We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelsior Planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Planet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Planet to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Planet
Piazzale Planet 1, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excelsior Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a very good hotel with a superb restaurant serving some of the best food I have ever eaten! Nicely located next to the chair lift - (one minute easy level walking) - The rooms were not particularly fancy but were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    34
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Superb location aside the sloaps and in the center of this lovely italian place.
The food is absolutely fantastic and tasty. We hardly finished all dishes...
There is a large scale of delicious italian wine.
The people are friendly and very helpful.
Rooms are fine and big enough.
Went there in 2011 and 2010 both years stayd very well for a few days !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having stayed at the Excelsior Planet every Easter for the last 8 years, it goes without saying that we feel at home in this excellent mountain hotel. From the welcome of the charming owners, (the third generation of the founding family are now running the hotel), to the kindness of the staff - the legendary Tito may not actually be the Maitre D' but his watchful eye, ready smile, and fast wit ensure the dining rooms hums with efficiency, to the stellar cooking - this is a hotel that guests return to year after year. There is`always an eclectic mix of guests and a loyal Italian following ensures that standards, particularly in the kitchen, are high. Location is superb, 200m from the 6-man gondola that takes you up to the mid-station at Plan Maison. And you can ski back nearly to the doorstep at the end of the day - keep your eyes peeled for the Chamois and Stembecci en route.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we have been skiing twice in Cervinia. And although the town has absolutely not the charm of a pretty mountain village in the Dolomites , the skiing domain is very nice and ideal for spring skiing.
Hotel excelsior is a typical comfortable family mountain hotel without an overwhelming charm though.
We are a group of several families and we used 2 types of rooms: junior suite rooms : comfortable big rooms that can easily be used as triple rooms considering the space, although unfortunately there's only one sink in the bathroom and, superior rooms : these rooms are smaller and have very often only a shower instead of a bath.The superior rooms situated at the end of the corridor are the biggest.The room isolation is not perfect.the hotel has a small wellnes with a very small swimming pool, but an extra payment is asked for each use of it. This is , considering the price of the rooms, excessive in my opinion.The skiroom is ok , but the use of an extremely slow elevator is necessary to get in and out of it. Slopes are at a very small walking distance. If you prefer to ski departing or arriving at another slope area , the hotel bus brings you there and picks you up at the end of the day. The hotel takes care of providing you with a skipass. They're very helpful in general.The hotel bar is not particularly cosy, but around the corner there's a nice place for the apres-ski.Breakfast is fine, fresh orange juice is a supplement. Dinner is a 4 course meal , which is really too much (especially for the children).The dishes are nice, but rather heavy and somehow complicated.Wine in general is very good (the hotel owner is an excellent advisor).The service in the hotel in general is excellent - people are very friendly and helpful.
overal a nice , though rather expensive (price -quality in Cervinia is not good)hotel.

Room Tip: no idea what could be the difference between the standard rooms and the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent two weeks at Excelsior in Feb-March 2012. Overall impression: very good. We stayed in a suite so I do not have useful information about standard rooms. The suite was spacious enough and clean. We haven't been disturbed by external noise.
I can recommend this hotel because of:
- location. It is within 1 min of walking to chair lifts even in ski boots. You have acees to the whole skiing area from this lift.
- quality of service. The staff was always friendly and useful. No complains at all. It was my pleasure to chat with the guys. 100% English speaking, Russian is also no problem which can be important
- dinner. My thanks and compliments to the Chef. Food quality, appearance, service were according to the best Italian traditions. Real fine dining. I would like to point out the sommelier - he is very good and in the wine list you can find practically all typical Italian wines.
- ski room and spa are in place.
Some stains which prevent me to give 5 points:
- the bed was bad
- the breakfast was very ordinary. I would expect more from 4*
- the water pressure in a bathroom often was not enough. Also in general the equipment in a bathroom corresponds to 3* hotel
As to the quality of skiing - it is very good, maybe a bit easy for profies but interesting for all others . The slopes were in a good condition.
And the last but not the least - it's Italy and I like it. I think you will like it too :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We just arrived from our skiing holiday from Cervinia. We stayed two weeks in this lovely hotel first week with our grandchildren. The location of this hotel is perfect. Just few steps from the Cretaz lift station. The owners of the hotel the Zanetti family really know how to make their quests feel welcome and happy during the whole stay. We have stayed in this hotel for many times and it feels almost like coming to visit good friends when we arrive.
The rooms are comfortable and kept very clean mornigns and evenings. If you choose this hotel, which I higly recommend, be sure to take the half pension as the food is just out of this
world. The only thing that one can complain about the food is that you cannot eat all the wonderful things they serve you, so much. Even our grandchildren 6 and 11 years love it.

Definetely the Best in Cervinia.


worle.

Room Tip: We had a family room number 301 with a wiev towards Matterhorn. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have just returned from a week in a Superior room at the Excelsior Planet, and whilst I agree with all the fantastic comments about the wonderful evening meals and the lovely staff, I did have a few gripes. The main one being that our room stank, I mean absolutely ponged, of cigarette smoke. We complained to reception who asked the maid to air our room each day and there were a few feeble attempts with air-freshener, but it didn't really do the job and it made the room quite unpleasant to return to. We had to wash all of our clothes when we returned home, even the ones that we hadn't worn because of the problem.
The jacuzzi bath didn't work at all, neither did the bathroom fan.
However, the great evening meals were a real treat and Tito and Gaspero looked after us particularly well. Breakfast less impressive, and the hotel definitely need more toasters. They could also improve by serving bread other than the cheap dry very square stuff, and fresh fruit rather than just a few tinned peaches and prunes. Perhaps this is to put people off filling their pockets with their daily supply for the slopes! From asking around, I do think that this is probably one of the best hotels in Cervinia, and the location is fantastic. If it hadn't been for our slightly tatty room we would have been very happy indeed.
One last thing, if you interpret a "fitness centre" as being a gym, it isn't! I know that it sounds ridiculous to need one whilst on a skiing holiday, but we are marathon training and it has become (temporarily) a big part of life and we picked this hotel for the reason that it had a gym

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Planet

Address: Piazzale Planet 1, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#3 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated, few steps from the pedestrian street and from the ski slopes. 46 rooms mostly with view to the matterhorn and jacuzzi; small pool, sauna, Turkish bath and professional massage. Taste our barman’s cocktails and discover our rich wine list our chef Fabrizio Reffo and his 10 cooks will welcome you with the best regional and national dishes; will be impossible to resist to the dessert buffet prepared by the chef Patissier Elvis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Planet Hotel
Excelsior Planet Breuil Cervinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Planet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.