We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts not so good in others!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maison Saint Jean to your Saves list
Hotel Maison Saint Jean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Dolonne 18, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good in parts not so good in others!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Great location, nice hotel but we were on half board and the food was really very poor. often arriving tepid - not the sort of food wanted after skiing! You could go for the a la carte menu but very expensive. Very annoyed at the surprise extra cost for use of the pool at €15 pp in a party of 8 of us! The waitresses were accomodating . The wine list is excellent and the manager does come to his fore when it comes to helping with the wine. Needed to work on laptop and used their WiFi, again quite expensive €6 per hour.
Maybe we were just unlucky but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
45
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We enjoyed a great Christmas ski holiday at this hotel. It's a family run hotel where the staff and owners could not be more helpful or courteous. The rooms are amply sized, we were in two families (one five people, the other three) and would recommend it to any family size or group whatever the purpose of your stay. The hotel is dead central relatively close to both the ski lifts and a two minute walk from the pedestrianised area including VIa Roma. Food was of a consistently high standard with local dishes featuring almost nightly. Have not had a better morning coffee anywhere. The owner has a very deep interest and expertise in wines the extensive wine list may be too extensive when thirsty, however the advice given about your choice was delivered sincerely and usually followed by a fine tasting wine.

  • Liked — They presented a higher service than you would expect from a three star rating.
  • Disliked — Lack of fantastic
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed at Maison Saint Jean for 7 nights in January and our experience here was amazing.

The staff were fabulous - they couldn't have been more accommodating. We were getting married in Courmayeur and they were so helpful and friendly, they really made us feel at home and part of their family.

Our room was just beautiful and the view from our balcony was breathtaking - the perfect background for some wedding photos and to wake up to every morning.

The food was delicious! Breakfast every morning before we went skiing and a 3 course dinner that was different every night. The staff's knowledge of wine was extremely comprehensive and they even stocked wine from Australia (where we come from).

We loved the hydromassage pool, sauna and steam room - it was great to have these amentities to help us recover after our days of skiing.

Even the bathroom amentities were great and included a lovely shower gel that was package in a size that lasted the duration of our stay and a package of products that included a hair-band and cotton tips, which were very handy.

The location was excellent - we could walk to the bus station, cable car and the main pedestrian area where a lot of the restaurants and shops are located. Their is a mini supermarket close by and fromagery diagonally opposite and next door was our favourite pizzeria - "du Tunnel"

My husband and I absolutely loved Hotel Maison Saint Jean and Courmayeur and would return to there in a heart beat. We were actually sad to leave and wish that we had extended our stay.

  • Liked — The staff and our hotel room
  • Disliked — No communal computer for internet access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

For a 3 star hotel this was above average. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was of a high standard too. Importantly they really tired to accommodate the more restricted diet of our daughter so that each night she ate well. They also have a fantastic range of wines to suit every palate and budget. The pool and facilities were great, although i agree with the other reviewer that it would be better if the charge was included.

Altogether a lovely place and very good for families

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for three nights with a large group. The rooms were quite nice and comfy. We even had the apartment with kitchenette which was convenient for morning coffee and snacks. Lovely furnishings. Felt like we were in a villa. The pool was an extra 13 euros to use per person on a daily basis. Didn't understand why, so decided against it. The meals were bland and unappetizing.
Would stay in this area again, but find other small hotels in nearby Dolonne, a medieval town a stone's throw across the river.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maison Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Saint Jean

Address: Vicolo Dolonne 18, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maison Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maison Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Saint Jean Courmayeur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison Saint Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.