We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did you expect? The Ritz?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale Courmayeur

Hotel Centrale Courmayeur
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale Courmayeur to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale Courmayeur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mario Puchoz, 7, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
london
1 review
“What did you expect? The Ritz?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The fact is when you consider skiing accomodation, you consider proximity to lifts, cost, facilities in that order...Unless of course you are a "get up at 10 ...probably skiing by 11" kind of skier. Having read some of the reviews prior to taking my girlfriend and children, I was ready to accept something less than satisfactory. (it was italian holidays and i was running out of options) I was pleasantly surprised by the position, the staff and the quality. For those of you who can remember school ski trips in the 80's on monarch air when the walk to the lifts with boots and skis was not much less than 2 miles, the walk to the main cable car from this hotel is honestly 10 minutes max. The fact that lockers and ski, boot & board rental is available up at the main ski area means you dont have to negotiate the walk with all your gear. The staff were very friendly and not at all like the previous reviewers here. They were very helpful and spke very good english.....not that we were deterred. Our Italian got an outing. The hotel is very clean and typically alpine. Tiled floors, dark wooden doors....a bit of an echo wherever you were. Breakfast was ok but not great. To be honest the view from the restaurant window was too good and we were up and out by 8 everyday. We were lucky with the weather. Deep blue skies everyday bar the last when it snowed. Skiing was pretty good for a long weekend (4 days) but not for 2 weeks. Several blacks, a host of reds with co terminating blues. The village itself is very well looked after and very charming with a fair choice of places to eat. By the way The hotel is 100 yards from the main high street.(pedestrianised?) Note book restaurant on saturday nights but dont bother with the mountain restaurants...take your chances...there are at least 12 mountain top eateries......All in all Hotel Centrale is a 3* hotel no more, no less. watch out for the check in clerks recomendations for places to eat...they are more likely to be a fair walk away and related to him but what did you expect....the Ritz?

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
2
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

we booked for two single rooms for last minute ski trip
arrived on sun left early thurs and the hotel worked great for us
we found staff very helpful
breakfast is weak continental ,could do with up grading quality if going to attract skiers,
hotel is basic but good value
parking is good ,location is good but walk to lift means need to hire ski locker at bottom of mountain

  • Liked — value location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

In July, 2007, I was hiking the Tour du Mont Blanc with two adult children, and we found ourselves in downtown Courmayeur with a 2-night hotel reservation that had somehow fallen through. At the central bus station we found an extensive hotel board with hotel names and red or green lights indicating whether rooms were available. We phoned the Centrale and arranged for a room.
The hotel's location was perfect: right in the center of the town. Our room was lovely with stunning views of Mont Blanc towering over the slate roofs of the village. The size of the room was adequate for 3 adults with hiking gear. The hotel’s 3-start rating seem to be well deserved.
But location is not everything. The individual at the reception desk had quoted us a price for 2 adults over the telephone. When I reminded him that we were 3 adults, he said, “That will be no problem: the price will be slightly more.” When we received our bill upon checking out “slightly” turned out to be exactly double.
We needed to launder out hiking clothes before continuing on the second half of the Tour du Mont Blanc, and quickly learned that Courmayeur, unlike other villages in the Alps, had no public laundry facilities. We asked the manager before noon if he could have our laundry done at the hotel. His reply was that it could be problematic: maybe yes, maybe no. We inquired later that evening as to the status of our laundry, and he basically avoided the issue. The next morning we finally received our laundry at 10:30, which put us resuming the hike around noon.
Because our hotel bill was twice what we were quoted over the telephone and that the manager’s uncooperative attitude bordered on rudeness, we will never again stay in Hotel Centrale in Courmayeur. This hotel certainly deserves its 3-star rating, but travelers will be surprised at the 4-star costs of staying there.
My advice for travelers would be to stay in one of the wonderful, quaint 2-star hotels 5 kilometers north of Courmayeur, in La Palud.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost and attitude of manager
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

The Hotel Centrale certainly lives up to its name. It its located slap bang in the center of Courmayeur, about 20 metres from the Via Roma.

But thats where the positives end. The rooms are basic enough and very clean. There is a daily maid service also.

Breakfast is a standard enough fare of the usual selections in a continental breakfast buffet. A cooked breakfast is available at an additional charge.

Lunch is not served. Dinner is not served in this hotel. The Bar is not staffed, and is served by whoever is on reception. That is if they are not watching tv in the guests' tv room! On one occasion we got a pizza takeaway and some wine and brought our "picnic" to the bar in the Centrale.

The only English channel on the hotels tv's is CNN, which had a very bad reception.

All in all, the Centrale is a decent enough hotel, but do not expect top service or facilities. It is a great spot in terms of its location.

  • Liked — Its central location
  • Disliked — Restaurant was closed after breakfast. Bar was never staffed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale Courmayeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Courmayeur

Address: Via Mario Puchoz, 7, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale Courmayeur 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Centrale Courmayeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale Courmayeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.