We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming with Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Save Saved
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guido Rey 18, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Varese
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming with Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We chose this hotel as located in the centre of Cervinia within the reach to the lifts. We expected to spend little time at the hotel and dedicate the stay to skiing exclusively, from sunrise till sunset. Three star reasonably priced hotel with breakfast/dinner included in the price was all we needed. It was a four day girlie stay soon after the New Year. We stayed at the family suite consisting two double rooms and a bathroom. It offered clean rooms with self regulated heating. The food was nice with choice of two dishes every night. Due to exceptionally bad weather, the whole resort was closed and we were unable to ski. We got stranded at the hotel for the most of the trip.


This hotel delivered above our expectations.

What was potentially a disastrous weekend, turned into an enjoyable, fun packed stay at the hotel. Staff was very welcoming and accommodating to all our requests and needs. The area around the bar had lovely atmosphere. Staff very attentive and customer oriented. Waitressing team excellent.

Highly recommended. I will certainly be returning customer. I will just choose March/April for skiing rather than January. Too cold and too windy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Double room. Young couple. The hotel is typical mountain hotel, suited for skiers and hikers. There's a sauna and spa area with extra massage services. The room was very simple with basic furniture, it was somewhat cold (in July there was 12°C rainy outside). Personnel was kind and helpful. Breakfast not in line with mountain standard (coffee tea and chocolate were provided by an automatic machine).
It's not located in the pedestrian old town, so the view on the main entrance road of the village is not so charming.

Room Tip: Rooms with Cervino mountain view are also facing the main traffic road. So they could result a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed here this year on a package skiing hotel and was delighted. As other reviewers have pointed out, the attitude of the owners and staff is wonderful - they are all lovely people. The hotel is not a luxury hotel but the rooms are clean, comfortable and large enough. Our bathroom was really good. The food is fine - some typical Italian meals, loads of it, and nearly all delicious. Maybe not so great for vegetarians but that can be a problem anywhere. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a lovely time in Cervinia. This hotel had been suggested by a friend as an inexpensive but good place to stay. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming which made a huge difference on the days when the ski lifts were closed due to high winds. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place but it is very clean and comfortable. The linens were clean and beds firm. Our room (and bathroom) was much larger than we expected and bigger than the other two at other establishments we stayed in over this holiday.
We were on half board and the food, while not gourmet, was very solid and there was loads of it. Variety, too! We didn't even realise we'd booked half-board and didn't plan to use it every night but ended up dining in every evening. They also have some great wines on the menu. Breakfast was very simple but everything that was needed. Our only complaint was that the coffee is absolutely horrible. As it was one of those terrible machines I tried every possible option and it just could not produce a decent cup. It is the one simple change that could be made to make a huge difference in the mornings.
The staff in the dining room and front desk made this a wonderfully memorable stay. We'd definitely return and hope to next ski season!
The shuttle bus was also a huge bonus...probably wouldn't have been nearly as happy had we had to lug our skis to and from the lifts as though not far normally, with skis it would be quite a hike.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good views but can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed four days in the beautiful Cervinia - Zermatt mountains with perfect skiing conditions and blue skies. This is why I'll remember it as a positive experience. The hotel of choosing however, was only for sleeping. Grumpy service, ugly rooms, horrible breakfast and the dinner even worse.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel for a week during a skiing holiday. Our reception was friendly, in perfect English and very efficient. The rooms are well maintained and clean and very well heated.

The highlight of this hotel is the staff. From receptionist to barmen to the star that is the head waiter Salvatore. They are unfailingly polite, accommodating and cheerful . The service is fantastic and they really make you feel welcome.

I have stayed in many hotels in the Alps and this is my favorite so far. I can unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The management and staff were friendly, hard-working and professional. The restaurant manager was charm personified and all employees seemed to have at least basic English.
The room was a decent sized double, with a nice bathroom en-suite. It was at the front of the hotel with a shared terrace, overlooking the main street into town. Still very quiet and comfortable, although smelling of stale cigarette smoke.
The hotel was a short walk from the town centre, nursery slope and the Cretaz lift and a 10-15 minute uphill hike to the main cable-car/telecabine station, although thanks to the free morning taxi service meant this was not a problem. The town itself has a good selection of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. The boot room facilities were good and there is a small gym, spa and massage facility.
The best things about the hotel were the staff, the bar and lounge - incredibly cosy and still stylish, without being overwhelming.
The food was of mixed quality, but there was a good choice of dishes and always a course or two in every meal which was delicious - no-one went hungry.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Via Guido Rey 18, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Breuil Cervinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.