We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beer garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsterbrau

Forsterbrau
Corso della Liberta', 90, 39012 Merano, Italy
+39 0473 236535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 140 Restaurants in Merano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Thornton-Cleveleys
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely beer garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Called in for lunch after a recommendation. Extensive menu of local dishes with one of the locally brewed beers recommended to complement each dish. The service was quick and efficient and the food was delicious. We sat outside in the inner courtyard under the shade of the chestnut trees surrounded by beautiful old buildings. A relaxing atmospheric place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    642
    191
    52
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a modern yet traditional beerhall that serves good basic food for the money. The plates comes quickly and they have some good house beer. We went for dinner around 8:00 pm and were seated almost immediately but the place gets crowded around 9. There is outdoor seating in a courtyard and the bar is hopping and busy with some very friendly people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottaglie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had both lunch and dinner here during our visit. The food was traditional and good though it arrived surprisingly fast to our table. It is a bit touristy, but the prices are right and the food surprisingly good. I don't recommend the goulash, but the canederlei and the gnocchi di grano saraceno were both delicious. My husband loved the Sud Tirol platter with an assortment of meat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slick and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Fosterbrau on our first night and weren't disappointed. We had 15 minutes to wait which was ok. We both had mains (goulash) which we were happy with. The service is good. Recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very good beer and very good local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have visited this restaurant located just central in Meran on Sunday 20th October during the festival "Trauben Fest", which was perfectly organized and very exciting with marching bands and traditional costumes.and uniforms. Restaurant was very crowded but service was attentive, and very, very efficient. Our meals were of very high quality and portions were simply great like the pork shank.
Beers were excellent and well combined. Very good value for money and higly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forsterbrau also viewed

Merano, South Tyrol Province
Merano, South Tyrol Province
 
Merano, South Tyrol Province
Merano, South Tyrol Province
 

Been to Forsterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsterbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.