We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for ski trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bouton d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Bouton d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Bouton d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 26, no. 10 | Strada Statale 26, no 10, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for ski trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Bouton D'Or was perfect for a 5-day ski trip to Courmayeur. It is situated really well: a short walk into the centre of town for all the restaurants and not too far from the ski lifts either. The hotel itself is lovely - very homely, with delicious breakfasts and nice rooms and bathrooms. The couple who run the hotel make it all the better though - they were so kind and helpful, and even do personal shuttle runs to the ski lifts every day if you don't want to walk. Courmayeur itself is a lovely ski resort - the friendliest I've ever been to - with great restaurants and ambience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    51
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
116
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a super long weekend in the Bouton D'Or between Christmas and New Year and have to say the hotel is fabulous. When returning to Courmayeur I will not look beyond this hotel it was so enjoyable. There are several things that made this hotel so special : the care and attention of the owners Patrizia and Andrea (nothing was too much trouble and they were so welcoming and friendly), the homely and relaxing atmosphere with comfortable surroundings (attention to detail and traditional furnishings), the charming and spotlessly clean bedrooms, and the wonderful breakfasts.
Having read Tripadvisor reports before we booked I have to say we were not disappointed. On top of the things listed above there were all the little extras : having breakfast available early for us on the day of departure, the shuttle service to the ski lift (a quick 4 minutes and Andrea was always at hand to bring us over so we never had to wait), the advice on family friendly restaurants, proximity to the shops and restaurants in town and the large but cosy lounge area with log fire and cold Prosecco :)
Suited to couples , families and single travellers, honestly, if you are considering hotels in Courmayeur look no further, this hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel in the heart of Courmayeur. We were here for 7 nights and absolutely loved it, it felt like being at home! The hosts are very welcoming and nothing felt like too much trouble. Breakfast is amazing as is the bar/sitting room for a pre or post dinner drink.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Bouton d'Or just under two weeks ago for one night, as a stop over on our way from London to Tuscany. The location is ideal - just a few minutes walking from the centre of Courmayeur and it's restaurants and apres ski scene. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and hosts - including helping my husband carefully park his new 4-wheel drive (his pride and joy) in their underground car park! The rooms were charming and comfortable; a well-laid out breakfast spread set us up nicely for the six hour drive to Tuscany.
With a recent fall of snow and all of the shops and restaurants lit up for Christmas, we enjoyed a festive walk before eating nearby at a restaurant recommended by the hotel - the food and atmosphere was fantastic. The only downside was we couldn't stay for longer - but we will definitely be back on our return journey to London and look forward to staying for longer - and the opportunity to enjoy the skiing as well as the wonderful hospitality at Bouton d'Or.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Small charming hotel near the pedestrian centre and the bus station. Old family house full of nooks and crannies, fitted with tradition furniture articles made by local artisans, antique prints and pictures showing the history of the region, and nicely appointed rooms with sunny balconies.

The hotel is family run, impeccably maintained and offers exceptionally friendly and helpful service. The owners, Casale Brunet family, welcome you personally and take care of all your needs making sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. They can help choosing the best laces to see, walks to go and local restaurants to try he best of local cooking with local produce.

Delicious home-made breakfast offers terrific choice of strudels, cakes, biscuits, croissants jams, omelettes and quiches, local yoghurt, cheeses and cold meats, with the berries and vegetables coming from family own garden.

Great place to stay, can’t recommend more highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Courmayeur for the third time this past summer and, as in the first two visits, stayed at the wonderful Hotel Bouton d'Or. In fact, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in this area.
The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable, the common areas are extremely charming, the location is excellent, the breakfasts are unbelievable, and most importantly the owners, Patricia and Andrea, will make you feel right at home. No favor is too large or too small to ask of them, they will gladly help you if at all possible. Restaurant suggestions, driving directions, shopping hints, the most scenic hikes, reservations...you get the idea. They are extremely knowledgeable about Courmayeur and surrounding areas, and are more than happy to share their knowledge.
We are already looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Dent du Geant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Agree with many of the other postings that the hotel provides a great stopping point in Courmayeur on the TMB. The hotel is set a minute or so walk from the bus depot behind the Post Office. The breakfast is certainly good and an amazing selection of fruit, pastries, quiche, cakes, meat and cheese to get you ready for the day's hike. The bedroom was comfortable with room to spread out and do laundry. The owners take pride in their work and have a large collection of vintage sports fashion magazines on display which covered back into to 1920's and earlier. A good lunch was provided on request. We saw the start of the Tor des Geants in pouring rain - 330k and 30,000m vertical run. Don't miss it!. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bouton d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bouton d'Or

Address: Strada Statale 26, no. 10 | Strada Statale 26, no 10, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
#4 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bouton d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bouton d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bouton d Or
Bouton d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bouton d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.