We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options in Padua” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 255, 35121 Padua, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Padua
Albany New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better Options in Padua”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I chose the hotel after reading the reviews, and because of the location. After my stay, I wondered whether I was in the same place others stayed. I wouldn't stay at the Eden again. I have been to Italy numerous times and stayed in a variety of accommodations. This is one of the two poorest values ever.

All the surfaces are hard, and the ceilings are high. Noise echoes throughout. Street and rear courtyard noise starts early and ends late.

I don't expect Italians to put up with my poor Italian (though most do), but I do expect a hotel that advertises English as a language spoken to have someone at the desk with a degree of competency. That was not the case.

There is no elevator and not help with bags. Be prepared to lug you own luggage up two long flights per floor.

Breakfast is skimpy and unappealing

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta_Fincato, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hi, thank you for letting us your comment to give us the possibility to answer you ,such a way.
The owners Andrea and Simonetta and all the staff are asking the same question that you has placed in the review. But it has really you stayed with us?
Certainly we can not please everyone and we have no claim to a 5-star hotel, being a star (since you travel a lot , you should also be aware that hotels with a star do not include the lift, which we go writing on site) and we are always available to help the customer with his hand luggage.
Remember that our property is part of a building '600, that's why its ceilings are high, as in all the historic homes of Padua, it is a particularity of the Italian medieval and Renaissance houses.
At the reception there are the owners who speak English, they will not have an American accent, but well understood your language.
As for breakfast, as we indicate often, we have added a "corner" all sweet in addition to fresh brioche pastries and a wide selection of coffee fresh and not of vending machine with water and powder (perhaps you preferred to drink water and powder at will)
The corner includes: biscuits, jam and butter, nutella, fruit juice, water, cookies and tarts and plum cake
Everything is made ​​to understand in the price
Greetings from the wonderful Padua!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
16
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice and cheap hotel close to the city center. Actually you don't need any transport. The location is good but it's hard to find. Endless labyrinth of one way streets. The hotel has a parking for 8 Eur per day but it is not a simple task to get to it or you have to take a chance of driving very narrow one way street to the opposite direction. The breakfast is quite pour but we were informed about and it was not a surprise. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Two sockets in the room. TV in Italian only. Towels were very thin, like disposable.
The staff is very polite and ready to assist in every question.

Room Tip: There is no lift so as higher you stay so hard to get to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta_Fincato, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente, lieti di ritrovarla qui.
Scegliere un albergo in pieno centro storico in una citta medievale e con vie a senso unico , spesso non è così semplice da raggiungere.
Ma la sua posizione centrale è sicuramente un punto a favore, in quanto l'auto non viene usata e tutte le principali attrazioni turistiche, mostre e altro , possono essere raggiunti in poco tempo a piedi .
Un saluto caloroso da Padova!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently spent one night at the Eden Hotel before returning home and would recommend it to anyone looking for good value budget accommodation in Padua. Our room and bathroom were large and very clean and breakfast took the form of the basic continental. The hotel is located in one of the older, narrower streets with the Basilica of St Anthony and the Botanic gardens being nearby. The amount we paid to be able to stay in the centre of such an historic city, in a clean and comfortable hotel makes this a very good value option in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta_Fincato, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Google Translation
Salve e lieti di ritrovarla.
Leggere il suo commento è sempre una gran sorpresa e una conferma dei sacrifici fatti sia dai proprietari Andrea e Simonetta e tutto lo staff , una vera famiglia.
Ha riassunto brevemente chi siamo e i nostri servizi, ci auguriamo di poterla rivedere ancora .
Saluti da Padova!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We took the il burchiello river cruise from padua to Venice. We hopped off at oriago and walked to the piazza where we found Eden. A beautiful pizza restaurant. Spotless in side and the waiter was so accommodating. He was about to shut but reopened just for us. So glad he did.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a family run hotel with character and charming owners. It is peaceful, with restaurants and small cafes and shops nearby but also close to the great Basilica of Sant'Antonio, the Botanic garden and transport to the train and bus stations.The rooms come in all combinations, are immaculate, comfortable and the glorious jasmine which was in flower during my stay in May perfumed the whole floor where my room was located. I saw 2 single rooms which are smaller but very welcome when one is on a budget. The breakfast is basic but many people are perfectly happy with this. These little family -run hotels are disappearing and this one is a jewel for those who want character and humanity in a hotel and not all the unnecessary fripperies of modern anonymous hotels. This is my home in Padua. Delightful.

Room Tip: Read the description. There is no lift so if this is a problem ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta_Fincato, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Sig.a Miranda,
Andrea e Simonetta in primis e tutto lo staff la ringraziano per averci lasciato questo graditissimo commento. Non poteva farci un complimento più bello ,ossia nello scrivere che l'Albergo Eden è la "sua casa" .
Spesso nella vita si capisce l'importanza delle cose proprio quando ci vengono a mancare, e quando le ritrovi in qualsiasi parte del mondo viene facile ritrovare una certa serenità , tanto da sentirsi completamente a proprio agio.
Grazie ancora e l'aspettiamo presto , un saluto accorato da Padova!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Firstly; this is a very much 'Italian' Hotel, short of the frills you would expect from a hotel chain - however you are aware that you are staying in a foreign hotel not in an identikit room from anywhere.... If you look beyond the decor, the staff are friendly, the beds comfy and the shower very good. We stayed in the quad room which was a good size, and had an air conditioning unit which shames most bigger hotels in the fact that it is quiet and actually works! Breakfast is just a pastry and a cup of coffee, but you are only a 10 minute walk from the historic centre of Padua.
Pros - cheap, clean, good location, good size room and pleasant staff
Cons - rooms basic, curtains wouldn't close!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel so you get a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta_Fincato, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Customer,

we are pleased to find her. His comment, much appreciated by the owners Andrea and Simonetta and by all the staff, enables us to be able to improve our services and to continue on this line.
The family environment that we offer places his lens on the ability to make the customer feel just like in a family.
For breakfast we are expanding choice, juices, to toast with jam and nutella, to jam tarts and pastries fresh from a bakery delivered straight days of Padua.
We hope to welcome you another time.
Greetings from Padua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I arrived late in the evening by train with no reservation. The people at Eden were very polite and helpful to give me a very suitable room on the spot at a very reasonable rate. The room was clean and tidy, the bathroom as well.
The top floor room (attic?) had no normal windows, but it was fine.
Location is convenient, about 10 minutes walk to the station. Not too many dining options were open, but I was able to find a decent meal not far away.
Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEden255, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,

la ringraziamo per averci lasciato il suo commento. Tutto lo staff dell' Eden , dai proprietari Andrea e Simonetta, dai portieri notturni Antonio e Luigi , al personale ai piani Stella e Olga, la ringraziamo personalmente e l'attendono per ospitarla ancora.
Le auguriamo tutti noi, un buon prosieguo.

La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 255, 35121 Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Eden 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Padua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.