We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Silbernagl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelrotto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Silbernagl
Save
You added Haus Silbernagl to your Saves list
Puflatschstreet 1, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Castelrotto
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Petra at Garni Sibernagl is a gem!! Every B&B could learn a thing or two from her. From the delicious breakfast spread every morning, complete with weather updates, information on local events & advice on hiking or activities in the area, to the comfortable rooms with stunning views; this was our favourite place to stay in all of Italy. We would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you Petra!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
89
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Haus Silbernagl and it was a spectacular experience. First and foremost, let me say that Petra was an amazing hostess - knowledgeable about the region and the trails, thoughtful, and kind! The breakfast was amazing, the yogurt was the best we had in all of Italy. The view from our room was breathtaking; it was nice to view the sunrise and sunset behind the mountains every morning from our porch. The hotel and rooms are immaculately clean. The location is ideal for visiting town as well as accessing any of the trails via foot or bus. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed four nights in August 2013. No wonder this hotel is #1 in the Trip Advisor listings. The place is fantastic, the rooms great, the views great, the food great and best of all, the Host Petra (and daughter and husband) is/are great.

We spent two weeks in South Tirol and I can say without reservation that Castelrotto is probably the best place to stay if you enjoy bucolic scenery (just picture postcard perfect) and amazing walks with great public transportation.

Petra has been in the hosting business since she was a child and is an amazing host, providing a treasure trove of information about the local walks and places to see.
All in all a great stay and we plan to return to her house next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at Haus Silbernagl during our honeymoon. Castelrotto is quiet and quaint, and perfectly located for outdoor exploring in this Tyrolean part of Italy. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, though not especially recently upgraded or design-oriented. The location is near the center of town, but among many other houses and inns, so there's a certain feeling of density in the neighborhood. Any sense from the photographs that Haus Silbernagl is both central and somewhat removed from other buildings is an illusion.

Many reviews here mention Petra's notable hospitality. We can confirm that she is welcoming and a formidable source of information, but I found her a bit overbearing and almost meddling in the mornings. We had a decent idea of the activities that we wanted to do in the area; sometimes it seemed Petra wanted to impose her own thoughts! In all, I found her too much of a presence at breakfast and in our plans.

Breakfast was adequate. Our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Haus Silbernagel for 3 nights the first part of August! Petra, the Hostess is absolutely wonderful! Each morning she greets you with a wonderful breakfast and then helps plan out your day of hiking according to our ability and how we feel. She is a real treasure! Her place is fantastic, clean and very Tyrolean! Unbelievable views from our room! I can't wait to come back and stay longer! As far as I can tell, Petra speaks German, Italian and English very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Silbernagel for three days with three young children. The hotel is very pleasantly situated near the center of Castelrotto. The town itself is a nice active community. There are nice, unpretentious and good places to eat diner.
Everybody speaks both German and Italian, as the Austrian roots can still be felt.
Petra is indeed very strong and helpfull, who knows the appropriate walk ways for any party. We really enjoyed our walks up on the Seiser Alm and our swim in the mountain lake.
The hotelrooms were clean and well maintained. We looked forward to the local delicasies in the morning. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The #1 rating on TripAdvisor is well deserved. Hostess Petra Silbernagl is great. She says her English is poor, but we communicated very effectively and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Wish it could have been longer. Breakfast was hearty and lots of friendly travelers with whom to share plans and tales of adventure. Petra suggested a hike in the Seiser Alm (aka Alpe di Siusi), and combination bus and gondola transport, insisting "you will like!" She was right, we liked!

Room was very comfortable with a large bathroom, balcony, and peek-a-boo view of the mountains. Hotel was very easy to find from Petra's written directions from the bus station. She even held our room without a deposit booked several months in advance. The bus ride from Bolzano was a white knuckle experience. Be sure to sit on the left side out of Bolzano for a thrill, and beware oncoming buses.

Castelrotto / Kastleruth is a perfect base for exploring the Dolomites, with a supermarket and several nice German restaurants, all conveniently located within walking distance from the Haus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Silbernagl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Silbernagl

Address: Puflatschstreet 1, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelrotto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#2 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Haus Silbernagl Castelrotto
Haus Silbernagl Hotel Castelrotto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Silbernagl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.