We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre to your Saves list
Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre
Kofel Gasse 8, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Castelrotto
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved Castelrotto. It is town that you can just see in calendars. Our hotel was conveniently located, a block from the main square. Our stay included a breakfast buffet (very good) and the restaurant was excellent. Our bed was so comfortable! Impeccable and soft dawn covers on the bed made it hard to get up :o). The front desk lady needs to work on her customer service skills. We didn't expect much, but she seemed to be annoyed by our normal questions. Other than that, this hotel is very nice and clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place to be in: the hotel is nice, clean rooms at a fair price. The kitchen is excellent: very good meals, wine and liquors. You can have typical continental dishes as well as a wide variety of local meals and products. The owners are nice people too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You would never know you were in Italy while staying in this cute town of Castelrotto. Everything is in German, food is german, decor is Austrian. The staff was neat and tidy as a pin, answering all questions, and quite nice. The room was large, and beds were a little firm, but ok. I'd stay there again, or better yet, I'd stay in the Alpe di Suisse town instead, as it has better access to the mountains. I found this through the Rick Steves book. (the book is a blessing and a curse). I think I'll use trip advisor the next time to find a room, and steer clear of the Rick Steves recommendations. Anyway, this was a cute hotel, breakfast was fine, cappuccino's were great, and staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Well located in a beautiful place, this hotel is far from perfect. The staff seem distant and uninvolved and rarely at the dek. The room was overheated beyond belief when I checked in, and no towels were offered in the room. The owners kids and their friends ran around the hotel seeming to mock the accents and mannerisms of the guests. When I asked for the "Rick Steve's" discount upon check in, the owner said "that will be an additional 10 Euros". Funny, yes, but later it occurred to me that Rick Steve's put this place on the map for tourists, urging people in his book to splurge and stay 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were there in August 2010. Good, centrally located hotel for hiking in the Dolomites. Short walk to the bus stop taking you to the chair lifts. Bus to Bolzano and elsewhere is out the back door of the hotel so that's nice too. Well located for several restaurants within a block or two, also to charming shopping. Short block to the open air performance area for outdoor concerts. They charge for internet, a few euros for three days wi-fi access. Clean and above average accommodations. Good breakfasts. Good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front give you a good view of the street life with the locals coming and going in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way through the area based on the recommendation of Rick Steve. We had a great view of the mountains from our room window. Even though we were adjacent to the bus terminal, the room was quiet. Breakfast included quite a selection of delicious food. The hotel is in the center of town and convenient to walk to restaurants. Free parking is included. After a nice dinner nearby, we took one of the many trails on the edge of the city and walked for miles at the base of the Dolomites before darkness turned us back. A fantastic place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Actually picked this hotel because my first choice was closed till Mid May....but what a lovely surprise! This hotel is situated in the best location of this tiny village. Chose a room with valley view & balcony and it was great! Owners are hard working and great hosts. You can't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre

Address: Kofel Gasse 8, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.