We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange set out but lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolpinghaus Bozen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kolpinghaus Bozen to your Saves list
Kolpinghaus Bozen
Largo Adolph Kolping 3, 39100 Bolzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bolzano
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strange set out but lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in Bolzano this month. The room was a bit like a dormitory but had lovely wooden furniture lovely bedding, lovely shower and was comfortable. The underground car park was also a bonus. Right on the centre of Bolzano too. Wasn't set out like a traditional hotel but overall it was a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
5
24
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeroen Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overpriced hotel in poor state. Shower did not function properly, beds were to small. Not even worth half of the price we paid. Take this advice to heart, get a better hotel a bit further out of the city center and spent some euro's on a taxi. With current rates, it will still be the best and cheapest option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although often called a hostel, it turned out to be a hotel with professional services and design. The room was perfect by size, space, and modern furniture. The hotel is right in the center of Bolzano and still quiet. The building is in great shape, the reception worked perfectly, all is very clean, and there is not the slightest reason for complaints. The breakfast buffet is good and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: 5. floor to the inner court. Nice views to the Alps, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although the Kolpinghaus prides itself as a retreat center with a religious "bent" it seemed when we were there several people did ot live up to the sugggestions for quiet times, and respect of others. The quiet garden was not quiet Rooms are arranged like college dormitories and breakfast is not so good. We paid a lot for a little. Oh, and expect to pay an extra city tax that is not mentioned beforehand.

Room Tip: Look around before you choose this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Keep in mind this isn't really a hotel but more like a hostel, it is run by a catholic organization which houses long term students and workers. That being said every front desk person I talked to spoke english and was extremely helpful with every question i had. The rooms were suprisingly modern and for some reason I got some amazing sleep on the beds which were quite comfortable! The breakfast is nothing to rave about but it is good enough to fill you up till lunch time and again everyone working down in the breakfast area was extremely friendly and helpful. They have parking at the hotel for 13 euro a night which I took advantage of and the walk to the old town from the hotel is very close. The Kolpinghaus is a very reasonable and suprisingly good option for visiting the area of South Tyrol and experiencing the wonderful mix of Austrian and Italian culture!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shroppie
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in August, pleasant man on reception that spoke English,helped as much as he could,gave me a key card and gave me directions to the room. Nice clean modern room overlooking the roof garden on the inside of the house,no flat screen tv as described,big old style tv instead that was on its way out, ok in the middle of the screen but green all around the outside, air conditioning was new and spot on. Free wifi in the room was awful and kept going off. Comfy bed and I slept really well. Awake at 7.30! Lots of noise outside coming from cleaners trolleys so I went down for breakfast which was served between 7.00 and 9.00, I was there at 8.15 and there was nothing left, the lady came and sliced 5 small slices of ham and 5 cheese,that was for 2 people,that was tight considering I'm paying 60euro per night,next morning I went down at 7.15 and there was loads to eat. Students and workers also live here but I didn't see many. My biggest gripe was when I was stopped by a different receptionist asking where I was going with my two kids that had come to visit for ten minutes,made us all feel awful,I've never had that in any hotel in south Tyrol .i don't know if I'd use this place again as I thought 60euro was a bit steep,but the rooms are spotless.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I'm just getting to writing this now, but we stayed here in March 2011 and found it to be adequete for the price and for what it was listed as. It is a church-run, dorm-style rooms, but they were fine for the price we paid. Nothing fancy, but we weren't looking for that. Breakfast was available in the morning, but we left too early to eat it. Make sure to take a walk on the back side of the property because there is a great grassy area and trail that walks along a creek/river with mountain views...very pretty. The one negative was there was no one available at the front desk for early checkout and we had a train to catch, so we left our information and had to call back later to check out and pay over the phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolpinghaus Bozen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolpinghaus Bozen

Address: Largo Adolph Kolping 3, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the central location in the center of Bolzano. Our house offers a beautiful roof terrace, self-service cafeteria, in-house café, library and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kolpinghaus Bozen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolpinghaus Bozen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.