We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place in the mountains of Südtirol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panider Sattel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Panider Sattel to your Saves list
Hotel Panider Sattel
St. Michael-Weg 37, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Castelrotto
Traunstein
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing place in the mountains of Südtirol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was wonderful, it has amazing views from the terrace. The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the pool and spa area had a really relaxing atmosphere. It is great for winter sports in winter or walking other times of the year. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
29
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genova, Liguria, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one week this winter (2013) in the hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Food was good and plenty, even though not perfect for a vegetarian like myself. Spa area was very relaxing, sauna little small. Kids felt at home and personnel was very friendly. As the hotel is outside town you have pros and cons: very beautiful surroundings, the kids could enjoy the hills next to the hotel for sledging, ice skating, snow... But you have to use the car or the hotel shuttle to get to the resort (10mins away, so no big deal). Definitively a recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Familie Mahlknecht at Hotel Panider Sattel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear atg99,
thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Pinei.
Maybe we can welcome you another time at our place - this would be very nice.

With best regards
Family Mahlknecht and the Pinei staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in mid March 2011 and we were very satisfied with the premises and the food offered.
The room was large, with hardwood floors and everything was new and clean. The hotel itself is also very clean and the whole ambient gives you a good feeling that you are in the mountains. I used the SPA once in the morning and I really enjoyed it as there was no one there. It felt really relaxing sitting by the window in the sun and reading a paper.

The food was outstanding considering that not that many Italian hotels in that area offer very large buffet breakfasts or dinners. The choice of items was excellent and everything was fresh and tasty. The servers were also friendly.

The ski deposit room was very convenient as well as the shuttle to the lifts. Sometimes we had to wait an extra 10-15 minutes for the other shuttle to come, but that was not an issue.

The hotel is not located in the town and it is quite far away to walk to the nearest town. You will need to have the car to move around. There are many pretty villages around to visit and many local food stores and restaurants were you can have a variety of traditional dishes and drinks.

If I happen to go skiing again in this area, this hotel would be my first choice.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed there during 10 days on December 2010.

This hotel is located on the top of the "Panider Sattel" hill. It has been recently upgraded to 4 stars but the services and food worth no more than 3 stars...

1) We booked a "double room pinei". When we arrived, the reserved room was outrageously small. We paid an extra in order to get a bigger and very decent room with a nice view and a balcony.

2) SPA area: the swimming pool was nice but with a too high level of chlorine! The sauna and turkish bath were OK.

3) Their "SKI SHUTTLE" is a shared taxi-bus which is working for two hotels at the same time. Not convienient at all! Indeed, there is always some battles between the guests to get first in the skibus + the waiting time is longer than the average waiting time that you can expect for a 4 stars ski hotel.

4) The level of services is poor. The staff is very limited and you meet the same waitresses from the morning to the evening... Furthermore, the internet connection encountered a lot of technical problems...

5) The very bad point: the restaurant. The salad bar was OK but the food was average to disgusting. One evening we even received a sad chicken leg with fries and sweet and sour sauce coming directly from a can! Definitely not a fine dining experience.

CCL: The hotel itself is not ugly and the SPA area was OK. If they change their cook and their food policy, maybe it will worth a winter stay...

Room Tip: If you are a gourmet... Find some other places
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panider Sattel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panider Sattel

Address: St. Michael-Weg 37, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Panider Sattel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panider Sattel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.