, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path - beat a path to get there!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were slightly put off by not seeing great mounds of ice cream, as is typical in Italy. The ice cream in this gelateria is kept covered. My husband had two scoops as "antipasti" before we went for lunch (a restaurant recommended by the adorable server at the gelateria) and then we returned for another scoop for dessert. It's just that good. We've sampled the pistachio in several Italian cities, but there is no doubt this was the best. Please do NOT confuse the poor excuse for pistachio flavored ice cream in the US or UK with real Italian pistachio ice cream!

There is a huge selection of other ice cream products available here (on a stick, in cake form, etc.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    125
    30
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was amazing; we were staying at the Plaza Hotel opposite and therefore found it almost by chance. We both love ice cream and rated this the best we had every tasted. We tried almost everything in the three days were in Padua - crepes to die for with fruit and ice cream - ice cream deserts that were works of art and, of course, a terrific variety of ice creams. All were very good value - certainly very cheap compared with South of France where we went to the following week. If you're in Padua you must visit this place - food fit for the gods - I forgot to mention - with service to match. Absolutely Fabulous!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The most amazing ice cream sold here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The ice cream sold here is beyond belief it's simply fabulous! It doesn't matter what time you visit it's always busy and the flavours, well you would have to go and see for yourself!
There are a lot of Italians that buy ice creams here and family's out for a stroll. the staff are very friendly and offer 'tasters' if you are not sure what you would like.
We were in Padova for four days and had ice cream here for three of those days .... don't think our waistlines would have coped if we had been there any longer!
Do visit if you are in Padova, it is a little more expensive than other Gelateria's but boy it's worth every Euro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't get enough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Since its opening, I am pretty sure that I've tried all the flavours available! In my opinion "Biscotto della Nonna" and "Croccantino all'amarena" are definitely the best, but I also like Dark Chocolate and Mint. All flavours are soooo creamy and tasty...slurp!
The atmosphere is nice, there are about 20 seats inside and the staff is welcoming and offers you free samples if you are not sure of which flavour to choose. It's a little bit more expensive than other gelaterias, but I think it's worth it.
And do not forget to try the crêpes and the Sicilian-style granitas!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best icecream without any shadow of a doubt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went to the store in Rome during my week stay as it was nearby my hotel. The store was full of customers every night and the clientel was mainly Italians with the occational tourist popping in once in a while during the evening.
The first time my travel companion and I went in, we ordered 2 scoops each and it was heaven. The next evening we ordered a small box where would can have three flavours and the evening after that, we ordered another small box with three new flavours, every flavour superior by far compared to the other galaterias in Rome we went to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Romana also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Gelateria La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.