We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, mostly positive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cervinia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Cervinia to your Saves list
Club Med Cervinia
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Strada del Piolet 6 - Cielo Alto, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, mostly positive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first time staying with Club Med and by and large we had a good time. The hotel is nicely positioned with great views of the Matterhorn from most rooms. There are very regular shuttles to town and the ski lifts. It is possible to ski in using run 13/16. The hotel itself feels a bit dated but has decent facilities (bars/restaurants/gym and spa/ski hire). Our room was nice and big with good views. Showers are old and too small. Room was well maintained daily. The hotel staff were very friendly, energetic and helpful. Georgio makes a mean cocktail behind the bar! Given that the food needs to cater for large numbers and is mostly buffet style, the quality and variety was exceptionally high. It is also nice that the hotel has a restaurant on the slopes so that one can eat "on the house" but not lose any ski time. The hotel and staff go through a lot of effort putting on shows and entertaining guests. My feeling is that this is geared towards kids and families with kids. As a group of 20/30somethings, the entertainment wasn't really pitched at us. I can see how families would enjoy it. They do a good job of keeping kids active and out their parents hair all day.

A couple of gripes:
1. The wifi. They really should include this as part of the room rate instead of charging 20 Euro's per week for it. In addition, the wifi dropped very often and one needs to reinput user name and password each time.
2. Our shuttle was an hour late in collecting us from the airport and we received no communication. We had to ask someone to call the resort on our behalf to follow up.
3. My wife's bag was misplaced by the resort during check out. It was subsequently found but it has been a week and they have yet to courier it back to our home country, although they have done a good job of staying in contact and keeping us appraised.

Other than that, we had a fun week. The skiing at Cervinia really is top notch as well. Would I stay here again? Tough one to answer and not Club Med's fault. They have a great product which offers good value for money. The safety net of all inclusive is nice. However, it leads one to be quite insular. I quite enjoy trying different restaurants and pubs when on holiday and it would be a waste to do this with food and booze already paid for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    97
    39
    18
    9
See reviews for
128
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was easily one of the best weeks of our lives! The whole week ran like clock work and we enjoyed ourselves so much. For the whole week we didn't have to worry about paying for anything! We got the all included ski package so after a long day on the slopes we came back to afternoon tea and then dinner later prepared by excellent chefs. No meal we had was bad and the presentation of the food was fantastic! The entertainment was awesome , well done to the entertainment manager Frankye for getting that put together, and the rest of the staff were fantastic too! From the village manager Donata to the rest of the staff Fabio, Kevin, Francesco, Giorgio, Aviv, Everton, Fabrizio and Tom. It was such a good week that went way too quickly! Can't recommend this highly enough. Such a great week of skiing, food and relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was our first holiday with Club Med, I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Club Rooms were comfortable, except the shower was tiny. Food was amazing, great selection and the quality was faultless. The staff were always happy to help and so friendly! Donata the resort manager was great, nothing was too much to ask. The hotel is ski to door via a red run which was great fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at the club and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ski instructor we had was fun and tried to improve our skiing too......giving each person advice on how they could improve. We definitely progressed at the end of the week.
The ski area is huge and the skiing is very intermediate...all groomed runs. Try to go to Zermatt and catch the great views from the observation platform accessed via a little known elevator. You know you have made it there if you see a giant crucifix of Christ on the railing. The views are stunning....like you are on top of the world! Ask your instructor to take you there if the Gondola is open at the top. Not to be missed! Many of our group missed this deck.
Food quality was phenomenal...we are well acquainted with fine dining...this club was amazing in what was provided. Excellent variety and quality for a buffet. Appreciated the lunches on the mountain too. They did not disappoint. Great to stop for a hot lunch with all the trimmings.
Entertainment was very good and their Chief had amazing energy. It was obvious this was a happy team, a credit to their Chief.
We went with 5 other families and it was the perfect venue for a great ski vacation. Everyone was catered for and you could do as little or as much as you liked. No pressure to party on if you felt like calling it a night.
The only minus is the shuttle buses to the lifts in the morning but it was extremely efficient. We never waited more than a couple of minutes. You can ski home or longer to the lifts to catch a shuttle home. We were never left waiting, 5 minute ride home if that.
Highly recommend this club for families or groups of friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my first Club Med holiday, and I'm really, really impressed. Club Med run a very smooth operation - everything ran like clockwork.

I guess it depends on what kind of "package" you take, but ours (a group of 5 friends) was the "all-in" ski package, and it was an absolute pleasure to literally not have to pay extra for a single thing. EVERYTHING was included in the up-front price. Air tickets, airport transfers, accommodation, unlimited eats and drinks, all meals, ski pass, ski equipment hire, ski shuttle to/back from town, EVERYTHING.

We were met on time at the airport, transported to the resort by a friendly and knowledgeable tour guide and received a friendly welcome at the hotel.

There were one or two really, really minor things I think could have worked a little better - but (like in some of my other reviews), I'm grasping at straws to find *something* to complain about:

The 1st is that on the same day of your arrival (which can be quite late in the afternoon if you've flown in), you have limited time to go and sign for, and pick up your ski equipment. Being 1st time skiers, we would have appreciated it if the staff could speak a bit more English, and had spent a bit more time with us making sure we got the right size ski boots, etc. This process felt very rushed.

The 2nd was the quality of the coffee! Strange, coming from an Italian resort, but the coffee really wasn't great. It was hot and sweet, which was great, but it was very weak and watery. If you enjoy your coffee, you may be a bit disappointed.

3rd and lastly, the wifi access was a paid for service. Sure, it was only e20 for the whole week, but it would have been the cherry on the top if it was included in the package .... because absolutely everything else was.

Ok, now on to the good stuff ... and where to start!

The location of the hotel (at the base of the Mt Cervino/Matterhorn) blew my mind. There was nowhere you could look that didn't look like a post card. Absolutely stunning.

The 2nd thing that blew my mind was the quality, variety and quantity of food. I though that the standard Club Med offering would likely be bulk-catered food for the masses, but it wasn't at all. I can only describe it as brilliant - the selection, the variety, the quality and the quantity - and that goes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Actually - *amazing*. 5 stars to the catering team.

3rd, the quality of the ski instruction. This of course may vary depending on who you instructor is, but if you're a beginner, and you're lucky enough to get "Dino" as your instructor, I guarantee that not only WILL you being skiing confidently in a few days time, but you'll have an absolute blast in the process.

The quality of the ski equipment. Even though we arrived quite late, and it was a bit of bun-fight to go and get kitted out, there was plenty of equipment, and it was all in excellent condition - in fact, it all looked almost brand new.

The regular (free) shuttle service to and from the hotel to Cervinia and the ski lifts. Friendly drivers who always helped you with loading and unloading your skis.

The surprise Christmas gift in our rooms - a pandoro, lots of different chocolates and a bottle of bubbly. Totally unexpected - a very nice touch.

Overall, I cannot recommend Club Med Cervinia enough. Definitely one of the best holidays I've had, and we all agreed - AMAZING value for money. There is NO WAY we could have organised our own trip for anything close to what we paid ...

Will most definitely be back - not only to Cervinia (where I small part of me stayed behind), but looking forward to trying other Club Med destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mt Cervino, and if you're skiing for the 1st time, try and get &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We( my husband and I ) had our very first skiing holiday this December, and chose Club Med because it seemed like the best way to learn to ski ( and it gave my husband an excuse to see a Juventus game in Turin on the way), and the most affordable when you way up everything that is included.

We were not disappointed in this regard.Cervinia had one of its best snow falls in years, and coming from South Africa, the scenery looked like something we only see in post cards. We transferred in late ( after the football of cause) but it was a breeze. Club Med were at the airport on time, and the 1 and a half hour trip to Cervinia flew by. The reception staff were friendly, and we immediately booked out ski school class and organized all our equipment.
The hotel is older, therefore small rooms and even small bathrooms, with the occasional creek from people walking around the place, but nothing uncomfortable. Note however is that the showers are small, no romantic 2 people in the shower on this trip( in the standard room) unless you are 2 relatively small people.

Dinners, lunches,breakfasts ( and all other meals over the day) were plentiiful. With tons of options and a different theme every night which ( unlike some buffet places) did not make the food boring( and how can home made pizza and pasta, and all the cheese in the world be boring). We rarely sat alone either, even through we went as a couple, we met so many people, and made some friends for life on the trip, which is a lovely part of the experience( you can eat alone if you chose to had some downtime as well). Drinks are always flowing, with us going for drinks before dinner, and again after, chatting and watching the shows that are put on everynight.

Skiing daily was amazing, you are always with an instructor and as we had never skiied before this helped. I must say I was better than I every thought by the end of the week, doing some tough courses and learning a few moves along the way. we had a lunch on the mountain most days as well, which saved time, and allowed for more skiing time( which i loved), it also meant less time walking in those enormous shoes you need to wear. Luca and Alberto were great ski instructors and we need to send a shout out to them ( thanx for the help guys).

Club Med Cervinia is catered more to families, and the amount of children in the hotel was crazy. We would probably chose a more expensive resort next time with less kids, but still club med.

There is a shuttle every ten minutes from the hotel to any of the slopes, as well as into the town and back, which was great. We did at least a half an hour walk everynight. The weather (even though cold) was lovely just to walk in.

Room Tip: Choose a bigger room. The small standard rooms are tight, but still comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had never been to a Club Med but at Snow Time we looked at them each year and usually dismissed them against the price and flexibility offered by chalet holidays. This time was different it was early season snow had fallen in Cervinia and we got a great last minute booking. We would normally budget about £500 on travel transfers and a chalet with food and wine, £200 on lift pass and about £300 for snacks and drink on the mountain and for apres. In total about £1000 per person, suddenly the Club Med option was looking good value.
Having been our overall conclusion is that it was great value but would i now consider myself a Club Med convert ? Answer not quite but I met many people who were and and we would consider going again.
What did we like -
The inclusion of group lessons/guiding inc off piste with Avalanche locators (worth quite a lot).
Apart from general tips it was made clear more personal instruction was available just ask!!! My partner took great advantage of this.
The dinner buffet in the evening with a huge selection varying from burger and chips to gourmet dishes. Breakfast cooked options as well as continental.
As a couple we appreciated the fact at evening dinner we could have a table for two but they had plenty of table combinations if you wanted to be in a group.
The staff who were always very pleasant.
The evening bar good selection of drinks cocktails, prosecco, spirits etc
The cosmopolitan nature of the club lots of Nationalities as guests or GO's.
A very large (albeit dated) corner bed room so we had plenty of space and also quiet due to distance from entertainment.
The concept of a Club Med lunch on the mountain.
What didnt didnt we like -
Room with a combined bath and shower - a combination of height of shower me being tall and a low folding shower guard meant i was cleaning water off the floor after each use.
Net type curtains on a clear glass window in a bath room our concern when light on rendered users visible from outside this was reported to management we asked for dressing gown or better curtain and when no response we covered them each night with a blanket.
The bed my partner felt was exceedingly uncomfortable due to being too hard.
The room temperature is very warm even when radiators are off and air can be stuffy at night i spoke to other guests who had a similar experience and were trying to combat this by opening windows - to be fair this may be due to altitude.
Photographers in the bar, awaiting your entrance to dinner at the evening and in the restaurant at lunch time. Whilst some guests may enjoy this i found it intrusive and commercial.
Not sure about - The lunch on the mountain which was in the lower area of the bar/restaurant and drinks served up in an upstairs part at the back with benches in it. Concept is great but after a few days the delivery left me feeling i was in a canteen rather than the kind of quality of evening dinners in the hotel. That said if you want to avoid the cost of eating and drinking on the mountain you would appreciate this option.
The hotel bar is very large and the afternoon apres atmosphere dominated by screened videos. Compared to the energy put into the night time entertainment it seems almost sedate for Apres ski..
Great minibus service through the day up to 1900 after that you are most likely doing a 10-15 min walk uphill from town to the hotel.
The bar is very large and for me lacks intimacy no fire for example..
Internet charge in an all inclusive resort. Although it worked with IPAD i was unable to use it with my Macook although another guest said they managed it by using a different browser.
Conclusion the package of All Inclusive Lessons, Accomodation, Food & Drink seems very competetive. Club Med Cervinia has a lot going for it but in my opinion probably more suited to families or groups than couples. On balance we had a great good value holiday but missed the freedom of stopping anywhere we liked on the mountain for lunch and drinks and in the town for Apres.

Room Tip: There are newer decorated rooms i believe, see photos on their web. Some rooms apparently only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cervinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cervinia

Address: Strada del Piolet 6 - Cielo Alto, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#16 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cervinia 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the alpine giants, Cervinia draws its inspiration from the glorious past of the mountaineers who conquered the Mount Cervino, and blends into a magnificent panorama. The hotel, with its original decoration and authentic materials, is a luxurious mountain refuge, a cosy, convivial setting for relaxing at Club Med Spa*, and reuniting the family at the end of the day. From a sun-soaked terrace, the view of the ski domain, tempts one and all to revel in the delights of snow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cervinia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cervinia Hotel Breuil-Cervinia
Club Med Breuil-Cervinia
Breuil-Cervinia Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cervinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.