We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humble is overrated statement.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalener Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Magdalener Hof to your Saves list
Magdalener Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rentscher Strasse 48, 39100 Bolzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Agoura Hills, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Humble is overrated statement.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Magdalener Hof in northern Bolzano, Italy has been losing its grip on the hospitality trends for the past 3 to 4 years. On my recent stay October 18. 2013, I was shocked by the declining attention to guest and dysfunctional fixtures in the rooms 155 and 156. When the discomforts were addressed with the management and the owner, family Ramoser, it was left without response or explanation for the noted deficiencies. While the Magdalener Hof presents itself at the level of Crown Plaza or similar 3 plus star properties the reality is quite different, outright declining. When the property is compared on Value and Service my rating would be (-2 Bucks) on value and (2 Bucks) for service. If present conditions continue will I return – very unlikely!

Kind regards / Sincères Salutations / Mit freundlichen Grüßen / S pozdravem / Med vennelig hilsen/Med vänlig hälsning/ Ystävällisesti / Přeji hezký den a jsem s úctou
Tomas J. Chroust, inq.
E-mail: tomas@chroustindustrial.com

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
64
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived late and were greeted by a very helpful and friendly man at the front desk. He gave us a lovely room with a view and some recommendations about town and choices where to eat since they were closed that evening. Everything was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel. The view from our room was amazing with green mountains all around. The room was very clean and specious.
The bed was horrible, you felt each spring of the bed and the pillows were thin an hard.
The hotel is pretty far from the town so take that into account. They have free parking garage which is great if you comd with a car.
The staff was very helpful and nice.
The wifi didnt work at all not in the lobby nor in the room as was promised.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landscheid, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed the the Magdalener Hof in Bolzano in mid-August. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking: a view of downtown Bolzano from up on a hillside, surrounded by vineyards, with a pool and lounging area that begs to be enjoyed all day long.

The hotel restaurant provided one of the best dinners I have EVER had. World-class cooking, fine wine, and delicious desserts. Just be sure to make reservations!

The staff was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that the hotel was a bit noisy at night with trains from the tracks a mile or two away and the constant hum of an air conditioning unit. Also, I could not get the wifi to work on my devices, which I have read as complaints from other guests. The price was also a bit higher than we usually pay, but the extra amenities were worth the higher price.

Overall, we had a great experience and would likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a deluxe room, and were accommodated in their brand-new building. We were on the second floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains. The bathroom looks to be state of the art, but in reality, there was no place to put toiletries while showering, and every time you turned on the bathroom sink, you had water all over the mirrored glass wall. We had plenty of storage room, and a nice working station for the computer. The television, though, escaped us. There are something like 3,000 channels to go through -- but only a handful are actually available to watch. There was no list, and the only way you could find anything (which we mostly couldn't) was trial and error. With such a lovely new facility, they need to do better on this! Restaurant was outstanding!

Room Tip: The comfort rooms are definitely a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were friendly and the room a good size. However I was in old part of hotel Nd free wifi did not work in my room making it a waste of effort. There were no amenities in bathroom and when I asked about having laundry done I was told they did not offer this service. The breakfast buffet was good and staff very friendly. Reception and bar staff were very happy to answer questions. Please make sure free wifi works if going to offer it and laundry service is standard for a hotel that claims to be at this level.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Magdalener Hof and Bolzano were both a really pleasant surprise. We were upgraded to a suite in the new section of the hotel, which was really lovely and beautifully appointed. The only downside to the room was the fact that the bathroom has a clear window that looks straight out into the lounge, and the courtyard via the mirror, and there is absolutely nowhere to hang towels! A monir issue, however, in a lovely property. The staff, in particular Weske (hope that's spelt right!), were really friendly and helpful, and the restaurant served a great dinner and breakfast. The centre of the old town is about a 15 minute walk, the cable car (worth doing) leaves from just down the bottom of the hill, and there is excellent hiking from the hotel into the mountains. I can highly recommend the town and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magdalener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalener Hof

Address: Rentscher Strasse 48, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magdalener Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Magdalener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magdalener Hof Bolzano
Magdalener Hof Hotel Bolzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalener Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.