We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in comfortable, welcoming family-run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Figl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Figl to your Saves list
Hotel Figl
Piazza del grano 9, 39100 Bolzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value in comfortable, welcoming family-run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Nicely renovated. small restaurant has original, charming woodwork. Internet included in price. Hotel within easy walking distance of most sights and many restaurants. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. The full buffet is somewhat limited. But you can order specific items like eggs or juice to go with the coffee and roll at modest surcharges. [Price for breakfast comparable to nearby coffee bars.] My room had a small, empty refrigerator. You can buy cheese, sausage, fruit and bakery items at nearby daily food market. In summer, potted trees around the restaurant's outdoor seating obscure the glass door which leads to the hotel desk. The glass door is on the right as you face the restaurant. You can go in through the restaurant/bar also.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
46
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We booked the Hotel Figl based on the recommendation from Lonely Planet and we were definitely not disappointed. This hotel is truly a gem. It's centrally located just off the adorable main square and is very unassuming from the outside with a simple facade and outdoor cafe seating. The reception sort of blends with the restaurant, but the process was pretty painless. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, though some didn't communicate especially well in English.

The room itself was spacious and clean. Kind of done in a minimalist-Scandinavian-Ikea-esque style. The bathroom was HUGE! It was a nice touch that they had hotel stationary and all the towels had the Hotel Figl logo. They offer free internet at a computer in a lounge-type area on the ground floor which is an added bonus. They give you the password upon check-in. We did not have the breakfast there, but they were nice enough to whip up a sprek and swiss sandwich quickly for us before we had to catch our train and that was tasty.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a centrally-located, reasonably priced option with a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at the Figl during a previous driving trip to Italy and liked it very much. We are planning another driving trip in a month and will stay here again.

The hotel is located on Kornplatz/Piazza del Grano, a small square 1 block away from Waltherplatz, which is the main historical city center. There are great cafes and restaurants everywhere around. I am not sure if the hotel has a restaurant of its own, but it does have a cafe that serves simple breakfast. Cafe Exile is about 50 m away - a neat little trendy bar with a good wine selection.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars, but I am spoiled from working/living in Southeast Asia. The beds were a bit hard :)

A few practical things:
1.- the hotel obviously does not have a parking garage, but there is a public underground garage about 2-3 minutes walking on the southern end of Waltherplatz. So, pack your stuff you will need for the night and next day, and leave the rest in the car.
2.- there are banks and ATMs on Waltherplatz
3.- neat stores and boutiques on Silberstrasse and Laubenstrasse north and west of the Figl
4.- great selection of street cafes and restaurants serving Italian food/wine and, because this used to be Austria, also a good selection of beers
4.- people speak Italian and many speak German. I did not use English here, but would assume that it is widely known.
5.- if coming from Austria from the direction of Brenner Pass, exit the A22 (Autostrada del Brennero) well before Bolzano (follow signs) and take the SS12. It parallels the Autostrada for several km. Cross the river on the Kampillierbrucke (bridge), turn left and continue along the river until you go under a railroad bridge. Turn right, then left on either Sudtirolerstrasse or Bahnhofalee and go until you see the sign for the underground parking garage. These two streets converge at Waltherplatz, so it does not matter which one you take. The garage is near the southern and of Waltherplatz.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My wife and I decided we wanted to explore the Dolomites and in particular the Bolzano area prior to a Venice-Florence-Rome Italy guided tour, so we stayed two nights at the Hotel Figl. We had an attic-style double room, very clean, appointed with Ikea-style furniture. The beds were not comfortable, but we managed to sleep through both nights. The large bathroom was by far the hotel room's best feature, with a great showerhead which really made a difference after a long day's trek on Rittenhorn mountain. The hotel is convenient to local shops and restaurants on Walters square and Kornplatz square and there is a supermarket three blocks away; we bought groceries and ate-in/made sandwiches instead of eating at the pricey restaurants lining the squares. The hotel has a cafe but no restaurant. The staff was helpful with maps and directions, as well as with Wifi internet access logging-in, although be aware that (at least in my fourth floor room) there is NO Wi-fi signal; I had to go to the first floor cafe to access Internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We happened upon this place following a recommendation by the fellow at the tourist office. The location is absolutely perfect, just off the main square. The rooms are absolutely immaculate, and the staff incredibly friendly, helpful, and professional. The town itself is also great. Wonderful architecture, cobblestone streets, and an amazing park along the river. Another great thing to do in town is to take the gondola up to the small village of Oberbozen -- great views and hikes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We were two women travelling with a 13 year old girl. We asked for a triple room.The room had a separate area for the child. It had plenty of space for luggage, an excellent bathroom, and was very quiet. An adequate breakfast could be enjoyed outside or in. It was very convenient to shopping and dining. We enjoyed the outdoor market nearby. The only drawback was that the airconditioning goes off at 11 pm, which would generally not be a problem, but we happened to be there during a heatwave. We were able to use the fan without the air.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Figl on the first night of our two week Italy trip. The location was perfect, right in the center of old town. We had a junior suite at 120 Euros per night, which was the lowest room rate of all our hotels on this trip. Some of the reviews I read while planning the trip were not very flattering, so I was little unsure of what to expect. But I'm glad we decided to stay at the Hotel Figl, the room was very comfortable and it was quiet throughout the evening, and the staff was extermely helpful. We had a problem with our ATM card and could not get any cash. The hotel owner went out of his way to help me exchange some Euros, eventhough, his was in the middle of getting ready to prepare dinner for the restaurant. We'd definitely stay at the hotel again and spend more time in the Bolzano area. It's a beautiful little town surround by the Alps.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Figl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figl

Address: Piazza del grano 9, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Figl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figl Hotel Bolzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Figl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.