We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Kohlern

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolzano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Kohlern
Save
You added Gasthof Kohlern to your Saves list
Kohlern / Colle 11, 39100 Bolzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were really pleased with the experience. The rooms are really nicely decorated, the beds incredibly comfortable and the spot is pleasantly quiet. The staff are very helpful, friendly and speak a number of languages well.

If anything can be faulted (if it bothers you) then we had no TV in our room. Unfortunately, we didn't get the weather to enjoy the outside heated pool or hot tub - shame, as they offer fantastic views.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The hotel is hard to find, you need to climb a long windy road and at the end you have to look near the church.
It is an old fashioned hotel but clean with polite staff and the view is splendid. Restaurant is very good and the swimming pool is small but perfect.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the lack of signs at the road to find the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, US & munich, germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

The hotel was quite an adventure to find, but is certainly worth it!

Tip- Follow the road up, up, up and all the way UP! There's a small group of hotels half way up, which you may think is the Hotel Kohlern, but it's not. Keep going!

We only stayed at the hotel one night, and had big plans for staying here due to the pool, tennis courts and easy access to Bolzano for a couple hours of walking around. We did none of that due to the rain and overcast weather.

However, the hotel was lovely- totally old 20s style elegant (my husband said it reminded him of the hotel in 'The Shining'- which I never saw so dont know if thats good or bad). Our room was big, with a funny decor- sort of modern/rustic. Cows hide rug and chair, with yellow curtains and natural wood floors. We loved it! Very clean, had A/C and bath (not just shower). We also had a nice private balcony with lounge chairs.

The dining room is set up all shi-shi, but has flies trapped inside which takes away a little of the elegance. The food was good, but the desert (we had chocolate mousse) was out of this world! Do not skip desert.

There's a nice patio and garden with tables/chairs to enjoy a cocktail or mid-day beer. In the garden there is a VERY cute little church (anyone considering a small, family wedding in a getaway location- this would be perfect!).

We never saw the pool or tennis courts, as I think they must be down the street somewhere. And the old gondola that takes you directly to the town, we didnt have time to take (its also hard to imagine that it takes you directly to the town center, but maybe).

All in all, for the price of 110 euros (which included a continental 'just OK' breakfast), we thought it was a nice hotel that we would recommend to others. I do think you should plan to stay more than 1 night though. I was a bit ambitious to think we could take advantage of everything in a 1 night stay, and to me, this hotel is best as a weekend getaway.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The flies trapped in the dining room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

I went through the Dolomites about 20 years ago and really wanted to show my wife the area. This time I hired a car in Verona and decided to drive through the area. I chose the Gasthof Kohlern because of the views it had and the write ups from Trip Advisor. I thought the hotel surpassed all expectations. The rooms and beds were not modern but they were comfortable. The bathroom was very good. The meals were terrific and the service was wonderful. The only bad thing about the meals was the courses were too close to each other. The set menu as part of half board was great and much better than most other places.

The views were amazing. I did a lot of walking in the hills behind the hotel (which is already about 1100 metres above sea level). As I am not good with heights, I left the car in the car park of the cable car that is used to get the little village the hotel is in. The cable car trip was ok for a person with a fear of heights. Balzano is a great town and the surrounding area is worth the trip.

The hotel even sent me a Christmas Card.

I rarely go back to a place a second time but I would go back here just to relax and enjoy the ambience.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Beds could have been firmer.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ring the hotel if you want to be picked up if you use the cable car. It is a fairly good uphill walk to the hotel.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

The perfect spot - one of the most "idyllic places" I've ever been. Picturebook location on the side of a mountain with incredible views of Bolzano and the villages in the surrounding hills. Owners speak limited English (but fluent Italian, German and staff speak many other langauges) but are quite helpful. Rooms are very nice - we were able to comfortably sleep a family of four (two teenagers). Lots of thick towels. Food is wonderful - we had the half board, and dinner consisted of local specialties (Austrian/Italian) and produce. Hotel provides free mountain bikes. Many good hiking trails. Fresh, clean mountain air.

Getting there is a little adventure in itself - after a short bus ride or taxi from the center of town, we took the cable car up the mountain, and then had a short hike up to the hotel. OR the hotel will send a car for you. We saw no other Americans in our three day stay. LOTS to do in the area - Bolzano has shopping, museums (including Oetzi, the 5000 yr old ice man), free bikes, old churches and the hiking all over the region is wonderful.

  • Liked — has it all amazing views, great food, nice rooms, wonderful location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

Due to the fact that the hotel is situated high above Bolzano you have a wonderful view (down to the city and as well over the mountains) and its really quiet. But for that, you have to "climb up" per car approx. 15 minutes in sometimes dangerous serpentines - if you travel without car you can take the cable car which is historic...

The staff and owners are very friendly and caring. The more or less authentic south tyrolean food is excellent (and you need to eat there in the evenings because there's no other choice nearby). Breakfast buffet is good, too. The rooms are really nice, a bit quirky, with good bathrooms - but attention, there are two or three different categories. All was clean. Some rooms have balconies.

They have a new whirlpool outside. You can go for walks in the surroundings which is really great.

If you would like to go mainly sightseeing the hotel is not your first choice because of the location.

Overall, we stayed there twice and will return if we visit South Tyrol again! Try it and go there!

  • Liked — location: amazing view!
  • Disliked — no other restaurants etc. nearby
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Kohlern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Kohlern

Address: Kohlern / Colle 11, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bolzano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#8 Family Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Gasthof Kohlern Bolzano
Gasthof Kohlern Hotel Bolzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Kohlern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.