We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Living Recent History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trauttmansdorff Castle Gardens

Trauttmansdorff Castle Gardens
Via San Valentino 51a, 39012 Merano, Italy
+39(0)473 235730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Merano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle, located in the town of Merano (Meran) in northern Italy, is a botanical garden nestled into a twelve-hectare amphitheatre with an altitude differential of 100 meters. Trauttmansdorff offers spectacular views of exotic gardens and breathtaking vistas of the surrounding mountains and the spa resort town of Merano. Colorful plants from all around the world thrive and bloom in Trauttmansdorff’s more than eighty garden landscapes. Ideal for both children and adults as well as for botany experts and laymen alike, the Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle is a unique blend of botanical garden and recreational attraction. Multifaceted Experience Stations, spectacular themed gardens, Artist Pavilions and intriguing animals turn the Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle – within easy walking distance from Merano – into a colorful world where visitors enjoy a variety of different experiences. The Touriseum, South Tyrol’s Province Museum of Tourism, covers 200 years of tourism history in Tyrol and Merano in a very engaging way.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This is Living Recent History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Dear All, visit place because it's unique due to his history.

The Empress Sissy wanted it for her daughter that was poor health: Sissy wanted this Castle and the Garden to give to her daughter the opportunity to live some hours in a healthy space.

The number of the botanical species hosted in the garden is incredible; once upon a time there was also the orchid greenhouse: the last time that I visited the garden the greenhouse were removed , I hope due to the season, because the first time I went , there were a magnificent collection of orchid.

Warmly suggested if you like plants and flowers.

Don't miss the suspension bridge and the aviary birds: you can walk in looking some big Ara Ara!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    189
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markyate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

With every step you take there is something lovely to see. With amazing light quality and a fantastic mountain backdrop this place must be a photographer's dream. We went in October so what must it be like in Spring! Even though it is built on a steep slope the walk is not a bit arduous nor scary, being well fenced throughout.
A couple of our party jibbed at the "high diving board" lookout point which suspends you in mid-air from the edge of a sheer(ish) drop, but you don't absolutely have to do that if you don't like heights. You reach it through the fairly disappointing aviary - the only flat part of the visit.
Thoroughly recommended - give yourself at least a couple of hours just for the gardens.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A special respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely gardens with wonderful amenities - restaurant, cafe and picnic areas. Next time, we'll pack a lunch and tuck ourselves into a nice bench overlooking one of the many beautiful water features.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbrian
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb Day Out & Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This turned out to be the best attraction on our holiday to the Dolomite's and the South Tirol during July this year. Although I have only a passing interest in gardening and agreed to visit only as a concession to my wife I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We were there nearly six hours and had to rush through the excellent museum of alpine tourism which in my opinion was worth the admission fee alone as we had arranged to visit the thermal baths in Merano.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and castle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a lovely place. If you're into gardens this is the place to go while you're in Merano. The castle is very interesting as Elizabeth of Austria stayed here several times.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trauttmansdorff Castle Gardens also viewed

Merano, South Tyrol Province
Merano, South Tyrol Province
 
Merano, South Tyrol Province
Merano, South Tyrol Province
 

Been to Trauttmansdorff Castle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trauttmansdorff Castle Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.