We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would happily return!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Courmayeur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Courmayeur to your Saves list
Hotel Courmayeur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 158, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We would happily return!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Having checked out reviews etc before booking, we expected the Hotel Courmayeur to be a traditional Italian hotel, quite simple but of a good standard for its category. We were very pleased with our choice and had a most enjoyable stay. Over the years we have stayed in many ski hotels of a similar category and this one compared favourably. Our only real disappointment was that, having requested a quiet room, we found ourselves at the very back of the hotel in a room ( number 30) with a view of a 6 foot wall!! However, the room was very comfortable, with a good sized bed and attractive decor. The bathroom was well appointed with lashings of hot water. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, service in the restaurant was excellent and we found all the staff to be polite and friendly. The continental breakfast consisted of a good choice of rolls, assorted croissants, cakes, eggs, cheese, cold meat, preserves, cereals, fruit etc. The coffee was excellent. We enjoyed breakfast so much and were so full afterwards that we only needed a small snack whilst out skiing. The menu for the evening meal was always on display at breakfast time, so if anything was unsuitable you could have asked for an alternative. There was always a choice of 3 starters (eg. delicious vegetable soup/ ravioli/consomme) and 3 main courses (two meat or fish dishes and 1 vegetarian dish). To our amusement the veggie option was always some sort of egg dish but they would have done something else if asked. Dessert was always either a pudding (a choice of home made tart or similar, ice creams, fruit, creme caramel etc) or a cheese course. For the cheese course we were presented with a trolley offering an array of about a dozen different cheeses - a meal in itself!! In our opinion the food was quite simple but nicely presented and very tasty and plentiful. The reception/bar/lounge is basically one long room with lots of comfy seating and a log fire. For the first couple of days there was a problem with the fire and it was a little cold but once they got it lit the room was nice and cosy. We enjoyed the resort immensely, the skiing was varied and interesting although it is not a huge area. It is ideally suited to intermediates, not beginners. There were no queues and the slopes were lovely and quiet. The Hotel Courmayeur is better placed for the cable car than many of the other hotels, however it is still a good 5 mins walk. We took advantage of the facility to leave our skis and boots in the hire shop at the top of the cable car and this worked really well. This was our 6th ski holiday in the Aosta Valley, we absolutely love it. We intend to return and would be more than happy to stay in the Hotel Courmayeur again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony and ask for a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I referred to trip advisor prior to booking and felt comfort in the fact that all the comments were positive.Did any of you stay in room 102?
This was meant to be a standard room.It was not 3* standard by a long way.It was drab,the decor and furniture old and damaged and very dark at all times.The bathroom door had been cut to enable it to be opened past the wash basin,yes it was small.It was extremely cold as was most of the hotel during our stay.We also had the added irritation of the hotel boiler being situated beneath us and when it boomed into operation at between 4.30 and 5.00 every morning it was an unwanted alarm call and unfortunately the noise did not allow one to return to sleep hence we are still suffering from sleep deprivation.One positive point the cleaners did a good job with new towels etc. daily .When we asked to be moved to another room the man who may have been the Hotel manager flippantly smiled and informed us that he could not and in fact we were lucky as there was a room which was even worse..the so called bar was an extension of the reception and was devoid of atmosphere at all.The bar was limited and had no draught beer and if you wanted serving the person behind reception was needed.The log fire was never started because someone had used to many logs previously.A similar scenario happened in the restaurant were I heard someone ask where the Gorgonzola cheese had gone.The basic retort was" its gone" no attempt to replenish it.
In fairness most of the staff were very nice and friendly especially in the restaurant.The breakfast was poor ,the fresh fruit salad could have had a range of fruit in it and the toaster was a joke.It took an age to get something warm out of it.If everyone staying wanted toast it would be lunch before breakfast was completed.
Evening meal was quite good with nice food and a reasonable range although veal was prevalent.The position to the main street and cable car was good.
Courmayeur itself was wonderful with great skiing which was extended by the resorts of Pila and La Thuille.
Will definately return to Courmayeur but not the Hotel Courmayeur.

Room Tip: Go else where or pay much more for a decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Jan 2012 just back from a week skiing in courmayeur THIS HOTEL IS FANTASTIC . staff excellent, hotel lovely and 3 star not 4 , position excellent . lifts 2 mins ,beds the size of soccer pitches , nothing toomuch trouble , BUTthe biggie is THE FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC ,EXCELLENT, FABULOSO-SERIOUSLY I JUST CANNOT PUT IT IN WORDS and plenty of it FOOD 5 STAR!!

Room Tip: get one with no outside walls .rooms can be a bit cold sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and what a good decision! It's a very warm and cosy hotel with decor to reflect this- just what you want when your skiing.

The staff were amazing, so welcoming and friendly at all times of the day. There is a communal lounge downstairs where we sat most evenings before dinner, always got brought crisps and canopies.

The town itself is very sheik, lovely shops.

We hired a car so we could drive over to chamonix, would recommend doing this however the tunnel is expensive to cross the border if you don't have a unlimited pass but the skiing is worth it! Perfect location.

Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We enjoyed a room with sensational views out over the mountains, $1M view for sure. The breakfast was varied enough and the staff were helpful. Furnishings maybe due for an upgrade however many people would like the old worldly charm of it I'm sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the lifts in the Courmayeur city centre, just opposite Bar Rome.

If you want to go to a wonderful part of Italy and enjoy sun & winter sports Courmayeur is an ideal place for you. But please note that there 70% of red traces there and only 2 green ones.
So you should be advanced skier or snowboarder to fully enjoy it.

The hotel is great, with a great location, outstanding staff and the best cook in the world!
Every day we had a different meal and honestly I have never ever eaten that much (it was mostly because we couldn't spot our selves as the food was so great)

Definitely the best hotel in Courmayeur and we suggest it to everyone!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the Back of the hotel and on the top floor as the street near the hotel is quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great place, good location 5 minute walk to cable car, service , food, location are excellent. Very accomodating to our ski group of 16 people. I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Courmayeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courmayeur

Address: Via Roma 158, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Courmayeur 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Courmayeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Courmayeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.