We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great looking hotel and rooms..but too hot and stuffy and very rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownHouse 70

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownHouse 70 to your Saves list
TownHouse 70
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre, 70 | Centro Città, 10122 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great looking hotel and rooms..but too hot and stuffy and very rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose this place because we wanted to spend three days in the middle of Turin in a bit of luxury. The cost was at the tip end of our budget and first impressions were good...but we both woke at 5am in an airless, overheated room...we opened the double doors into the balcony at the rear of the hotel only to be disturbed from 6am onwards by banging and crashing from below...a lot of which was caused by the hotel's breakfast preparations...everyday we asked the staff to turn the internal hearing down and informed them that we couldn't sleep at all...and every time they refused to help us and were very rude. I would recommend avoiding this hotel and the unhelpful attitude of its staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sirs, we apologize yet again for the outcome of your stay at Town House 70. We are learning from our mistakes every day. We hope in the future to offer always a better service. Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    202
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
57
291
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here and would highly recommend it. Rooms with balconies facing the street can be a bit noisy with the streetcars, but the housekeeping was perfect, and the excellent staff, location and breakfast made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for the great review that you have left. We are pleased to read any suggestion and to learn how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Turin.
Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Town House 70, modestly marked on the street by two bushes in tubs, gives no hint of what it's like inside.The building appears much older than the rooms, and they are a treat. They are clean, quiet, and very modern - and I'd recommend the junior suites, which are much bigger, with a small study and sitting area adjoining the bedroom. Great extras: heated towel rail in the bathroom, bathrobes, and electric kettle, and wifi included. The windows open, which is a plus for those, like me, who want some fresh air. The lounge area is pleasant, with drinks service. Breakfast is a generous Italian-style breakfast, with fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries, bread, hams and cheeses (and scrambled eggs). Staff are exceptionally helpful. The location is good, near Palazzo Madama, and within walking distance of most things you want to visit (start with Palazzo Madama).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Turin. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect for a weekend in Torino. Close to everything. Walk to Area Cafe for apertivo. Suite was wonderful and the whole experience perfect for my wife's intro to a city where I had spent nearly two months working six years before. Excellent breakfast and when we had to leave on our final morning before breakfast began, the night manager insisted we had to wait just a few minutes while he got us macchiatos for the drive to Milano. Great service, great location and extremely good value.

Room Tip: Public transit is free in Torino on Sundays -- so Lingotto is just a quick tram away, as is everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Turin. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel, very centrally located.  Rooms very clean, tea and coffee making facilities in the room are unusual in Italy and were appreciated (although no milk for the tea).  Breakfast was simple but good: fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, bread plus scrambled eggs and bacon.  A couple of times we were late-ish down to breakfast and fresh items were still being brought out.  Hot drinks made to order and juice tasted like juice as opposed to the squash we have occasionally had elsewhere.  Breakfast was served at a large square communal table, with tall barstools, which may prove difficult if you are less mobile.  There is an alternative table near the bar with lower chairs used as a overflow area on busy days, so if you are likely to have difficulty getting onto a tall bar stool let the staff know.

Staff very friendly and spoke good English, always quick help with queries.  We had an internal courtyard facing junior suite, which included a double rainfall shower, a separate "lounge" area, and two flatscreen TVs! Trams go right by the front of the hotel - we only heard a low rumble, but they may be more disturbing if you had a street facing room.

Very central location, very near to main palaces, museums, churches, and shopping streets, with many restaurants and cafes nearby. Also although initially offered a wifi code for each of our three devices, we were later told we could only have one per room, the codes were non transferable between devices, also expired every 24hrs so we kept having to ask for a new one.  Staff were very apologetic regarding the limiting of wifi codes and we gather there has a problem with the system being overloaded.

Overall a good hotel, good value for money, we recommend it and would stay there again if we found ourselves in Turin.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Turin. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta,canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Needed a hotel for two nights and chose this one. It is in a fantastic location, close to everything. Quiet, clean rooms, and an excellent breakfast served in the morning. The staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sirs, it was great having you at Town House 70. We hope in the future to offer always a better service. Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

And I did not consider TURIN a tourist destination until my wife suggested a visit and how glad I am for that suggestion.But let me take some credit for the stay of 5 nights at Town House 70 as I found it on the internet and booked the accommodation---yes yes yes a winner on my part, what a clever person I am.
We arrived before the room was ready the delay was 5 minutes before we gained access,we were shown the room which was large with a outlook to a patio area, a most charming room however as we had booked the suite once the cleaner was finished we were shown to a adjoining room of equal size -without a bed but with TV and a full bathroom-- , this was included in the deal what a lovely suprise.Two full bathrooms and 2 TV's
When we found what our accommodation consisted of (rooms) I was struck with a case of slight panic as to what this was to cost us--had I made a mistake? impossible I thought after all I am a male, and for once in my life I was correct, it was all included.
What did it all cost you ask?we paid 2 nights @ Euro 164 1@119 and 2 @209 a total of Euro 890 including city tax for 5 nights..
The rooms were so clean I don;t know why the cleaner kept coming back each day, towels when used were changed without us having to throw them onto the floor.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had in Europe,staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Location---IMPOSSIBLE to get a better location in Torino unless you take a sleeping bag and camp in the main square and that is about 50 metres away from the hotel anyway..

Great staff, great accommodation at a reasonable price, would we stay there again or recommend Town House 70 to others what do you think? Yes Yes Yes
On a final note, a easy city to visit with lots to see, we ever did a days trip to Genoa fromTorino the train cost 11 euro one way from Torino to Genoa , the train station is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 70, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for the great review that you have left. We are pleased to read any suggestion and to learn how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Turin.
Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownHouse 70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse 70

Address: Via XX Settembre, 70 | Centro Città, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Turin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Turin
#4 Family Hotel in Turin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TownHouse 70 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the philosophy of the TownHouse Collection, TownHouse 70 reflects the love and passion of outstanding and superb services for its valued guests. Featuring contemporary style Superior Rooms and Junior Suites in a sophisticated yet relaxing environment, this Hotel is the excellent choice for both business and leisure travels. Located in the heart of Turin just behind Piazza Castello and its impressive Royal Palace, the Hotel is within walking distance from town’s most important attractions such as the Egyptian Museum, the Mole Antonelliana, the Shroud of Turin and the famous historical Cafés. The Porta Nuova metro and railway station, just 1 km from the Hotel, is the easiest way to reach the “Lingotto” Congress and Business Centre. TownHouse 70 is located in a “ZTL” (limited traffic zone) and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your TownHouse 70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 70 Hotel Turin
Town Hotel 70 Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownHouse 70, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.