We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful City, Sophisticated Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terme Merano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terme Merano to your Saves list
Hotel Terme Merano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Terme 1, 39012 Merano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful City, Sophisticated Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

A sophisticated hotel, good spa, good service, breakfast could be better for a 4 star hotel, but is one of the most beautiful places that I went.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    228
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
162
398
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wonderful city. Hotel is extremely nicely located close to shopping and restaurants. The view is gorgeous and nice panoramic and nature walks can be done from the hotel. The thermal pools are also very relaxing. The hotel has a modern decor with an excellent and very chic atmosphere. A definite go

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed at the top suite of the hotel for an extended weekend. While the suite was great, too many things are wrong with the hotel, all having to do with service, or lack thereof.

Read in another review that this hotel was a former Steigenberger, which the city of Meran had to take over. This explains a lot, such as why this is one of the few hotels where the hotel manager seems to have a good work life balance (we never saw him in four days, albeit being the top paying patrons), and the staff is few, young and ill trained.

Location: perfect! We loved it, next to old town, next to river, with beautiful views.

Reception: What reception? When we arrived, there was no greeting, nobody to help us with luggage, we even had to get the luggage cart ourselves in the storage room!, putting away car etc. When inquiring by phone from our room, we didn't get the promised callback, when returning with our mountain bike we were told that we had to put them next to our car on the parking spot even though there is a bike storage room in the hotel (where we had the bikes the night before). And no, there was nobody who could take the bikes for us etc.

Room: Gorgeous, great view (corner suite on 3rd floor), interior modern, spacey (very large living room), plenty of storage space, large bath with free standing bath tub, rainforest shower, separate WC. Balcony with one sun chair (remember: suite), two chairs and a small table. Room service did at least clean room. But only 1 small bottle of shampoo for entire suite, and limited set of towels only.

Spa: good spa, direct connection to public spa for those who like sharing a hot tub with many others. Nice outdoor pool, quiet, clean. But: most of the time, there's nobody at the front desk of the spa. You get two towels per person per day in your room to take to the spa, and there are no add'l towels. So plan wisely when doing a day of wellness... No blankets in quiet room. Not all saunas/steam room working at all times. Massages were very good, highly recommendable.

Restaurant: breakfast buffet/service pathetic for a 4* hotel: no fresh juice, only 3 cheeses and when they're gone (watch out: before 9 o'clock!), no refills, cut fresh fruit not fresh and not ripe, good bread selection. Ordering omelettes is do-it yourself, as is serving. If the cook is putting away last night's leftovers, he has you wait until he's done. Service is slow und inattentive (bad training), an hour after we had left I was able to pick up my forgotten room key on our table, as it had not been cleared yet... Clearly missing is a chef de service. Didn't try the restaurant for dinner after the breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces outward, not into courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Had a very nice room with balcony on interior courtyard; large bathroom. Décor throughout was very hip. Internet is expensive – you can buy it in 15-minute increments or for 14 Euros for 24 consecutive hours. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Hotel is connected underground to the Thermal Spa and provides robes and slippers. Merano is a fabulous picturesque town, very upscale. Make sure you walk up the river to the newly opened gardens.

Room Tip: View of town, or inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

The staff are courteous, perhaps less effusive than some hotels, as english maybe a third language but there is no problem at reception. The location, 100m to centre and linked to large hot pool complex is wonderful. Our rooms (101 102 linked for our family of teenagers) were large (2 armchairs in each) modern and very clean, But the downside was the loud clatter of trucks unloading linen (etc) comencing from 4 a.m in the morning and going thru (at odd times) until 7 am. It was impossible to sleep through this and not an expected feature of a hotel of this quality. I suggest check all details of your rooms (and also try Liszt restaurant nearby... a fun and good vlue restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I had one quick evening in Meran and made the smart move to show up at 10am. Of course, I knew my room wouldn't be ready - i didn't want it... I wanted to use the pools until 3pm! It was absolute HEAVEN. The general pool area was crowded with paying customers, but after a few hours I realized I could use the spa pools since I was a guest at the hotel. Pure pleasure. Wonderful staff. Great room. So worth it. I hope to be back next summer with my husband and try the couples spa treatments.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Great location especially since hotel is part of the only thermal waters facility in area. Place is clean, well run and staff friendly. Few negatives: place of this class and price range should offer free internet instead of charging EUR1.50/15 min, 4.50/hr or 14.50/day. Room 331 had a noisy A/c but it was cool outside so we used windows. The special of 4 nights for price of 3 incl breakfast (very good) and thermal pools (superb and clean) is the only way to go as far as value is concerned.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terme Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Merano

Address: Piazza Terme 1, 39012 Merano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Family Hotel in Merano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme Merano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terme Merano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Merano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terme Merano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.