We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfair reviews on cheap and cheerful hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serenella

Hotel Serenella
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breuil-Cervinia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Serenella
Save
You added Hotel Serenella to your Saves list
Via Meynet 5, 11028 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Breuil-Cervinia B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“unfair reviews on cheap and cheerful hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I read the reviews before visiting the hotel on 25th jan 2014 for 1 week and thought they are quite harsh! The rooms are clean, warm and showers always have hot water. Yes they are a bit basic but when you pay a cheap price you cannot expect 5star luxuary!!! The staff are helpful and always say hello. They speak little english which could be why people mistake them for being miserable but I found them all friendly and think being polite to others helps this friendliness to show. The breakfasts are continental style. There is a choice of 3 or 4 starters and main evening meals which are limited and not always everyones ideal choice but they were fine/edible and the portion sizes were large. And remember, you can always book B&B and eat out in the evening!!!
The hotel is centrally located with only a couple of minutes walk to Crezt lifts. Shops, Bars and restaurants are all close by too. If you want a hotel which is close to the lifts, is a place to rest you head and does not break the bank ...then this is the place for you !

Room Tip: i stayed in room 10 and was quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hi Tripadvisor friends. Having read Peter D's review the day before we departed for Cervinia, I can confirm that the dour woman is still in place, obviously having attended the SS School Of Charm! We too were led to our cell and every morning received a UN food parcel for breakfast consisting of dry rolls,ham,cheese and salami. Boiled eggs were available of which we enjoyed throughly until Wednesday when we were told the charge would be 1 euro per egg obviously delivered by the Golden Goose! It got worse......Heating was turned off at all times. The shower was hot, but don't drop the shower gel because you will then be wedged between the shower door and mixer taps cubicle 750x750mm Ok for under 7s. Cleaning teeth was another acrobatic escapade, when rinsing be careful not to knock yourself out on the sink,as your backside makes contact with the radiator behind.

Evening meals! Well inedible food and childrens portions, after a days skiing, not what a grown man needs. Belmarsh portions were cordon bleu in comparison and I have that information on good authority.

Do not book this Hotel-YOU WILL DEFINITELY BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Photographs showing mould and bedrooms unfit for purpose will be posted by Mr Deaky this week......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

arrived sat pm and after lugging my gear up a flight of stairs was met by the most unfriendly and dour woman whose only words were passport, and then escorted me to my cell, that was it. rooms poor, bathroom disgusting, food inedible. I ate out four nights. its the worst place I have ever stayed. this was my third ski trip to cervinia, the skiing is excellent as is most of the resort but this hotel was a mistake.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne,England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned 23rd March from the Hotel Serenella.We had a brill week in Cervinia the hotel is based on the first floor on arrival my bag was carried up for me (no lift) we were greeted and given our room key no 8.I do not think that any of the rooms would have particular good views but it was a reasonable size very clean and comfortable.We were served a four course dinner with choices its not the best food I have ever tasted but it was hearty one never left the table hungry!.Breakfasts were the usual continental but you could make your own toast and have boiled eggs (if you asked.)
The hotel was in a great location right in the heart of Cervinia and about a 3min walk from the chair lift.Plenty of ski hire shops,bars etc on your doorstep.If you want luxury this hotel is not for you but if you are happy with a clean family run small hotel then its the place to stay,we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warmington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay with my wife at the Serenella. I must admit that we booked with Inghams before reading the reports on Tripadvisor but I was more than pleased to find that all the complaints about the Hotel were greatly exagerated. We have 7 weeks of ski holidays most winters and around 15 to 20 weeks of holidays a year and always stay in hotels so believe we are qualified to judge hotels around the world! OK the Elder couple who own the Serenalla speak limited English but to say that the wife is miserable is a travesty, she is hard working but my (very limited) pidgin Italian had her rolling about in fits of laughter. The gentleman (her husband), who is accused of playing cards all the time, is the chef and a very good Italian chef as every meal we had at the Serenalla was excellent! The only complaint about the food was; the portions were too large for us but we found out the Italian word for small (piccolo) we got portions we could cope with without waste. The gentleman sits in reception playing patience on his own or a game of cards with an elderly friend in the afternoons while his wife and daughter take time off after they have seved breakfast and cleaned all the rooms. This is so that the hotel is not left unattended and guests possessions put at risk! No one can get past him into the hotel and every afternoon he met us with a cheery "HI" and we would exchange a few pleasanatries with him (again in pidgin Italian). We never had a problem comunicating with the family but if anyone had a problem the daughter (Monica) speaks excellent English. Maybe the people who used this forum to complain about the elder generations lack of English should try meeting people halfway in their native language!
In short the Hotel was; comfortable, clean, warm, the beds were comfortable, it was quiet (not once in 2 weeks were we woken by noise), the food was great and its location (2 minutes walk from the chair lift) was perfect. We thought the Serenella and the family Cecchi were much maligned in previous reports in this forum.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If your expectations aren't too inflated then you'll find this hotel fine. The rooms are basic but clean. Plenty of storage and reasonable en-suite with good shower. TV just italian and french stuff. Beds firm but comfortable and enough bedding.

Its true, the hosts are strangely unfriendly except the daughter Monica who can speak English. Maybe it was just the language problem. However with persistence I did eventually get a smile from Ivana.

The breakfast was standard continental faire and adequate. Cold meats, rolls a little hard but muesli good. Coffee average. 4 course evening meals, once you sussed what you like as there was a choice of 3 per starter and main, was good and filling. My only gripe was being charged 3 euros for a bottle of water....no free jug of tap water as there should be.

Location great. Just a mins walk to the slopes or 10 min yomp to the gondola. The uncrowded pistes and the scenery (when it wasn't snowing) is stunning, only spoilt by high winds and snow closing the lifts for 2 days. The ski buses were almost non existent to the lower resort of Valtournenche....not much fun queuing for over 2 hours in -11C before giving up. A real let down and doesn't reflect well on the resort. Could only get over to Zermatt on one day.

Overall id give the place a thumbs up.

Room Tip: rooms Nos 10+ quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the serenella. Yes the lady in charge is miserable. Yes the husband plays cards all the time. But the daughter is fine. Location is great. Food is average. Dining area is clean. The rooms are ok quite clean except for the odd cobweb. Bathroom a bit grubby but always hot water. Probably suited to a group of lads.if you want 4-5star treatment go somewhere else. Would i stay there again?. Yes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Serenella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenella

Address: Via Meynet 5, 11028 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serenella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.