We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute family run good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giotto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giotto to your Saves list
Hotel Giotto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   pl. Pontecorvo, 33, 35121 Padua, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Padua
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cute family run good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

It's a small family-run hotel, small, well located. Inexpensive, clean. Friendly personnel. Could be easily improved (eg. the hangers in the armoire! Change them!) but it's nice nonetheless. Nice breakfast. Good restaurants nearby, including a good pizzeria next door. Free wifi (average speed).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    98
    60
    16
    8
See reviews for
68
65
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Hotel is located at the enterance of the old city walls. Very easy reach and with private parking. Hotel is conveniently located to all the attractions of Centro Storica. Rooms are nice and clean with no outside view. Breakfast is average. Staff is friendly. In some of the rooms, like ours, the beds have bronze or metal heads and ends (which look nice by the way) which can be dangerous at night as you can easly scrach yourself. They have free wi-fi but you must look for places with good reception in your room and around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I stayed in the Giotto Hotel for 4 nights. The room was clean. It had a desk, fridge, TV, big wardrobe and there was enough room for my luggage. The bathroom was just the right size. Breakfast was served in the reception hall and the room next to it. It was very good and you could choose from ham, cheese, rolls, sweet pastries, yoghurt, milk, cake, boiled eggs, different fruit, and lots of kinds of coffee.
The a/c was switched off completely so the only way to lower the temperature was to open the balcony door. But that was the only drawback.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluzzo, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Excellent location (5 min walk from the Sant'Antonio basilica and a 10 min walk from the city center) and the fact that we were perfectly happy with the price-quality ratio it offers. The room is average of size (certainly not too small) and has airco, wifi and a safe deposit. The bathroom is well equipped. Excellent shower! Breakfast is more than OK according to Italian standards. The hotel had a very convenient, closed parking area very nearby (30 m away at the roundabout with a daily price of € 9 for the parking. the wifi in the room is not of the highest quality: speed can be increased; codes need to be re-entered every time when starting up your mobile device; Anyhow, I remain very happy with this hotel. Price is unbeatable and I will certainly return to this hotel when we return to the lovely city of Padova.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierluigi_mazzucato, Proprietario at Hotel Giotto, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente , grazie della sua recensione . Siamo veramente felici che Lei abbia apprezzato le caratteristiche dell'Hotel Giotto di Padova . Hotel centrale , camere ampie e pulite , ottima insonorizzazione . Wi fi eccellente e gratuito . Ampio parcheggio riservato ai clienti con un supplemento .Colazione abbondante e varia . Personale sempre disponibile . Cordiali saluti , Sante Russo Direttore Commerciale Hotel Giotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

It was the second time this year my wife and I stayed in this hotel. We chose it because of its excellent location (5 min walk from the Sant'Antonio basilica and a 10 min walk from the city center) and the fact that we were perfectly happy with the price-quality ratio it offers.
We asked for the same room (nr. 202) which has a small balcony that gives out on the piazza. The room is average of size (certainly not too small) and has airco, wifi and a safe deposit. The bathroom is rather small, but reasonably well equipped. Excellent shower!
Breakfast is more than OK according to Italian standards.
This time we came by car and I was very happy to find out that the hotel had a very convenient, closed parking area very nearby (30 m away at the roundabout). I felt perfectly OK with a daily price of € 9 for the parking.
A couple of annoying things should be improved to make your stay even more perfect:
- you have to explicitly ask to switch on the airco. We stayed for three nights and we had to ask on our third night to (re)switch it on again, which is quite annoying. Why not simply leave it up to the guests to switch on the airco from within the room? The system automatically switches off if any of the rooms are left open, so why bother?
- the wifi in the room is not of the highest quality: speed can be increased; codes need to be re-entered every time when starting up your mobile device; codes are only valid for a limited time-period (mostly 24 or 48 hours) and need to be renewed at the front desk. Why not simply attribute a code for the duration of the hotel stay?
Anyhow, we remain very happy with this hotel. Price is unbeatable: we paid € 87 per night (incl. € 9 for the car parking) which is an excellent price-quality ratio in my opinion for what you get. We will certainly return to this hotel when we return to the lovely city of Padova.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierluigi_mazzucato, Proprietario at Hotel Giotto, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente , grazie della sua recensione . In linea generale abbiamo notato che Lei si è trovato molto bene durante il suo soggiorno . I suoi consigli sono stati molto utili e servono per offrire un sempre miglior servizio al cliente . Cordiali saluti , Sante Russo Direttore Commerciale Hotel Giotto Padova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked a room in this hotel well in advance (last year) for it's proximity to the Basilica, asking for a room accommodating my 75 year old mother. When we arrived, the receptionist said that they don't have rooms and cannot accommodate us. They placed us in Hotel Maritan, managed by the same company. Hotel Maritan was far from the Basilica, difficult for my 75 year old mother to walk around. The staff at the reception was unnecessarily arrogant, pretending not to speak English when they did not want to answer a question. They spoke really well the language when they charged the credit card.
The bed sheets were not changed for four days, only the towels.
The hotel is next to a hospital, ambulance sirens can be heard constantly, therefore rest was next to impossible.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room facing the courtyard of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Been few times in this hotel. First time was ok, good room and everything was ok. Second time they give us not so good room, WiFi connection didn't work as well and breakfast was ok. I will try some other hotel in this price range next time when go to Padova.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Address: pl. Pontecorvo, 33, 35121 Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giotto is in a historic building 300 metres from the famous Prato della Valle, charming square in the heart of Padua. The Basilica is also nearby. The rooms offer free wired internet. Giotto Hotel is family run. Professional and multilingual staff can provide tourist and travel information. All rooms are air-conditioned and soundproofed. Each features a private bathroom with shower. The hotel is 400 metres from the nearest bus stop with connections to Padua Train Station, 2 km away. The Azienda Ospedaliera di Padova hospital is a 5-minute walk away. Private parking is available. Private parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.