We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location for Exploring the Dolomites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Garni Trocker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence Garni Trocker to your Saves list
Residence Garni Trocker
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   via Fostl, 3, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Castelrotto B&B and Inns
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Central Location for Exploring the Dolomites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed two nights in a standard room with a balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains. The owners were friendly and helpful, although it probably helped that we were Americans who spoke passable German. The breakfast buffet was huge and delicious. The hotel is a short walk into the lovely town of Castelrotto and to the Marinzenalm chairlift, and a short drive to the Alpi di Suisse. Hotel also has a cafe' open to the public for coffee and lunch. Highly recommended for a taste of Austria in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Residence in the evenings after a day of hiking in this incredibly beautiful area. We were upgraded to an apartment for the same cost and while we were asked to not use the stove, we were able to keep food in the refrigerator and use the utensils so we didn't need to eat out every evening. The included breakfast was superb with many choices and as much as you wanted. Since very little English is spoken, we did not to get some of our information about the town area from the TI and others but this was not difficult. The place is very clean and nicely decorated and we had a view of the Dolomite's from our balcony. Ask for a non smoking room as we did and then there is no problem for those of us who are affected by cigarette smoking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is modern and clean, however, we have never felt more unwelcome anywhere. The owners were outwardly rude and would pretend not to understand a word of English, unless it had to do with some sort of payment. It is surprising to us that a family-owned business could be so inhospitable to their guests. As in other reviews, we also felt it was because we were American; we also felt most locals felt the same way. The area is nice, but we have certainly seen much better. We will never return to that hotel and/or area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This had to be our best bargain in a 3 week tour of Italy. The room was very clean, bed sooo comfortable, very friendly and accommodating staff, and a breakfast buffet that offered a wide variety of delicious pastries, cheeses, meats, cereals, juices, and hot foods. Within an 5 minute walk to the center of town and bus stop which was important for us as we arrived by bus. Convenient for trips to the Dolomites. I'd suggest taking the bus to the tram, riding up to the top and hiking your way back to town. Get an area map from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is just wonderful. We had an apt. so we were able to have a kitchen. It was so clean and we had plenty of room. The breakfast was such a delight in a beautiful dining area. The area has so many places to walk. I really like the owners---they were very helpful and nice. We will return some day and bring our family. Thank you Residence Grani Trocker for such a wonderful stay. Oh---the bed was incredibly comfortable. I am 67 and I have arthritis so I was so happy to have such a great bed. We definitely will return some day in the near future!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We liked the inn very much. It was beautiful and the room was one of the nicest we had in Italy. But the lady at the front desk was very abrasive and unfriendly. She took our passports and said it would be a few days before we got them back. Strange, but ok. The next morning, I found them sitting right on the front desk, where anyone could have easily grabbed them, and no desk attendant in sight. I finally found the desk attendant at the bar after searching for 10 minutes, and she said that she was busy and that I could get the passports back the next day. So I just went back and grabbed them off the desk before someone else did. The young gentleman that was preparing the breakfast was friendly, but the rest of the staff were quite cold and unhelpful. As we had read before, I think that most of the Austrians in that town do not particularly like Americans, even those that try to be polite and keep to themselves. Oh, and the smoke from the bar does get pretty much everywhere, so be ready to open your room's windows if that bothers you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Garni Trocker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Garni Trocker

Address: via Fostl, 3, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Castelrotto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Garni Trocker 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Garni Trocker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Garni Trocker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.