We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting experience, not a museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Messner Mountain Museum MMM Firmian

Messner Mountain Museum MMM Firmian
Sigmundskronerstr. 53, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
39 0471 631264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 30 Attractions in Bolzano
Type: Museums
Attraction details
potsdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“interesting experience, not a museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This "museum" tries to offer an experience, to appeal to one's senses but not to the brain, as there are no explanations and no information about the mountains or mountaineering. The castle is interesting, the views of the countryside are nice. Visit, if you are in the area and have extra time to kill.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    18
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Castle and great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very well put together museum in an old castle. Reinhold Messner, a famous mountaineer and the man who put this museum together, obviously has a passion for the mountains and the peoples who live their. Well worth the trip

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Castle and region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Were in Bolzano (Bozen) and took the opportunity to have a look at the city and this Castle. The castle itself was excellent but I foound it a bit weird that they had a lot of oriental things up for viewing. I get the reasons why but nevertheless weird. However it was all very interesting and the views were great. It is worth the trip up the hill but it would be a little difficult if you are not reasonably fit. The cafe on site does a good "ice coffee".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you get giddy with heights and want a safe thrill you should go here. I do not suffer from vertigo but I do get giddy and climbing up this museum was quite an expereience. you are basically given general knowledge on the beuaty of the mountaineous tyrol region as well as what mountains have to offer and the hisstory of climbers etc. there is also a natural museum. All of us enjoyed it and once right up there in one of the tallest towers .... oh what a view

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
602 helpful votes 602 helpful votes
“More than just a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been to many museums in my life, but never have I been so impressed! The exhibition is not only fabulously done, it takes you on a journey and that is what is so very special about the Messner Mountain Museum in Firmian. I would like to congratulate the Messner Foundation and reccomend this museum to anybody in the area. If you don't have time, it's worth making time for this one!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Messner Mountain Museum MMM Firmian also viewed

Bolzano, South Tyrol Province
 
Bolzano, South Tyrol Province
 

Been to Messner Mountain Museum MMM Firmian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Messner Mountain Museum MMM Firmian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.