We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not telling the Truth” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Palace

Save Saved
You added Golden Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Arcivescovado 14, 10121 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 128 hotels in Turin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not telling the Truth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with several colleagues for a convention.
Most rooms had problems. Some did not have TV, other were flooded.

Then we asked about " Pope Francis" room. We asked to which charity exactly the money would go to and we had doggy answers like: "To the poor children of Argentina". We insisted on having a more accurate answer but did not get anywhere.

Very disappointing indeed!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    92
    71
    30
    15
See reviews for
43
96
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Heath, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

To start off, I can say that the Golden Palace is not quite like any other hotel we've stayed in. But there are different sides to the experience of what I call the "Hotel Zork" for people who are old enough to have played the old text computer game.
This property was done over in what was obviously an attempt at a 5-star hotel, in time for the 2006 Winter Olympics...but the results were a bit strange. The lobby, lounges, and restaurants on the ground floor are all very elegant, but in finding one's room, particularly if, as we were, one is installed in "Golden Two" may require a detailed map, or a trail of breadcrumbs to find the lobby again. And don't think that the elevators in "Golden Two" will somehow lead back to the lobby. Instead, they will lead to a series of dead ends or "FIRE EXIT ONLY" doors, or out into courtyards that are quite as securely gated and locked as any penitentiary.
The room was nice enough, if a bit small for a "superior" room (to which we were upgraded for free), and had a good queen bed and an elaborate set of controls for lights and window curtains.
The bathroom was furnished with top-end fixtures, with amenities to match, but is a rather sad case, as the room itself was too cramped to fit all these items in. Dropping the bidet might have helped, but then these things are expected in a 4-star European hotel. In this case, I think the guest might have expected another few square meters of floor space.
A word about the breakfast. Breakfast in a hotel at these rates should be included in the room rate, and EVERY other hotel we've stayed in in Europe has been this way. Instead, a continental breakfast was provided for 5 Euro a person, and the room next door had an "International" buffet (similar to the "American" breakfast found at many hotels), but at 25 Euro per person! At this egregious price, although we prefer something hot for breakfast, we contented ourselves with the colazione Italiano for 5 Euro.
The free wi-fi is great, but we had several outages during our 4-night stay, and it requires repeated logins, minimum of one per day.
In summary, our experience was comfortable, but on the whole more of a three than a four-star (let alone five!). I'm not going to complain to the management, but on the other hand, we probably wouldn't stay here again if we came back to Torino.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel does not deserve its stars at all.

Internal design is gorgeous, but that's the only positive note.

For the rest I met: inadequate personnel (didn't seem particularly experienced, almost rude, not responsive at all), trouble with booking (rarely received reply to phone calls or emails), small rooms (with only one socket, far away from the bed).

Would not go back or suggest the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've been to this hotel with my boyfriend, thanks to a web special offer. The staff is very nice and well-trained, but the building is somehow gloomy. Our room was very nice, though. The bed was absolutely comfortable and we had a high quality sleep. Bathroom with high standards too. We noticed little details which are generally discouraging for a 5 stars hotel, such as: in the spa the sauna's temperature wasn't enough high; the steambath was shut down; and you have to walk a lot to reach rooms in the block 2, plus breakfast is different according to how much you pay for it, and it's not very elegant to "mark" people like 1st class guests/2nd class guests. The hotel position is quite central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Golden Palace Hotel in early November 2013. The staff were very helpful, the room was very nice, although a little on the small side, was very well equiped and nicely furnished.

The hotel is in a great location, that is very easy to walk to most of the city centre and attractions from. It is also located quite close (5 minutes walk) from one of the metro stations, making this a great base for a city break.

Parking is quite pricey, but having looked at other hotels, this is comparable. Also, the Spa apparently wasn't included in our stay, although no mention of this was made when booking, so if in doubt, call the hotel first too check.

Overall a good base for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has a great location in the city center close to the main streets and great restaurants. The staff are very polite, rooms are clean and have everything, that is described on the web-site. But we have few recommendations and suggestions to the Hotel:
1. add a teapot and tea in the room
2. add more AC sockets in room
3. add body lotion in the bathroom

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palace

Address: Via dell'Arcivescovado 14, 10121 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Turin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#19 Business Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold. Resplendent in its name, in its spirit, in the impact with spaces of the Golden Palace, Turin's brand-new luxury five-star that opened on the occasion of the Winter Olympic Games. Impressively restructured, it enriches and completes THI's hotel offering in the city centre, unveiling a luxurious style with a marked contemporary flair. Two rigorously geometric buildings, Golden One and Golden Two, welcome an elite, discriminating clientele with a striking contrast between the sober elegance of its stone facade and its warm interior decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Golden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palace Turin
Golden Palace Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.