We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maison Saint Jean to your Saves list
Hotel Maison Saint Jean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Dolonne 18, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Courmayeur
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived in Courmayeur from France for a 1 night stay at Hotel Maison. This was our 1st time in Italy and the area is really lovely. The hotel was really beautiful with a rustic feel. Rooms were quite large, very clean. We had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening. Breakfast was included and quite good. We enjoyed exploring the town the following morning before leaving. We had no itinerary for our next 2 days in Italy so the owner of the hotel recommended visiting Alba as they were having their annual truffle festival. He advised that the area was very lovely, good wine, food and a fun place to visit during this time. And, he was spot on! We really appreciated the advice. Would definitely stay if visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
49
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a long weekend here in February and were delighted with our choice. Excellent rooms with SKY TV (essential for watching the 6 nations !) , superb breakfast , clean and highly attentive staff.

The use of the swimming pool was an additional cost which was a bit maughty but will be retrning here next season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is such a sweet hotel and in such a good location. The family rooms are perfect and really comfortable and big. Aldo and the rest of his staff were so welcoming and helpful. We really felt at home here. It was lovely to put the kids to bed and have a drink in the hotel's sitting room confident with the kids' safety. It was our third time in Courmayeur, which we love but our first time in this hotel but not our last. As we left we booked for next year which says it all. The food at the restaurant was excellent too.

Room Tip: All good, some rooms at the back have the view of the mountails and the rooms at the front of the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Staff is very helpful and nice, rooms are clean and comfortable, with large bed and they are very warm, in typical Valle d'Aosta style.
Unfortunately I could not try the restaurant which seems to be very good.
breakfast is rich enough for any kind of traveller worldwide.
Parking is not very large but you can manage that if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUROPE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel, which is superbly located run by very friendly and nice people...Very rustic...highly recommendable! Courmayeur is a fantastic place for those who wish to visit. I was before in Courmayeur during the winter period but in summer it is as fantastic as in winter..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

i had eaten at the Aria restaurant on my last trip to Courmayeur and loved the food and atmosphere.So when the family decided to have a quick ski break after new year we thought we would give the hotel a go.We were not dissapointed the adjoining rooms were great as was the pool and spa area.I read reviews moaning about the half board option, i cannot understand the portion issue we had a pasta dish, main and desert every night and any request was happily accommodated,also we upgraded a couple a nights to a la carte at little extra cost.Overall a superb three star hotel very close to the centre of town with lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

hotel nice, rooms good, very helpful and pleasant staff. The food and breakfast coffee however were basic, 2 stars only and not the "finest". We were seduced by the description in the brochure and fortunately only stayed a week. the portions were meagre and reminded me of school dinners. Next year I will read reviews of any hotels that I am thinking of visiting. A hard leson to have learnt.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maison Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Saint Jean

Address: Vicolo Dolonne 18, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maison Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maison Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Saint Jean Courmayeur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison Saint Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.