We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Grand Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Le Grand Chalet to your Saves list
Residence Le Grand Chalet
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Regionale 55, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Courmayeur B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have just spent a week staying in a family apartment, spotless and spacious for our family of 5.
Marissa and all the staff are so helpful and friendly, a very relaxing experience for three families holidaying together.
Location is ideal, two minutes walk to the main lift station, an easy 5 minute stroll into town.
This was our second visit and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here April 2013, friendly staff, clean. We as a family 4 adults, had lots of space. 2 bathrooms, tidy kitchenette. After a day of skiing the Steam room, Sauna and jacuzzi was a big bonus!! Loved it

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool as such,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in March 2013 in an apartment with small kitchen. It was perfect for us; nice and clean on arrival and room was serviced every day. The location is really great as it is near to the ski lift, supermarket and town centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful - we had to borrow a shovel to dig out the car from nearby free car park which staff recommended to us.
All the family agreed that we would love to return to Courmayeur and this hotel. The wifi was unreliable in our room but that was relaxing in its own way.
There was only 1 change we would suggest - that children be allowed in hot tub until 6. We were very lucky with the weather and stayed on piste til 5pm every day so it was too late for them by the time we got back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very Well located and well kept residence. 3 minute walk to main lift station with good ski locker facilities and car park in basement. We had a wonderful week at end of March with our 3 kids aged 7,10,11. We had 2 interconnected rooms, 1 was a 1 bedroom apartment and the other a studio, both with kitchenettes. A well stocked supermarket is located 50m away and there is a lively bar that serves snacks on the ground floor. Only gripe was Wi FI service in residence needs improvement. Slow with poor coverage and complex log in.
The pedestrianised centre of the village is a 10 minute walk away. Staff are very friendly and pleasant and there is turkish bath/jacuzzi, sauna and steam room in the basement where kids are welcome till 5pm. After that, it's blissful!
We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Highly recommended. Perfect location and very good price/value ratio. 3 min walk to supermarket. 2-level underground parking available. The SKI room is kinda small, sometimes there's no free space up in here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Grand Chalet has a great location, just 100 meters from the ski lift and 300 meters from the town centre. Apart from two major flaws it's a great place to stay.
- awful smell: it struck right from arrival but one gets used to it as it's not THAT awful. However when we got back home we realised that all clothes must be washed as the smell stuck on them.
- the internet is lousy - it's slow, unreliable and one needs to insert the complicated user name and password each time a device is used.

Otherwise the place is quite nice: very friendly customer service, clean and spacious rooms with a small kitchen (although they don't provide ANY cooking or cleaning utilities, so bring your own salt, pepper, dish washing powder, etc. and go buy some olive oil if you want to cook). The spa is pretty worn and even though they say there should not be kids after 5 p.m. it's not enforced so no peace and quite over there...

Other:
- Bed was quite good and firm
- Excellent shower with plenty of warm water
- Really cold floors so better take something warm with you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Janne,
thank your for your review, I am sorry you were not completely satisfied.
I confirm we did have problems with internet due to the fact many people watch movies on stream; we just found out a solution and hope that we will guarantee a good speed soon. Thank you for your suggestion about saving passwords, I think it will not be impossible to solve this problem.
This winter we accommodated people from more than 30 different countries with their different eating habits; it meant to smell odors and aromas of various spices from early morning :-))
I hope to welcome you at Le Grand Chalet again in the future and to visit Helsinki one day.
Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Close to cable car (150m) and village centre, pedestrian area (300m). Nice and clean room, not fancy but good standard . Nice with relax in the basement after skiing. Pity that kids have to leave at 17.00 which gives them no or very little time for use of pool. Personal friendly in every way. Remember, if you want to use the small kitchen in a studio (for ex breakfast) you have to purchase common stuff like dishwash tablets/liquid, salt etc. Maybe just Swedes that are used with a simple start kit in every kitchen? :-) Skiing in Courmayeur: not for the adventurous - nice for redpist skier although the skisystem is limited, few black and blue pists. Don´t forget to visit the skisystem in La Thulie which makes a nice break from Courmayeur.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Stockholm!
thank you for your time to write your review about Le Grand Chalet.
Children can enter the spa facility until 5 pm to allow people who want to relax to enter after that time, I think it is a good compromise either for families with children than other guests.
The skiing area can be limited to expert skiers and we suggest the Aosta Valley ski pass to ski everywhere in our region. La Thuile is at just 15 km and there are free shuttles that leave 50 metres from our building. Pila is also a nice place to ski at 40 mins drive or by frequent buses.
Thank you for your suggestion, I will think about it and hope to meet you at Le Grand Chalet again in the future. My kindest regards,
Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Grand Chalet

Address: Via Regionale 55, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Grand Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand Chalet is located at 100 metres from the Courmayeur main cable car and at about 500 metres from the centre, its restaurants and nice shops. Its position means that our guests do not need to use a car. Le Grand Chalet has apartments: studios, one bedroom or two bedroom apartments offering daily cleaning, fresh sheets and towels. Each apartment has a kitchenette equipped with dishwasher, fridge, electric hob and microwave oven. Le Grand Chalet also offers a spa facility with a large Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath; bar, garage and lift. Apartments are equipped with high-spedd internet wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Grand Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.