We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Francia Piazza Massaua 21, 10142 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Northern England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great location but very average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We got lost in Turin, having missed the turnoff indicated by Google Maps. Then we were confronted with a spiral parking ramp that was so steep that I probably would not have attempted it at all--my husband managed to but was glad no one was coming up--the ramp is too narrow for that. While we were there they were adding 8-9 spots of outdoor level parking, which I would choose in a minute, especially since they apparently charge 13 euros a day for going down that ramp. Our rate was the Visit Turin tariff, which I would highly recommend. It included breakfast, parking and a 2 day pass for Turin and outer regions. It also did not have that insidious 10 euro a day extra person charge, starting with the second person!! The room was a nice size and did have WiFi but at a cost of 10 euros a day--I bought a one day ticket and it worked fine. There were few amenities in the bathroom and a very very narrow shower in the bath. The room was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was not a great example of hotel catering, especially when a tour bus was in on the weekend. Supplies are not replenished--once the cream croissants are gone, they're gone! After 7.30 there was not much fruit salad either. Coffee from the machine was poor, although real espresso seemed to be available on request. The best thing about the hotel is the metro stop across the street and the quietness of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    163
    67
    16
    8
See reviews for
39
93
20
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very modern and has a good staff with a very good restaurant. Rooms are clean, modern and have everything but WiFi. High speed internet is available at a charge via cable, but that is one of my very few complaints. Overall this is a very good hotel with good value.

The staff is very helpful and looked after all my requests with gusto and joy. This hotel is in the outskirts of Turin/Torino and about 10 minutes from the riverfront piazza and cathedral, etc. but that is not a big drawback as it is also on a major metro stop.

Room Tip: I'nm a non-smoker and this hotel honors that with real non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This business hotel is conveniently located nearby the metro station of Massaua even though the surroundings are not the best in town. It usually hosts conventions, business meetings and reunions.
Standard rooms are rather small but well equipped and sound proof (well, ear-plugs are recommended as in any other hotel...). Everything looked new and in good shape. Good cleaning.
The atmosphere is quite cold, just a few of the crew is smiling to you or seems enjoying what they're doing, but they're very professional.
The breakfast is quite good and fresh although a little repetitive (I've been there for three weeks, not a single change!).
I do recommend the restaurant which is always providing fresh fish and excellent meat (dinner cost was 28-41Euros for appetizer, 2 courses and water). They're very flexible and they can provide variants or extras to the main menu.
Despite what they publicize through the web site there is NO coffee/tea maker in your room (standard room) and there is NO WI-FI.
Internet access is available through an external provider (costs 3Euros/hour or 9/24Hrs), connection speed acceptable but not so fast.
Overall it has been a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pros: Room are nice and clean, king size bed, Metro is at walking distance. Restaurant food is good. Gym is small but a big plus in Turin.

Cons: No internet in the room, air conditioned fan is a bit noisy and you need to turn A/C off if you want sleep. The area (C.so Novara) is not the best expecially the night when trailers are the street.

Areas of improvement: Breakfast, car park.

Room Tip: ask for no-smoking rooms to get top floors room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We have 3 young children (1,3,4). Room was very modern and exceptionally clean. Room was very large, with a double bunk for the children, and cot in the room too with room left over. I was very suprised at the size, quality and comfort of the room. Was definately above the said rating.

Downsides: the hotel was definately out of the way. We walked a long way to see the sights, there is limited restaurants close to the hotel to provide other eating options, and most that are there dont open till after 7, which was a problem trying to feed our kids round 5/6pm.

Breakfast was varied enough for the children and the staff were very accommodating for us and spoilt the children with their special local hot chocolate type drink.

The hotel came across more as a business hotel, but we still enjoyed our stay thoroughly and would highly recommend this hotel for service and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Typical modern Holiday Inn a little way out of the centre but well placed for the new Turin Metro line. You are in the centre for 1 euro after 15 minutes.

Hotel room very modern and comfotable. Our first night inclded breakfast - even at 9am (served till 10) there was little choice - fresh bread scraps, little fruit ,pieces of cake on uncovered plates etc the price was 14 euros each !!!... worth little more than 4.Let down an ortherwise brilliant stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was disappointed upon arriving at this hotel to learn how very far from the Turin city center it actually is. Thankfully, we had a car so that we could drive into Turin. When we drove home late in the evening (around midnight), I was shocked to see scantily clad prostitutes ALL OVER, including about 100 meters from the Holiday Inn. One even exposed herself to us while we drove by. This is not something I find acceptable, so I was quite repulsed by this.
The staff was friendly at our check-in, though struggled with English a bit. When we went to our room, the key card barely worked. By this, I mean that we needed to hold the electronic key card in front of the pad for many seconds before the door opened. This took about 8 tries before the door opened. Once we were in our room, we slid the card into the slot to turn on the lights, but it did not work. We called the front desk and they said we needed a new card. We got one but it still did not work. Finally, they sent a maintenance person up to our room. Although he did not speak English (so I do not know exactly what he did), he looked at our situation and then left to go "fix it." The lights came on. However, when we returned to our hotel room late that night, once again the lights did not work. Again, maintenance fixed it and the lights worked for the duration of our visit. Our key card did not work, however. Instead, we were given a physical key for our room. The hotel handled this situation appropriately but it was disappointing that we needed to deal with it.
Although our room was actually quite spacious, updated and clean, it did not live up to my expectations either. I tried to book a room for 3 people, and was given the choice of a king sized bed and a "child sized bed" or a king and a sofa". Because we were three adults, I booked the king + sofa, but the sofa was very short and not comfortable. Our room should not have been marketed as a 3 person room.
I am sure there are many, many far superior hotels in Turin - do not waste your time or money in a far-off, seedy neighborhood at a poor hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia

Address: Corso Francia Piazza Massaua 21, 10142 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#20 Business Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia, which opened in February 2006, is ideally located, a few minutes from the old city centre of Turin, where the Egyptian Museum, Royal Palace and Film Museum, inside the Mole Antonelliana, are located.The modern-style bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, provide all the amenities sought after by Business and Leisure Clients.The hotel is easy to reach using the main means of transport both from the railway stations of Porta Nuova and Porta Susa, with the new Underground station (Piazza Massaua), located in front of the hotel, and from the Sandro Pertini airport. All the Via Lattea ski resorts made famous by the Turin Winter Olympics 2006 are within easy reach.The Olimpic Stadium is just a few minutes distance.Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia is perfect for organising any type of event thanks to the Congress Centre with seven meeting rooms with cutting-edge technological equipment and fast WI-FI Internet connection.The 'Fermata Venchi internal restaurant offers a comfortable and relaxing ambience where you can enjoy traditional regional, national and international dishes.Free Mini Gym.Large internal garage.Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia, for business or leisure, your home away from home, just a short way from the heart of Turin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia Hotel Turin
Turin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.