We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Italy trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hanny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Hanny to your Saves list
Hotel Hanny
Via San Pietro 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Bolzano
des moines, IA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The Highlight of our Italy trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I, along with two of my siblings and their spouses recently spent two glorious nights at the Hotel Hanny. We all had rooms with a balcony facing the most breathtaking, picture postcard setting imaginable. We arrived in Bolzano by train from Florence, and the six of us were able to get a six passenger van to haul us and our luggage up the steep approach to the Hotel. We had heard from other reviews about the hill, so we were prepared to find the taxi. We stayed in two lovely and quaint hotels in the cities of Rome and Florence previous to our arrival. After stepping in the front door, we were once again pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, modern, and hosted by a lovely couple. This town was to be our resting spot before heading off to Munich for 4 days. We were not disappointed. The town below was a lovely scenic walk downhill. We did manage to walk back uphill, but it might be too difficult for some. Karl was the most amazing cook. We had not planned to eat both meals at the hotel, but after the first, we absolutely had too. Best food I have ever had anywhere while traveling! We hated to leave after only two nights. When we called the taxi to go back to the train, it was too small, so Margot offered to drive us. Best accommodations ever! If we ever go back to Italy, they will have our business for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
48
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for ten days in June 2012 with my husband, 1 year old and 5 week old baby. The place is beautiful, the surroundings idyllic, the staff very friendly and extremely accommodating, the food fantastic, the rooms smart and immaculately cleaned daily. The hill up to the hotel is hard in the heat but a stairway to paradise nonetheless. Travelling with two babies could have been stressful, but i felt very welcome and safe here. Best breakfast I've ever had. I highly recommend Hotel Hanny.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Hanny, is perched on the side of a vineyard-stepped, and castle-dotted valley just beyond the manicured town of Bolzano. It was our second visit to this confortable and well run hotel. Our room was modern and commanded views of the entire area. The restaurant here is excellent, and this time we elected to eat in town.

Thanks to our host family Riegler, we had access to bikes and footpaths for three active and relaxing days in which to intimately connect to the community.

We were able to bike to dinner in the center of town where German and Italian dishes compliment each other. White asparagus, fresh trout, risottos, delicious brown breads, frosty pilsner beers and white wines. Of course, fantastic high-fiber breakfast buffets braced us for days of brisk activity.

An active mountain sports culture is visible everywhere. An array of extraordinary sports facilities and public spaces have been built along the river and promenade that covers the length of Bolzano. Someone is paying attention here in planning a city that works.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley afford a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La California, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ideal spot if you want to be outside the noise and bustle of Bolzano. An easy and beautiful walk to Bolzano along a designated pedestrian path, or borrow on of the hotel bicycles. The hotel is ideally located with a wonderful view of the valley and surrounding mountains. The Rieglers give a very warm welcome and are very helpful in planning visits to the area. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is excellent. The only downside is no wireless internet service in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a fantastic little hotel just outside of Bolzano (walking distance from the old town). I took a group of travelers here for two nights in July as part of my Grand Tour of Europe and this was the most highly rated of all the hotels we stayed at. The rooms are utilitarian - clean and comfortable, but nothing extraordinary. But if you are on the west side of the hotel, you get a balcony with a gorgeous view over the valley looking down into the town. Karl, the owner, and his family make you feel very welcome. He is also quite the chef - our group had a set dinner of South Tyrolean cuisine - we all loved it! They made accommodations for the vegetarians in the group. It was a true gourmet experience. The second night, after a day of hiking in the Alpe di Siuse, people had the option of dining in town, but everyone chose to dine at the hotel again - outside on the terrace, surrounded by all the natural beauty of this region of Italy. I'm definitely coming back!

Room Tip: West side - rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire.UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Six of us with three old MG sports cars (50s/60s) stayed at this splendid family run hotel where the owner is the chef, and a very good one at that, at the beginning of September. Everything about it was first class for a hotel of this size and the location was fine. Far enough away from the centre to be quiet and with splendid views. The walk back from town along the river was not too far but needed a stop for a beer on the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Beautiful location, excellent food (best croisstant ever!!!) clean & modern room. Highly recommend this hotel. Compared to our hotels we stayed in Italy, prices for room and meals are very reasonable. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hanny

Address: Via San Pietro 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Family Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hanny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanny Hotel Bolzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hanny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.